I Was Called Incompetent ch.28

Weekly chapters (1/2)

Shirayuki is still busy atm because IRL family matters.
Thanks Mirp to help editing this chapter.

Enjoy~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Mirp

Episode 28 : Rank

[Uo… you mean that one…?]

[Should be possible if it’s that person, right?]

[Sure things, but only if the Boss is the one using the power. I mean… If that person uses the power, I’m afraid this mountain will be flooded…]

[Th, that much?]

[Yep… that person is bad news. Even if very motivated to help, that person will only bring more trouble.]

I guess the legendary spear that originally belonged to the God of Sea was a bit way too strong.
About that ‘bringing more trouble’… I guess we need a little talk when I materialize that person.

[Lend me your power, Trident.]

A three-pronged spear gradually emerged from the notebook.
The three golden prongs and the barbs on their ridges shone under the sun. It gave off the feeling that it won’t let any prey escape.
The handle was blue colored, reminding one of the sea itself.

[Rhode-sama, the adventurers have been arranged in a line.]

While he was inspecting Trident, Levi had already lined up the adventurers neatly.
Good job…

[Thank you, Levi. Now, please move aside a little.]

When I took hold of it, I immediately could tell the full extent of Trident’s power.
Truly… a tremendous amount of power.
If I don’t handle it properly, I would just end up hurting everyone here.

[Water!]

With my command, a large amount of water gushed out from Trident’s tips.
The three streams of water vigorously washed away the gastric juice that stuck on the adventurers’ body.

[Oh… for some reason… sea water came out instead.]

[Nnー….well, it won’t matter. Boss, I’ll take it from here.]

[Thanks, Solomon. By the way, is it still within safe margin to use your power?]

[Yeah, it’s still in the safe zone. But I will have to return to the notebook after this. Don’t think I wanna have some misfortunes to fall upon my Boss.]

[Got it. But let me ask you this first, is there anything you really want to do?]

[Ah, about that…]

While healing the adventurers, Solomon looked up to the sky, seemingly deep in thought.
Meanwhile, Levi busied herself wiping the adventurers’ body clean.
Where did she get that cloth from…?

[Un, naturally… I wanna be surrounded by pretty girls]

That’s not a wish, that’s just your desire…
But well, if that’s what he wants.

[Got it… there should be that kind of settlement in the capital. Let’s go there next time.]

[Ho, for real!? Hyahoooー! Thanks a lot, Boss!]

I stared at him bitterly…
Well, at least he’s happy.

[I’ll talk to the others after this. Tell them if they help Boss, they might get their wish fulfilled. Some would probably be interested. Moreover, Boss is really a likeable person after all.]

[Thanks, Solomon. I appreciate that.]

[That should be my line. Nahaha!]

=====

After giving all the wounded some first aid, I returned Solomon to the notebook.
I apologized for calling him so suddenly, but he was happy to be of help.
The number of allies I could rely on has increased once more.

After a while, the adventurers started to regain their consciousness.
Inea-san took charge of explaining what happened to those who’re still confused.
After Hagar finally woke up and talked with Inea, he then walked towards me.

[Sorry… We really screwed it up out there…]

[At least everyone is alright. Are you fine already?]

[Nah, I’ll be fine. That aside… I’m sorry for talking down on you earlier today.]

[Well, I am indeed just a D rank though…]

Hagar-san may have simply been worried about my well-being.
Well, except that part about Gagan-san.

[And also, I take back what I said about Gagan-san. The one whose eyes had been blinded was me. Sorry.]

He then bowed deeply.
On my part, I’m already glad that he changed his mind.

[You have won the bet. So you can tell us to do anything now.]

Even if he said so.
I feel satisfied already with him realizing his mistake…
Ah, right.

[Then… Please spread to everyone, that Gagan-san did not make the wrong judgement.]

[Ee? I, is that all…?]

[I agreed to make the bet solely for that reason. There is nothing else.]

Hearing that, Hagar-san clapped his face.
He looked so depressed afterward it made me worried.

[…….I guess I really was the one at fault here. Forgive me… Ha… truly, forgive me.]

[N, no need to become so depressed like that… It’s water under the bridge now.]

Then I could hear the sighs of the other adventurers.

[It’s not only Hagar… haaa… I’m sorry.]

