I Was Called Incompetent ch.41

Weekly chapters (1/2)

New chapters is coming~
It using Tia’s POV.

Enjoy and stay safe everyone.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 41: Invasion

It’s 2 past midnight.
I was near Horus-san’s mansion, this time, alongside Rhode-san.
Naturally, the street was desolate at this hour. Silence dominated Nibelugh even at its center.
As for the residential area around the center of the city, it’s where the wealthiest residents of Nibelugh reside.

But despite being situated in such an area, Horus-san’s mansion still stood tall among the houses here.
The site was secured with tall walls all around and a steel grilled gate was installed at the main entrance.

Patients from all over the world would pass through this gate for medication, all of whom are willing to pay a large sum.
And some didn’t come only once or twice. That’s how Horus-san amassed his wealth.
He seems to like making money and he likes being praised even more than anything.
For instance, regardless of how critical the condition, if said person could afford to pay him, Horus-san would not see that person.
On the contrary, he’d act swiftly if the order came from a wealthy and powerful person, or aristocrats, etc.

It wasn’t until I became Horus-san’s plaything that I found out about all that.
Thinking back, it’s indeed weird that such a person was willing to treat Mom free of charge.
But that never crossed my mind before Rhode-san pointed it out to me.
I was under the illusion that Horus-san was the only person capable of helping Mom, and I clung to that belief desperately.
If he’s really aiming for me and Mom from the beginning…

[That’s a huge mansion. Tia, do you know the room where your mother is staying?]

I was caught a little off guard when Rhode-san suddenly asked me that.
It’s almost like he could tell what I was thinking, thus he attempted to divert me from going deeper into such a negative thought.

[Eh, I, yes. I know which room it is… But wouldn’t there be guards? What will we do?]

[There’ll be no problem if they can’t see us. Hades?]

A black helmet emerged from within the notebook in Rhode-san’s hand.
Was that… Rhode-san’s magic?

[Tia, let me ask this again. I understand how you feel. I know that you’ve been through a lot in this mansion. But…]

Rhode-san could tell after all.
However…

[I know, it’ll be alright. Because I’ve heard Rhode-san’s story… And I could care less about anything else as long as Mom is safe.]

Of course, I had the desire to vent out my anger.
But as long as Mom is safe, then I could care less about that. I don’t like violence anyway.
Moreover, after hearing Rhode-san’s story… I’d like to try to start over.

=====

After listening to my story, Rhode-san decided that he would break into Horus-san’s mansion to free Mom. He also said that he’d heal her.
I broke into tears again after hearing that…
But before we start, I have one last thing I really need to ask Rhode-san.

[E, ermm… Rhode-san… did you ever think about revenge after gaining your powers?]

Rhode-san made a troubled face in response to my question.
He might’ve had even more people to hate.
Although some people did unpleasant things to me, it’s nothing compared to an entire town.
Of course, it’s still painful and what Horus-san did to me was unbearable.

But Rhode-san’s case was different… he was in, I suppose, I could’ve called it extreme loneliness.
It didn’t seem like he had a clear goal to cling on like me, which means he was struggling and suffering everyday with barely anything to retreat to.
Although I was able to endure thanks to my Mom, there were times when I felt like I was about to break down.
For Rhode-san, it’s probably even more severe…

[What saved me was that one month stay in the underground mansion. Those days brought me so much happiness that I forgot all my hatred. So exacting revenge very rarely crossed my mind. Of course I want to have my revenge. But not through violence… I just want everyone to understand. When I first got out of the underground and was reminded of everything they’ve done to me, hatred did spring back up. But after I noticed the anomaly in this world, I couldn’t get myself to exact revenge anymore. Sometimes, all we need is to talk things through. And… I guess I wasn’t wrong.]

Rhode-san then told me what happened afterward.
The first one whom he was able to convince was the boss who hired him for labor work.
Then there was the mom of his childhood friend who lived next door, then the guild master of the town, and lastly the entire town… They even agreed to help any incompetents who seek refuge in the town.

[With my newfound power, I could’ve probably turned the town upside down easily. But if I did that, what’s next then, I wonder? If everyone can understand each other… then that’ll be the best outcome. Well, some of them were already distorted to begin with, but I’m sure they’ll eventually get their just desserts.]

[I see… Un. I want to try doing the same as well.]

[Sure, everything should be alright. We’ll help you out. But first, let’s save your mother.]

[Yes!]

Yes, what most important to me is Mom.
That’s all I need.

=====

It’s just my gut feeling, but this Horus seemed like someone that shouldn’t ever be forgiven.
If it’s the truth, then Tia would probably kill Horus if she’s left to her own devices.
That must not happen at all costs.

Only saving her mom will not free Tia from the circle of hatred.
Therefore… I must do something with this Horus.
Tia only needs to concern herself with her mother’s well-being.

Once materialized, Hades appeared before us in his cute little knight form.
He laughed happily with his hands on his hips as he floated in midair. 

[This Me saw that you require My help again! Nyahaha!] 

[Sorry about that, Hades. I called upon you just for a precaution. Can you tell me how many people you can hide simultaneously?]

[If you want to bestow My power upon many others, simply have them stay in direct contact with you while this Me uses My glorious power upon you. Then those others would be hidden as well.]

[I see… then I’ll be counting on you again. We need to break into that mansion after all.]

[Umu. But be forewarned, both of you will not be able to see each other. Moreover, do not speak a single word. Otherwise, the invisibility would be undone.]

[Alright. Let’s go then.]

[Understood. Ah, but, we first need to get past that gate first…]

[No, we won’t be passing through there. Just tell me the closest spot to your mom’s room.]

[Eh? Ah, okay…]

With Tia’s guidance, we headed towards the back of the mansion.
Her mom seemed to be staying at the corner of the 4th floor, which happened to be the highest floor in this mansion.
It was made clear when she pointed at the window on the corner.

[It’s that room… Mom should be there…]

Tia suddenly became nervous.
The anxiety probably grew now that we’re here.

[Don’t worry. We’ll help you out.]

[Y-yes! But, how do we cross this wall…?]

A wall about 5 meters tall stood in front of us.
Well, that shouldn’t be too big of a problem.

[Brionac, Solomon.]

I called upon the Spear of Lightning and the Ring of Djinn from the notebook.
With their powers, let alone bypassing the wall, I should be able to unlock the window as well.

[Okay, I’ll run up there soon so you two should hang on tight to me.]

[Yes, understood.]

[Eh…? Ah, w-what?]

[Hades, can you please go invisible and see if there is a lookout around that room?]

[Certainly. Just wait here.]

Hades disappeared instantly.
I looked at the window on the fourth floor until Hades reappeared and waved at us.
Apparently, there’s no lookout.

I held Levi with my right arm and had Tia piggybacking on me.
It’s an emergency so it couldn’t be helped.

After warning them to hold tight, with Brionac in my left hand, I kicked the ground, jumping over the wall and climbing to the fourth floor in a single breath. 
Right before reaching the window, I used Solomon’s power to unlock the window.

Entering through the room via the opened window, I could see a large bed in the middle of the room.
It was a bleak room with nothing else inside it.
I thought that there would be at least some medical instruments here, but there’s none.

[Mom…!]

Tia rushed to the bed.
However, the next moment she stopped right in front of the bed.
Don’t tell me…

[Mom… she’s not here.]

3 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.41

Leave a comment