I Was Called Incompetent ch.19

Weekly chapters (1/2)

Oops, we shouldn’t too focused on Glutton Berserker.
Here is new chapter for Incompetent.

So, we tried to use old language style for the weapon.
Let us know in the comment if it’s too confusing to understand, ot it’s better to keep that way.

Enjoy and stay safe.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 19: Victory

[Thankfully it went well…right, Rhode-sama?]

As soon as we’re back inside my house, Levi promptly hugged me.

[Wai…!?]

[I am really happy now. The day has finally come when everyone finally appreciates Rhode-sama, and… All of them can now finally see why I choose to serve you.]

[Levi…]

[…..My, should Ah s’cuse maself?]

At that moment Levi reflexively pushed me away, causing me to hit my head to the wall.

[Wha!?]

[Aah!? I, pardon me!]

Levi apologized as she rubbed my head.
D-did you forget?
Caduceus is still with us here…

[Ca, Caduceus-sama…? Pardon me for ignoring your presence earlier.]

[Ah…yes.]

The legendary staff was at least able to read the mood.

[Now, now, let’s move on to the living room first. I have something to inquire with Caduceus as well.]

We headed to the living room and finally sat on the sofa relaxedly.
It was pretty hectic even for just a single day.
But it was still a good day.

[Well den, Rhode-sama, wat do you want to ask of me?]

[Ah, does Caduceus have any wish to fulfill? I’d like to at least try to repay everyone’s kindness to me. Also, thank you.]

[Inteso… Rhode-sama ist truly, ‘ow do you say it, a gentileman. ‘Onestly, ah ‘ave no particular wish. “Aving a body is already satisfying… Speaking of which, ah think Brionac also ‘ad de same opinion.]

[Indeed he did. I also feel grateful to Brionac, which is why I want to give something in return…but are you really sure that you’re already satisfied with only having a body?]

[Certo! Ah am very satisfaid already! And it brings me ‘appiness to serve such a splendid man like Rhode-sama.]

I really appreciated that you feel that way.
Then I guess I need to work even harder to answer that feeling.

[Dat’s right. Please ‘ave a look at the notebook latair. We are always listening. Oh, perhaps ask Aegis. She maite ‘ave a wish or two.]

[The notebook? Okay. I’ll ask Aegis next time. Thank you for your help today, Caduceus.]

[Non menzionarlo. Well then, Rhode-sama. Until we meet again.]

[Yeah. Until later, Caduceus.]

Undoing my magic as Caduceus gave a curt bow to me, I deposited him back into the notebook.
Taking a closer look at the notebook, I realized that the number of pages that light up had increased.

[5 more pages have lit up… Thanks, all of you.]

I flipped the pages again, then called upon and materialized Aegis.
The materialized Aegis smiled happily and bowed to me as soon as she opened her eyes.

[Zank you, Master! It ist nice to meet you!]

[Nice to meet you too, Aegis-san.]

[Wha, what’s wiz ze -san! I mean, zere ist no need to refer to me wiz honorific, you know? Everyone will actually feel the opposite if Master do zat.]

So that’s how it is?
Then next time I shouldn’t do that.

[I get it, Aegis. And, thank you for your help earlier today. Thanks to you, we were able to rescue everyone.]

[No, no, no! All I’m really good at ist giving protection zough! Wahahaha!]

[Aegis-sama, my name is Levi. Nice to meet you.]

[Ah, if it izn’t Levi-chan! You’re too cute after all…]

[T-thank you for the praise…]

Should I say that Aegis looked particularly innocent?
She’s shorter than Levi and her countenance makes her look like a young girl.
Only her heavy armor implied the opposite.

[Alright zen, Master. I believe you want to hear my wish?]

[Ah, right, right. What do you wish for, Aegis?]

[Uーn…..I want to try eating somezing. I especially want to try some sweets!]

[I see. Levi, can you make do?]

[As you wish. And, Rhode-sama, here is Aegis’ appraisal result.]

She replied while handing me a piece of paper.
Every single time… She works fast and precise.

[Thanks, Levi]

[Well then, please wait a moment.]

I actually wonder how short her ‘a moment’ will take…. Anyways let’s read the results.

=====

Aegis – Shield of the Goddess

A shield of absolute defense crafted by the blacksmith god for a certain goddess.

The shield was once wielded by the Goddess before being passed down to the hero Perseus.
Perseus also possessed several other legendary arms which aided him in slaying many monsters.
Due to Aegis’ protection, Perseus was said to never suffer any wound in battle.

The shield is capable of invoking the Divine Barrier that can prevent any attacks for a certain duration.
Although limited, it also has an ability to petrify the enemy.

However it has an innate disadvantage of slowing down the wielder by an extreme rate.
Not good at running.

Weapon rank: 【SS】
Ability rank: 【SS】

=====

[Perseus… I’ve never heard of him before.]

