I Was Called Incompetent ch.24

Weekly chapters (1/2)

Sorry for the wait, here is a new chapter of Incompetent.
Hmm, maybe I should speed-up releasing the new chapters for this novel, but what do you think?

Anyway, enjoy and stay safe~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 24: Historia

[It’s hard to see since the weather was really bad…]

[It is the first time for me to see it up close. Nothing less from the “Nibelugh Wall”.]

The sky cleared up once we arrived there. The sight of the magnificent Lapis mountain spread before us.

The summit area was coveredwhite in snow while the rest of the mountain had the usual color of blue and gray.

The mountain range’s highest peaks were about 5000 meters above sea level. It completely filled the horizon from where we were.

There was a road between the mountains where carriages can pass through so there’s no need to climb up to cross the mountain. 

Bandits often appeared for that particular reason. But we’ll be just fine.

[Ah, Rhode-sama, is that it?]

[Nn? Ah, that is it, indeed. The request to subjugate the wyvern was posted from Historia.]

Historia, a town situated at the foot of Lapis Mountain.

We won’t be stopping by there though. We’re heading to a town called Focken, which is a big city located near the capital Nibelugh.

Historia was where hawkers tend to stop by to spend the night while travelling between towns. A so-called transit city.

Due to the large number of carriages passing in and out, it grew into a city that not only thriving from lodging business, but also from trade.

Perhaps because of this, the adventurer’s guild branches were quick to respond when asked to subjugate the wyvern.

If Historia was ransacked by the wyvern, the logistic line to Nibelugh will be cut off which, in turn, will disrupt the country from functioning properly.

If I managed to kill the wyvern, not only will Gagan-san be able to keep his credentials, my name will also become more known.

And this hunt would satisfy Balmung’s wish as well. It’s like killing two or three birds with one stone.

Of course, we wouldn’t be the only one receiving the request. There should be others who have already joined the hunt before us.

We have discussed this in advance along the road just to confirm.

It’s regarding how I should call my magic while in public.

[Levi, I think I’ll call my magic “Summoning Magic” instead of ‘Materialization Magic”.]

[As you wish. Well, it is a smart move to avoid suspicion. For now, only the townspeople back at Cor are aware that Rhode-sama used to be an incompetent.]

[There are still the adventurers that have already left the town though.]

Most of my peers had left the town after all.

It’s been more than a month since then. I don’t know whether we’ll encounter them or not, but let’s just be careful.

Other than them, there were also adventurers who chose to leave the town.

Well, in any case, I could just use my magic to prove them wrong.

[Summoning magic is more well-known so there should be no problem.]

[I know right? It also fits with my listed class as Invoker Knight.]

The concept of Materialization magic was not known in this world.

Rather than trying to explain it everytime, I decided to pass it off as a summoning magic instead since it looks similar.

Summoning magic creates a familiar using magic. The way my magic works, it’ll be hard to distinguish at a glance.

At most, another summoner mage would ask “Why do you have to use weapons as a summoning catalyst?”. At least it’s easier to explain that way.

[Has Levi ever met another Materialization magic user like me? What kind of person was he?]

[No… I have only seen one other person with Materialization magic, but unfortunately I never had the chance to speak with that person. By seeing, I mean accidentally “analyzing” the person with my magic. I only get to see how the skill actually works for the first time through Rhode-sama. In my time, the magic was very well known. After all, it was the so-called legendary magic whose power is close to a God’s miracle.

[I see… by the way, where did you see that person?]

[I do not remember. It was thousands years ago after all. But I am quite sure that it was not on a battlefield…]

[I kinda understand how hard it can be…]

[The appraisal result was very amazing. That is all I could remember… pardon me.]

[Nah, don’t worry about it. I’m just a little curious.]

What kind of person was that Materialization mage? How did he fight?

I was curious because there’s no telling about what power I could get in the future, not even with Levi’s appraisal.

Like for example, what ability will I unlock once I reach level 100?

[Well, anyways, we are almost there. Vaendymion, please hang on.]

[Bururuu!] (TL note: horse neighing sfx)

Curiously, Vaendymion always seemed to respond whenever Levi talked to it. Does it understand her?

I noticed that, unlike when she’s talking with anyone else, Levi never used honorifics when talking to Vaendymion.

I would be happy if she could do the same with me one day.

But Levi would be against it, I guess?

=====


Arriving at Historia, we had to leave Vaendymion and our carriage just outside the city.

Apparently only merchants could bring their carriage into the city. Why? Only the nobles and royalty know.

As for adventurers and civilians, they had to leave their carriage in the prepared shed outside the city.

It’s a little expensive, with it taking care of everything from feeding and cleaning the carriage, but it’s not like we’re confident that we can just leave our carriage in the open without anyone guarding it.

Anyways, we went inside and headed straight to the adventurers guild.

The request was posted by Historia, so I had to go here to submit the recommendation letter in order to officially receive the request.

For this kind of shared request, the rule stated that an adventurer has to report to the branch where the request was posted from first.

As a result, the branch guild would know how many adventurers were dispatched in response to the request. And it would be easier to grasp information such as the rank of the participating individuals.

[There are even more large buildings here now than I remember.]

[Ah, have you visited here before?]

[You see, the temple is in the capital. Me and my family stopped by here too. Well, I was asleep inside the carriage the entire journey, so I don’t really remember the road.]

[I see, so that’s how. It is certainly bigger than when I came here before.]

The buildings lining up on both sides of the boulevard were made of bricks. They’re obviously of a much better quality and condition than the buildings on Ist.

The stones for the pavement were evenly shaved to make them a perfect fit, leaving nearly no gaps to be seen, giving off a sense of a well-maintained road. 

It’ll be hard to stumble on this road.

Several carriages had been passing through the middle of the road since a while ago.

Apparently, pedestrians are meant to walk on the road sides.

Among the passersby, I could see some adventurers like us.

At a glance, there seemed to be not much of a difference from other towns or cities…

But I noticed that the main street was mostly filled with weapon and armor shops on one side while groceries and other kinds of shops are on the other side of the street. Apparently each kind of business has its own section in this city.

These shops were visibly bustling with customers.

[Ah, a magic stone store.]

[Yeah, Ist doesn’t have this kind of shop.]

[I want to have a look… can we go after the request is over?]

[Sure. We can go sightseeing after as we’ll also have the reward money by then.]

[By the way, how much was the reward again?]

[It is quite a lot… ah, I think it is around 100.000 gold.]

[That’ll last us for a while, I guess? Since we are going shopping, I might as well buy something. I think I need to buy several items myself.]

[Hmm, what does Rhode-sama want to buy?]

I pointed at the iron sword hanging on my waist.

This iron sword created by Boss had no scabbard and its handle was bare iron.

[I’d buy a scabbard for this one. Wrap the handle with cloth. Make it a proper sword.]

[I see. That seems like a good idea.]

[Well, let’s hurry up for now. Balmung will only get angrier if we take more detours.]

After walking along the lively boulevard for a while, we finally arrived at a square with a huge fountain at the center.

There’s a huge city hall facing the square. The equally large adventurers’ guild office was right next to it.

Of course, since it’s the center of activity for all adventurers, it was also bustling with people.

None of the guild management employees were free either.

[It’s huge… gotta be five times bigger than the one on Ist, probably?]

[A four-storey, brick building… it is certainly magnificent. Shall we head inside, Rhode-sama?]

[Yeah, let’s go.]

4 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.24

  1. Thanks for the chapter!
    I’m really enjoying this series, so I wouldn’t mind it being more frequent. But don’t wear yourself out doing it.

    Like

Leave a comment