I Was Called Incompetent ch.16

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Double chapters~

If anyone have better explanation about the weapon lores on this novel, feel free to share your opinion/source/suggestion.

Enjoy the chapter and stay at home~

Episode 16 : Brionac

I opened Brionac’s page.
The green giant crab was still some distance away, shaking the trees around with each step. Unlike a regular crab, it actually moves forward instead of sideways.
Yosh, it’s time.

[Counting on you, Brionac.]

A five-pronged spear emerged from the black notebook.
The prongs were arranged into spade-like shape and each one looked sharp.
The spear was mostly silver in color, with bright orange engravings here and there. Its slim form belied its strength.

[Looks cool…]

[Shall I read the appraisal result?]

[Oh, yes.]

=====

Brionac – the Thunder God’s Spear

A legendary spear forged by the Sun god.
This weapon was known to be wielded by the legendary hero Lugh.

It was said that it killed 5 powerful monsters at the same time in a single stroke.
Also, when thrown, it became a scorching spear of flame capable of penetrating anything that stood in its owner’s eyes.
Its flight speed when thrown surpassed that of a lightning bolt and it’s also capable of imbuing its wielder with astounding agility.

Not good at sea.

Weapon Rank :【SSS】
Ability Rank :【SS】

=====

[The weight does not seem to be a problem. That is all.]

[Not good at sea…? Well, for now…]

I started infusing Brionac with my magic, wherein it started to glow in an orange light.
The figure landed on the ground in and, as it stood up, it revealed itself as…a man.

He was wearing orange attire that looked like a military uniform, covered with red and yellow decorations. The color was reminiscent of fire and thunder.
Although slender, he’s pretty tall at 185 centimeters.
The visible eyes behind his red bangs were sharp and, as his golden eyes caught sight of me, he immediately knelt down.

[Greetings, my Liege. This body and soul, please use me as you will…]

Eh…I don’t know if I should be surprised or pleased.
I’m glad that he likes me enough to let me use him but…

[I’ll be in your care. Well…you are awfully calm, aren’t you, Brionac-san?]

[There is no need to use honorifics when referring to me. An order, would you please?]

Yet a different kind of person appeared.
He seemed to be very reliable though.

[Then…thank you, Brionac. Sorry if it’s too sudden, but that giant green crab…]

At that time, Brionac’s eyebrow twitched.

[Crab…you said?]

[Yeah, that giant crab…]

Voluminous amounts of sweat instantly flow out from the pale faced Brionac.
His facial expression remained steady, but it’s easy to see that he was troubled.

[M-my Liege… Is the crab not….a sea creature?]

[Nice to meet you, Brionac-sama. My name is Levi. A giant green crab is a monster habitating the river. Perhaps there is a river nearby. It can also live on dry land.]

[B,but… the crab, it is slightly…scary…]

[Eh? Could it be that…you are afraid of crab?]

[No, I mean…what I am afraid of…is the sea.]

Did he probably associate crabs with the sea?
To think he is afraid of the sea to that extent…
I shouldn’t overdo it. Maybe another time.

[Then, maybe I should ask the other…]

[N-no need to! I shall do it, I shall do it, allow me!]

Despite his brave words, Brionac still hadn’t budged from his spot near me.
Y-you don’t have to be that desperate…

[S-sure. I’ll be counting on you. Alright then, come out, Excalibur.]

I took out Excalibur from the black notebook.
With this, we’re ready to go.

[Yosh, time to go…this’ll be my first time fighting monsters, but things should work out just fine.]

[Well, Rhode-sama should be alright. Brionac-sama and I will be here for support.]

[Y-yes, leave it to me…]

Even when drenched in sweat, Brionac never changed his expression.
Are you really alright… Brionac?

[The green giant crab decorates its shell with grass. Be careful not to damage the yahan grass.]

[Brionac, avoid hitting the rainbow colored grasses.]

[A-affirmative.]

