I Was Called Incompetent ch.35

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Double chapters!

Sorry for the wait to complete the last month sponsored chapters.
Both of my editors were busy with their IRL stuffs, so it cant be helped.
But, no worries, the chapters will definitely delivered! Ouu!

Enjoy and stay safe everyone.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 35 : Handshake

[I see… You’re going to leave town.]

[Yes. I’ll be departing today, after visiting the guild.]

We ended up staying in Hagar-san’s workshop longer than expected. 

Well, we stayed in this town longer than expected.

[I wish you could’ve stayed for much longer… The townspeople would also love that.]

[Thank you. But there is something I really need to do.]

[Something you have to do?]

I knew he would ask so I simply replied.

Honestly, I’ve been wondering if it’s alright to let Hagar-san know, but I at least wanted him to hear me out.

What I was in the past and what I sought to achieve now.

When I gave Levi a look, she seemed to notice my intentions. She responded with a little nod and a smile on her face. 

Thanks… Levi.

[Hagar-san, what is your opinion regarding “incompetents”?]

[Eh? Why so suddenly…]

Hagar-san expression turned weird.

Naturally. But I need to continue my story to confirm his opinion.

[It’s important.]

[U-uーn… I never met one myself. Well… My general impression of them isn’t very good, I guess?]

[What about Inea-san?]

[I think I’m on the same page as Hagar. I often read an article about the incompetent acting violent… I believe there has also been a similar article recently. So the general impression isn’t all that good.]

Perhaps it’s the article about the girl who was executed sometime ago.

Most people probably didn’t even think about why it happened, simply thinking that “the incompetent got jealous of others and vented by using violence”.

But that’s only normal.

Those articles would never mention the circumstance behind why the incompetent did so.

Naturally to make unaware people like Hagar-san remain uninformed of the real situation.

However, perhaps because he personally never met one before, he didn’t seem to be disgusted that much by the topic.

Only knowing about it won’t cause someone to hate the incompent.

Perhaps, the switch would turn on only once he actually met one.

Right now, Hagar-san is still in a neutral state. But if he met an incompetent, the disgust and hatred would probably start appearing in his mind.

What will he think after he hears my story?

Now I’m no longer one of the so-called incompetent.

So it will be the first time for him to learn that I was originally one.

Of course I was worried, but I said it anyway.

[I… I used to be an incompetent myself.] 

[ [ What!? ] ]

I told them everything.

The three years I spent while being misunderstood as an incompetent.

How I finally decided to end my life and how Levi saved me.

Now that I know what my power is, I came to notice the anomaly in this world and sought to fix it. Lastly, I told him how I was able to get the people of my hometown to understand.

At first, Hagar-san was surprised. But as the story went on, he started shedding tears as he continued to listen seriously and so did Inea-san.

I also revealed to them how my Materialization magic works and apologized for deceiving them. But the two shook their heads.

[Don’t worry about that. I see… so that’s how it is…]

[Rhode-kun really had it worst… You did your best…!]

Inea-san wiped her tears with the back of her hand.

Hagar-san’s eyes were red.

Other than that, the two still looked at me the way they used to look at me.

I thought so… We can understand each other.

[That’s why you want to clear the names of the other incompetents and to make sure no one else is being called that way. When I heard the story…. I couldn’t help crying my eyes out…] 

[We didn’t know… Sorry, Rhode-kun…]

[No, no, don’t worry about it. In the first place, what happened to me was nothing short of a miracle. Meeting Levi when I chose to die, learning about my powers, then going home and meeting the aunt next door, which in turn made me notice the anomaly… if any one of that didn’t happen, I wouldn’t be here right now. It’s something that only an incompetent would notice… So I realize that I need to do something.]

Suddenly, Hagar-san took my hand and squeezed it lightly. 

[Rhode-kun… if an incompetent appear in this town, I will do my best to protect that person. I will. Though unfortunately, that’s as far as we can do to help in your endeavour.]

[Hagar-san…]

Even before I asked him… Thank you so much…

[Me too! Or rather, this town will…]

[I will help too.]

[Wha!? T-Tenea! When did you get here!?]

[Hello, Hagar-san. And Rhode-kun as well]

[Brother! Don’t appear all of a sudden like that!]

[Eh… you two are brother and sister!?]

Now that I think about it, their names are similar… and they do have similarities in their faces…

[Did I miss telling you? Ah, Inea. Rhode-kun is also the one who healed my right arm.]

[Wha!? I haven’t heard anything about that!?]

I kinda get it now.

Tenea-san, he… he really likes to surprise other people….

The brother and sister quarreled for a while, but Hagar-san managed to separate them in the end.

Well. Inea-san is still glaring at the ever-smiling Tenea-san though….

[I was looking for Rhode-kun earlier. When I went to the inn, they said that he already left in the morning. Then I remember Inea told me that Hagar is making a set of armor for Rhode-kun.]

[I see… do you need me for something?]

[You have defeated a monster with two names. When I reported this to the headquarters, I was told to promote you to A rank. It is a fact, but the number of strong adventurers is decreasing with each day. So we really need to take good care of a promising youngster like you. Being an A rank will allow you access to various support from the guild and town.]

[A rank… isn’t it a little too fast…?]

