I Was Called Incompetent ch.17

Weekly chapters (1/2)

Sorry for the very late chapter.
Shirayuki seems busy with IRL stuffs, so the chapter editing got bit delayed.

There is a news for the patrons, feel free to check it out on our patreon page.

Well, enjoy the chapter~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 17 : Aegis

It was already dark by the time we arrived back to the town but thankfully, the townspeople had lit the lights.
As we took a walk from the town entrance to the guild office, I realized how the town was still lively.
Although this time, those people who used to look at me with scorn and hate are now avoiding me in fear.

[What is going on?]

[Who knows? Shall we head to the guild office right away?]

[Right. We need to report our success; let’s go and see Gagan-san.]

When we finally reached the guild, we saw Gagan-san desperately giving instructions while holding his butt.
Apparently, something is happening.

[Gagan-san!]

Hearing me call out to him, Gagan-san immediately went to see us.
Looked like he’s in a panic, judging from how he’s sweating bullets as we speak.

[You came at the right time! Actually, a lot of monsters came attacking the new cultivation area near the town…I was supposed to go there, but…]

New cultivation area…wasn’t that where Boss and the others worked?
Monsters certainly appeared on occasion over there, but they were never strong enough to cause this much panic.

[A guy from the new cultivation area managed to go to ask for help. So we know what we are dealing with…it’s just that it’s a pack of warwolves.]

[A pack of warwolves!? How come they even get here…?]

A warwolf is a type of monster known to always hunt in a large pack.
Strong jaws and fangs as well as their sharp nails are their regular weapons, but they’re also known to be able to breathe fire. There’s a good reason why many towns and villages have been left burning after a warwolf pack’s attack.
They march like soldiers at war, burning everything to the ground as they go. That’s why these monsters were called ‘warwolves’.

[Perhaps…they moved away from their previous living area, trying to avoid the giant green crabs. The direction they came from makes sense.]

[I see, they’re avoiding engaging in an unwinnable fight… Anyways, if we don’t hurry, the town will be in grave danger!]

[Yeah, that’s right…I know I’m not in a position to ask this and neither does the town but…..]

[Let’s go, Gagan-san. We shouldn’t waste any more time talking. ]

[You…]

Gagan-san was surprised at my response.
Well, I guess it’s only natural.
The entire town had treated me very badly during the period I was an incompetent, so it’ll be normal if I couldn’t care less for their well-being.
But I already decided.

[I’m just walking along the path I believe in. By the way, Gagan-san…..can you really run with your butt like that?]

[…….acting all cool, aren’t you? I can go! Ellie! We will go ahead! Gather up the adventurers as soon as possible!]

[Y-yes!]

[I know the direction all too well. So please follow me!]

[Okay!]

It was my workplace until a month ago after all.
I hope that everyone is still safe…

=====

The new cultivation area was in bad shape when we arrived.
The temporary dorms and the warehouse were burnt down, as though a war had erupted here.
Red light illuminated the forest that had yet to be cleared as it was lit by fire.

[Dammit! Are we too late….!]

[Gagan-san, look!]

A large dome made of soil could be seen in the open area.
Lots of warwolves surrounded the dome, breathing fire in turns to destroy it.
There were at least 100 of them…

[That…that’s Dax’s earth magic! I guess it’s used to evacuate the workers but at this rate, they’ll be baked to death inside!]

We must protect that dome somehow…!
So I opened my notebook.
I believe there is one capable of guarding against those flames.
It’s a shield said to be able to block lightning after all.

[I beseech you, Aegis!]

A white shield with golden engravings emerged from the page.
Its shape was round like many shields out there, the golden border was fashioned to look like clouds and on its center was a carving that resembled a female eye.

It was wide enough to cover a large part of my body and felt lightweight in my hand.
Does that mean shields are also affected by my all-weapon mastery?
But I had no time to figure that out now.

[Go ahead, Rhode-sama. I shall keep the detailed information for later.]

[Okay!]

When I started using Materialization magic, the warwolves growled and turned their attention towards me, probably provoked by my magic power.
Started by a howl, half of the pack immediately rushed to us while the rest continued to spit fire at the earthen dome.

[Rhode-sama, keep at it. I and Gagan-sama shall deal with them.]

[I don’t know what you’re planning, but leave it to me!]

[Okay!]

Levi and Gagan-san took their position in front of me, preparing to attack the incoming warwolves.
In a blink of an eye, the warwolves were right in front of us and at the same time, both Levi and Gagan-san started moving.

[Don’t underestimate…the guild master!]

Gagan-san swung his greatsword in a wide arc.
Thanks to Gagan-san using physical strengthening magic on himself, that swing alone turned 3 warwolves into chunks of meat.