I felt sorry for the guy already. Will he be alright…?

We carefully stalked the green giant crab from behind.
With our firepower, it should be easy to kill the giant crab, but the requirement to keep the yahan grass intact only added to the difficulty.

As we got closer to it, I realized just how big the crab was.
It was about 3 meters high, perhaps? And its right pincer was abnormally huge.
On the contrary the left one was much smaller. Probably for picking up grasses with care.

[I don’t think it’s possible to attack from its back. That makes it only from the front or from below.]

[We should first dispose of its right pincer. Afterward, it should not be as fearsome.]

[Yosh, are you ready, Brionac?]

[It is truly a crab… And it smells, truly like sea…]

B-Brionac…!?
Where did your cool and calmness from earlier go…?
…..no helping it, I’ll do it.

[Levi, try to distract the giant green crab. Once it’s distracted, I’ll go for its right pincer. Excalibur power should be more than enough to cut it.]

[As you wish. Well then.]

Levi kicked the ground, already floating in midair the next moment.
Her physical prowess is much better than mine after all.
She landed lightly right on top of the giant crab’s head, not forgetting to use one hand to keep her skirt from fluttering too much, then did a twirl in the air before landing in front of the monster.

The giant green crab immediately swung its right pincer at Levi, but the girl was no longer there.
Either it has a bad temper or because it instinctively knew that Levi is not a human, it pounced at her rather than using its magic.

Monsters also possess magic and they don’t usually prey on demons. Probably because they recognize the demons as a relative of sorts.
However, when they’re upset like this one, monsters would attack demons who stepped in their turf.
At that point, they treat demons no different than to humans.

Monsters usually eat smaller animals, fish or even grass and ores. But they really prefer those possessing “magic power”.
When a monster eats prey that possess magic powers, the monster would absorb the magic and become stronger.

And seeing from how the giant crab tried to attack Levi, despite her being a demon, it’s clear that it acted on its instinct.
Demons could force weaker monsters into their control, making the monster their familiar. But that doesn’t mean the monsters wouldn’t dare to attack their demon master.

Meanwhile, Levi kept taunting it to attack, which means that the giant crab had no yahan grass on its right pincer.
Aiming for the moment when the pincer was raised up, my eyes focused on its joints of those pincers.

When I put my strength into Excalibur, the blade started to glow white.
It’s one of Excalibur’s abilities, Soaring Slash.
Images on how to unleash the ability simply appeared in my mind, and I executed it as though it came naturally to me.

[Gooooooo!]

A wave of energy reminiscent of the crescent moon dashed away to my target.
The next moment, the huge pincer already flew in midair.

The sword’s energy wave cut horizontally, severing not only the few-meter-thick limbs of the giant green crab, but also cutting through several trees beyond my target.

[Nothing less from Excalibur…!]

[Giigii!?]

The giant green crab was confused over the sudden loss of its weapon.
It stopped its movements, then it became apparent that it was frustrated.

[Well done. Then, me too.]

Levi concentrated her magecraft on her right hand, creating a visible mass of condensed magic power.
She then tossed the condensed magic towards the giant crab’s head.
There was a loud explosion then the giant crab’s gigantic body staggered backward.

Levi continued to pelt it with one condensed magic after another, basically juggling the giant crab in midair.
When it finally landed back on the ground, I saw that its head had been pulverized. Its hardened shell seemingly means nothing against Levi’s barrage.
Then up above, Brionac was ready to unleash his attack.

[Since when…!]

Truly faster than a lightning bolt.
Brionac, who was still crouching next to me just a moment ago, is now floating in the air above the giant crab, already in the position to throw the thunder god’s spear in his hand.

[My name is Brionac, the scorching spear that pierces everything. Whatever comes within my Liege’s sight, shall be shattered with this blow…!

In a blink of an eye, the scorching spear already buried itself on the ground, piercing through the giant green crab and caused a terrible aftershock.
I could actually feel the shockwave of that attack from my position.