[People who are now in the S rank or higher also rose through the ranks in a blink of an eye. It has been a long time since then. But I’m sure you have the capability to reach greater heights. Ah, excuse me for going off-topic. I overheard the story while I was climbing the stairs here. Certainly, this needs to change. If Rhode-kun intends to change the world, then we shall help, starting with this town. I assure you, if an incompetent come to this town, they will be able to live in peace.]

[Tenea-san… thank you very much.]

[No, I should be thanking you instead. To warn us before we unknowingly hurt others…. I’m truly grateful for that.]

=====

――――――――――――――――――――――

[Wow… it really only takes a moment…]

We moved to the guild office with Tenea-san’s transfer magic.

There was a brief period of darkness, but we are already in front of the guild office the next moment. 

It’s such a very useful and convenient magic.

[Truly a wonderful magic, Tenea-sama.]

[Haha, thank you. Although there are restrictions such as the number of people and distance. Alright, let’s go through the procedure. What about you, Hagar, Inea?]

[We’ll go to the carriage post and prepare it for our departure. By the way… are these really all your luggage?]

[Sorry, Hagar-san…. Is it really okay?]

[It’s fine, it’s fine. Alright then, see you later, Rhode-kun, Levi-chan.]

[Thank you very much, Hagar-sama, Inea-sama.]

[My brother is helping you with other matters, so let me at least do this much. See you!]

After the two left, we entered the guild office.

When we arrived at the reception table, Lanna-san was already prepared with the documents.

[Rhode-kun is already going… Aーah, now I’m going to be lonely.]

[Sorry. But, I will surely…]

[Eh? Rhode-kun, are you leaving!?]

[Oi, are you kidding me! I haven’t even repaid my debt yet!]

The adventurers present at the guild office rushed to us one by one.

Most of them were people who participated in the wyvern hunt.

[I was still thinking of how I could help you… Now that I see it, that armor…that bastard Hagar! He’s the only one managing to get even…]

[I haven’t even done anything yetー!]

[Everyone…]

[Now now, I have something to ask of you guys later. It is also something that Rhode-kun would want above all else. Right, Rhode-kun?]

[Tenea-san… yes, please do.]

[Alrighty! I’ll do anything for you!]

[Tenea-san-chan, can you explain it to us?]

[Of course. Rhode-kun, leave the rest to me. I’ll make sure that your thoughts come through. I’ll explain it to everyone.]

[Thank you for everything…!]

I-I was blessed to have this encounter.

Overwhelmed with happiness, all I could do was bow in gratitude. 

Besidesly, it’ll be embarrassing if I were to be seen with teary eyes.

=====

―――――――――――――――――――――

Having said our goodbyes to Tenea-san and the guild, we headed to the town entrance. 

The sun was already high above, telling me that it’s noon already.

Many people came and went into the town as usual.

Will everyone understand?

No, let’s believe in Tenea-san.

I’m sure they will understand.

When we arrived at the carriage pen, we found Vaendymion already strapped to the carriage. It shook its head repeatedly to greet us after all the time we were separated.

It seemed that Hagar-san and Inea-san already completed the preparations.

[Vaendymion, we’ll be counting on you again.]

[Burururu!]

[Hagar-san, Inea-san, thank you for everything. I got myself a nice set of armor thanks to you…]

[Say no more… you’re welcome. I’ll be looking forward to meeting you again. I’ll also keep my words so don’t worry.]

[Rhode-kun should continue to do what Rhode-kun wishes to do. We will change this town!] 

[Yes…. thank you very much. Ah, that’s right. I haven’t really named this sword yet. Can you give it a name, Hagar-san?]

The sword had become so much better that calling it just an iron sword would do it a disservice.

Therefore, I would like Hagar-san who remade it to act as some sort of a godfather for it.

[Name, huh…? Well then, how does “Steel Sword Iaris” sound?] 

[Steel Sword Iaris…?]

[It’s a fusion of my steel magic and Rhode-kun’s acquaintance’s iron magic, so I tried mixing together Historia and Ist for its name… What do you think?]

[I see… Sounds good! Alright, from now on, you are Iaris. Hagar-san, thank you for giving it such a good name.]

[Haha, that’s good to hear. Alright then, Rhode-kun, Levi-chan, be careful on the road. Well, I feel that you guys would be just fine, but nonetheless, I pray for your safe journey.]

I shook Hagar-san’s hand.

It was really fortunate to meet with these people.

[Rhode-kun, take care on your way!]

[I will. Alright then, good bye!]

Riding on our carriage once more, we departed from Historia.

Hagar-san and Inea-san saw us off until we were no longer visible on the horizon.

I’ll definitely visit them again.

By then, hopefully we can still laugh together again.

[It went really well… did it, Rhode-sama?]

[Yeah… But we’re far from done yet.]

There was no incompetent in Historia.

So perhaps that’s why they could listen to me without much hustle.

If there was an incompetent living there before… I’m sure it’ll be so much more difficult to convince them.

On the flipside, there are a lot more people in the capital.

I’m sure some of them are willing to help.

[We are heading toward the capital city of Nibelugh. I’m sure there are people in need of help over there.] 

[Yes, Rhode-sama. No matter where you go… I will always be with you.]

We went through the valleys of Lapis Mountain.

Going beyond this wall to change the world.

That is our journey.

5 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.35

Leave a comment