Levi, on the other hand, opted to use her bare fists to knock the warwolves away with her punches. She also used her magecraft to form invisible chains to keep the wolves’ mouths shut whenever they tried to breathe flame.
The warwolves came in droves, but it’s nothing in front of Levi’s physical capability and magecraft.

Once I was done pouring magic power, Aegis began to float in the air as it’s enveloped by light.
The figure that emerged from the light was that of…a girl.
Her hair was trimmed short so that it didn’t reach her shoulder and her skin was translucent white.
She wasn’t very tall, and her face radiated youthfulness.

She’s wearing heavy armor that doesn’t really fit her youthful face. The armor let out a rattling sound as her feet landed on the ground.
Her small-ish head made her armor look bigger.
After confirming her surroundings, she looked at me with her crimson eyes.

[Apparently….zere ist no time for pleasantries and greetings. Master, your order!]

There’s certainly no time for proper greetings.
I felt bad for it, but let’s apologize to Aegis later.

[Please protect that earthen dome!]

[Roger zat!]

That said, Aegis slammed her shield to the ground with such force.

[Zis one’s name ist Aegis! Ze steadfast shield zat blocked even ze lightning bolt of ze very Zundergod! Challenge me if you dare! Oryaaaa!]

When Aegis raised her shield again, a white translucent barrier had enveloped the earthen dome.
Let alone the flames of the warwolves, not even their claws and fangs managed to even put a nick on the barrier.

[Wahahahahah! How about zat!]

Nothing less from the shield of god.
By the way, she had such a cute sounding voice.
Whoops, I still have to fight here…!

[Come forth, Brionac!]

Pulling out the bright orange spear from the black notebook, I rushed towards the warwolves surrounding the dome.

[Uoooh!?]

I traversed several tens of meters almost instantly, then pierced the nearest warwolf in the head with Brionac.
I myself was surprised by just how fast I moved.
This must be Brionac’s ability to bestow lightning speed to his wielder….!

[Master ist too fast!]

I saw Aegis running, still some distance away, trying to catch up to me.
Aside from the fact that she’s wearing heavy armor, speed is simply not her forte apparently.

While I was distracted by Aegis’ shouting, the warwolves took the chance to attack me all at once. But me having both all-weapon mastery and Brionac, such an opening never truly existed for them

[Humm!]

When I thrust Brionac to the nearest warwolf, his 5 spear tips instantly extended to the other warwolves around.
This was Brionac’s ability to slay 5 enemies in a single thrust.
Coupled with my lightning speed, the warwolves had no chance against me.

[Oryaorya!]

Aegis finally caught up to me and started beating the warwolves with her shield.
So a shield can be used as a weapon after all….

Swinging Brionac in a circular arc, I slayed the warwolves one after another.
My body movement felt so natural as if I’m working with a tool that I’ve been using for years.

After one last thrust to kill the nearest remaining warwolf, I noticed that the surviving few finally turned tail and ran.
But if we let them off here, there’s always a chance that they’ll return one day.

[Go! Scorching Spear Brionac!]

The scorching spear Brionac, clad in thunder and flames, soared in the air and slayed the small group of warwolves that attempted to escape in a flash of light.

=====

[Oi, Dax! It’s me! Gagan!]

Gagan-san tried to call the people inside, but there was no answer.
This is bad…

[Please excuse me!]

Levi punched a hole through the earthen dome, emitting a loud noise in the process.
Hurrying inside, we found that there were 20 workers taking shelter inside.
All of them seemed unconscious.

[This is bad…we must take them back to the town immediately!]

[Gagan-sama! I’m here with the reinforcements!]

[Good timing, Ellie!]

I saw Ellie running towards us, bringing a group of adventurers with her.
We divided the injured between us and carried them back to town.

=====

=====

Aegis’s Lore (taken from Wikipedia and ext.source):

The Aegis, as stated in the Iliad, is carried by Athena and Zeus, but its nature is uncertain. It had been interpreted as an animal skin or a shield, sometimes bearing the head of a Gorgon.

The Aegis is a shield carried primarily by Zeus in Greek mythology, which he sometimes lent to Athena. According to other sources, it was not a shield but rather an animal skin worn over the garments of the Gods as extra protection. It bore the head of a Gorgon and made a terrible roaring sound during the battle. The Aegis was forged by the Cyclopes in Hephaestus’ forge, and had golden serpent-like scales and a Gorgon’s head rolling its eyes. In some texts, it was mentioned that when Zeus would shake the Aegis, clouds would cover Mount Ida and men would hide in fear.

In Greek, the word Aegis has various meanings, including a violent windstorm, a divine shield, and a goatskin garment.

7 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.17

  1. Can u please post news about Glutton Berserker in this page? I’m not one of the patrons so i don’t know the detail of news in patrons page.

    Like

Leave a comment