[Guh! Amazing… So that’s Brionac’s power…!]

Brionac landed back on the ground. Before him, the giant crab seemingly stared at him with hatred, despite already collapsing dead on the ground after being pierced by the scorching spear.

[D-disgusting…]

His sense of duty actually outweighs his fear… well done there.
Although… that was a bit overkill, I guess.

[Thank you, Brionac. But this is…]

[Is the yahan grass still intact…?]

[Ha!? F-forgive me….I did try adjusting my power…]

Will it be really alright…?
Anyways, let’s start searching.
We carefully examined the body, rustling and peeling through layer upon layer of grass.

Levi told me that the foam the giant crab excretes from its mouth is sticky enough that not even the shockwave from Brionac’s attack could rip it off.
Brionac audibly grumbled as he pulled his spear, now slightly wet from the giant crab’s fluid, out of the ground. He really hates anything associated with the sea, doesn’t he?

[Mu, there it is! Rhode-sama, is this it?]

Levi held out her hands to me with a smile, some rainbow colored grass lied in her palm.

[Ooh! That is really it! And it seems there is enough to complete the request. Thank goodness…]

I could hear Brionac sighing in relief behind us.
From now on, I should try to not mention anything that can be associated with the sea when Brionac is around.
I felt sorry for him.

[Thanks, Brionac. The extermination went smoothly thanks to you.]

[No, please pardon me, for showing that pathetic side. I wish that I can be relied upon more, next time…]

[Nah, it’s enough. Ah, by the way Brionac, do you have any wish you want to fulfill? I will do my best to make it come true.]

[Thank you, for the kind consideration. But I am already more than satisfied to be able to obtain this body.]

[Is that so? Well then, if there is anything else feel free to tell me.]

[Thank you very much, my Liege. Well then, I believe that we are done here?]

[Yes. I’ll be imposing on you again next time, Brionac.]

[Affirmative. Until later…]

I undid my magic on Brionac, then returned him into the black notebook.
Yosh, let’s head back home now.

=====

=====

Brionac’s Lore (taken from Wikipedia and ext.source):

Brionac is the supposed name of the spear wielded by Lugh, a deity in Irish mythology. It is a popular name for unique spears in Japanese video games, but has apparently never appeared in surviving Irish or Welsh texts. Apparently, the name “Brionac” was in fact first found and possibly invented in a 1990 book by the Japanese game writer and designer Takerube Nobuaki, who is not an expert on the subject.

It is a spear that can create five beams of light to shoot from its tip. These beams of light can either take a straight path or bend, and can do some serious damage when it hits something. This function is still present even after being broken in half.

It’s supposedly one of the four treasures of the Tuatha Dé Danann, the other three being Lia Fáil, Dagda’s Cauldron, and Nuada Airgetlám’s sword Claíomh Solais.

5 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.16

  1. ┏━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━┓
    ┃あさココ               ┃
    ┃ LIVE ver.2                   ┃
    ┃    Thanks!  HA⇗HA⇘HA⇗HA⇘ ┃
    ┃ : ∧_∧ : Nepu!….     ___      ┃
    ┃ : ( ;´ A`) : WTF?!    (・д ・)     ┃
    ┃: / つとl :      ∩∩ᑕ| と|       ┃
    ┃: しー-J :        ;¡  し─ᒍ       ┃
    ┃          ﹌        ┃
    ┃ A certain v-tuber rabbit scared local    ┃
    ┃ novel commentator after removing her ┃
    ┃rabbit ears with fresh blood on it, that will┃
    ┃be used as a gift to a certain dragon.    ┃
    ┃ 00:01 ●━━━━━━────── 1:00 ┃
    ┃ ⇆ㅤㅤㅤㅤ◁ㅤㅤ❚❚ ㅤㅤ▷ ㅤㅤㅤㅤ↻   ┃
    ┗━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━┛

    Like

Leave a comment