[He wast a horrible person… ze way he wielded me wast…]

Aegis didn’t finish and let out a huge sigh instead.
Like Caduceus, she seemed to have a problem with her previous wielder.

[Ozer zan me, zere are ozer arms zat originally belonged to Perseus-sama inside ze notebook… Well, wiz you as our Master, we can rest assured!]

[Thank you. Nn, it smells good already…]

[Thank you for waiting.]

No, we didn’t even need to wait at all…
More and more dishes were served on the table.
I simply couldn’t believe it… How in the world could she prepare the roasted beef and paella in such a short time…?
There were also cakes on the table.
When did she even buy the ingredients…?

[Whoaaaaa~…..all, all zese! Ca, can I really eat it all!?]

[Please enjoy the meal.]

[I’m digging i〜n!]

[I-I’m digging in as well…]

And again, the taste felt like we were taken to the dream world.

=====

(TL Note: ??? PoV)

For 1000 years, he had been robbed of his freedom.
No, to be exact, he was still restrained even now.
Regaining consciousness, his mind gradually became clearer.
For one who could live eternally, 1000 years was actually not much.

However, it’s a different story if one is unable to move around freely.
In addition to that, he was inside a dark, boring and narrow prison-like place.
Only a bonfire that shone from further away was visible.
He obtained his first victory at the cost of his own freedom.

Tap… tap…
The sound of footsteps reached his ears.
That sound belonged to the only connection between him and the outside world.
When that footsteps stopped right in front of his prison, a whispery voice so otherworldly sweet and beautiful replaced it.

[How are you doing today?]

It was the same lines she said every single time.
And he would also reply with the same answer each time.

[Couldn’t be worse.]

She giggled then ultimately laughed.
However, he added something else for today.

[However, the time is near.]

She was stunned at first upon hearing his reply, but smiled happily afterward.

[You speak of something else for the first time in 1000 years. If someone like you said so, then it must be true. I feel glad.]

[Then? Isn’t there something else you need to tell me?]

The woman only visited when something particular happened.
She told him after being reminded of that.

[The Light Magic owner has died. In despair. Well, it was unfortunate.]

He was about to say something again.
One last thing, before his wish could be fulfilled.
He didn’t mind losing everything.
Since he intended to erase everything in the first place anyway.

[Now… how many has it been?]

She started listing some magic names.
None of them remained.
Their power scattered into nothingness.
Unless each one of them have been erased, he would never achieve a complete victory.

[Next is…Materialization magic]

His eyebrows twisted into a frown.
That one is the most troublesome magic among those damned powers.
If that also disappeared, he wondered how happy he would be.
If he had to choose, that power is without a doubt, one that he wanted to erase the most.

[It was unfortunate that the Divine Eye was destroyed. Otherwise it’ll be much easier to find them.]

[It was inevitable. There is no use crying over spilt milk. Even we are not omnipotent.]

And that’s why he’s been using his subordinates to add a concept into the world.
Just dying is not enough.
They need to meet their end while at the edge of despair.
The world became distorted, but it matters not to him.

[It would’ve been a trivial matter if I could recover my power. A complete victory is in my hands already. Make sure to not trip before the finish line.]

[Yes…Milord…]

A complete victory was the only thing he wanted.
And that would never change, now or in the future.
No matter what happened to the world.

=====

=====

D 4 power - Aegis

Aegis
(source: Light Novel)

 

6 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.19

  1. ┏━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━┓
    ┃あさココ               ┃
    ┃ LIVE ver.2                   ┃
    ┃    Thanks!  HA⇗HA⇘HA⇗HA⇘ ┃
    ┃ : ∧_∧ : Nepu!….     ___      ┃
    ┃ : ( ;´ A`) : WTF?!    (・д ・)     ┃
    ┃: / つとl :      ∩∩ᑕ| と|       ┃
    ┃: しー-J :        ;¡  し─ᒍ       ┃
    ┃          ﹌        ┃
    ┃ A certain v-tuber rabbit scared local    ┃
    ┃ novel commentator after removing her ┃
    ┃rabbit ears with fresh blood on it, that will┃
    ┃be used as a gift to a certain dragon.    ┃
    ┃ 00:01 ●━━━━━━────── 1:00 ┃
    ┃ ⇆ㅤㅤㅤㅤ◁ㅤㅤ❚❚ ㅤㅤ▷ ㅤㅤㅤㅤ↻   ┃
    ┗━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━┛

    Like

  2. Thanks for the chapter

    Is ??? the main culprit who made imcompetent as a hatred subject?

    Lets wait and see

    Like

    1. Looks like all of them arent incompetent but have special magic likely what he’s weak against. So the question is is the church in on it as well or not though I’m thinking not since they dont know who he is?

      Like

Leave a comment