[All of us… were wrong… I really can’t…]

[I’m sorry, Rhode-kun… I said something terrible…both to you and Gagan…]

[E, enough already! Why can’t we just be happy that everything turned out fine! Right! ]

[Inferno Wyvern is in a fairly strong category, but there is nothing to worry about. Well certainly, there are stronger beings out there. But Rhode-sama can deal with them. No need to be worried.]

Levi, no. That’s not comforting at all.
Also, why did you end up promoting me instead?
It’ll only make them become more depressed…

[A, anyway, let’s get down the mountain. We need to report to the guild that the request has been completed!]

[Un….. in that case, let us carry this for you. That’s the least we can do to help.]

[Eh? Do we need to take the wyvern along?]

[Yeah, it can serve as evidence for the report. Normally, a body part would suffice, but dragon’s materials are useful in a lot of ways. Especially a strong individual like this one. The town is quite near, so let us help you by carrying the carcass.]

[For normal subjugation requests, usually the adventurers are required to collect a certain body part of the monster. The body part will be decided upon taking the request to prevent fraud.]

[In the past, there was a case where an adventurer attacked another adventurer and stole the parts the latter had collected to complete the request. That’s why it’s stricter now.]

I see.
Having the advice of a senior is really helpful.
Besides, everyone started to regain their cheerfulness when we started talking like this. So it’s good.

[But it’s pretty big… how would I carry something like this if I were alone?]

[It should be possible with the right kind of magic, otherwise you’ll have to settle with taking only the highly valued parts. Other than that… you can also hire a carrier service. Although for that you’ll need a communication magic stone to contact them. That stuff is expensive though.]

Hmm hmmm, hiring a carrier. For now let’s keep that in mind.
Next, I guess I really need to buy this communication stone.
For convenience sake.

[We have a lot of people here, and we also have a mage capable of floating things among us. So let us help in carrying it. This size… it will certainly fetch for a good amount of money. Just consider it our way to make up for our mistake.]

[Ah, in that case, there is another wyvern over there, should we ask them to help with that as well?]

[No, Levi, we can ask Caduceus’ help with that one. I don’t want to impose on them more than what they bargain.]

[Ah, I understand. Please pardon me.]

[Eh? You said there is another one…?]

[Caduceus is what again…?]

It’ll take a long time to explain all that…

=====

[Thank you, Caduceus. I’ll be counting on you again next time.]

[Pleese call upon me anyzyme, Milord. Unzil lazer.]

I had Caduceus shrunk the second wyvern and revert it back to its original size once we arrived in front of the guild office. Afterward, I returned him back to the notebook,
Many curious passersby had gathered around to see the wyvern corpse.
Naturally, the sight of two gigantic wyvern’s corpses taking up most of the space near the fountain square would surely bring attention.
Of course the guild was unaware that there were actually two wyverns. The receptionist Lanna-san was also amazed when she came to check.

[Is this for real… Flame wyvern aside, this is the corpse of an inferno wyvern… And a big one at that.]

[Both of them were slayed by Rhode. We only help carry the smaller wyvern. Good grief… this guy Rhode is really ridiculous]

[Re, really…?]

[Well, actually…]

The first was slain by Balmung.
And it’ll be so much more difficult to slay the second one without Balmung.

[So an incredible rookie has appeared… For the time being, since the request is completed, the reward should be distributed. Please follow me. Also, maybe the guild master will want to have some words with you. I mean, he would certainly after this.]

[Did you call?]

Suddenly a brown haired man appeared behind Lanna-san.
That surprised her enough to make her jump.

[Uwaaa! Te, Tenea-sama… don’t surprise me like that! Since you are already here…]

[Well, I’m sorry then, Lanna. I was just looking through the window when I saw this. Anyway, did you do this? Amazing…]

[Ah, yes…]

[Rhode-kun, this person is Historia’s adventurer guild master, Tenea-sama.]

So this person is…
The man was wearing silver armor. A rapier hanging on his waist.
He looked pretty young and had a gentle face.

[Alright, you are Rhode-kun, yes? You are currently only D rank, but you have defeated A rank monsters on your own. Personally, I really want to raise your rank to A, but that will be against the guild’s rule. Although, an exception can still be made. For time being, with my authority, I will grant you recognition to rise to B rank. I hope you will continue to work hard.]

[Y, yes! Thank you very much!]

I certainly didn’t expect that I would rise to B rank so fast.
Yosh, if I keep doing my best, surely someday…

[Then, Lanna, I leave the rest to you.]

[Yeーs. Come on, Rhode. Procedures, procedures.]

[Ah, yes.]

One thought on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.28

Leave a comment