I Was Called Incompetent ch.98

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Don’t worry, you won’t get the cliffhanger from the previous chapter~
Double chapter!

Enjoy and stay safe everyone.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 98 : Children of God

[Sherryl…please come out…!]

[…I’m sorry, Mom. I’m sick so please leave me alone.]

[But…you have not come out for a whole month!? Please, Sherryl… please come out!]

[I’ll be cured once I have enough sleep…so please leave me be.]

[Meer and Reene are here to see you. So please…]

[I said it already! I don’t want to! I don’t want to get out! I don’t want to meet anyone! Why won’t you understand!? Is it really hard to understand that I want to be left alone!?]

[Sherryl…why…]

Why…?
That’s…something I wish I knew too.
The paper never moved even after a month.
The time had run out.
I had to admit it now.

I’m just an incompetent.

Why am I an incompent… why… why…?
I can’t come out like this…
The moment it becomes known… I would be thrown away for sure.
If so, I’d better off living the rest of my life here.
If Mom and Dad are to throw me away, I…

[Sherryl…]

So, it’s Dad’s turn this time, huh…?
But, let’s hear him out…

[We don’t know what happened to you… but no matter what, we’ll be on Sherryl’s side.]

Dad…that is impossible.
Once you find out that I’m an incompetent, even you will…

[I still remember…that day when you were born. I was really happy… I would die for this child… I really thought so. And that still has not changed.]

Uu…uu…

[You don’t have to talk to us… it’s a bit sad that you don’t trust us…but it matters not. As long as I get to see Sherryl’s cute face again…then it’s all good.] 

Dad…

[It’s easy to break this door open. But, Dad won’t do that. Because… I believe in Sherryl. My dear and precious…beloved daughter, Sherryl. Please let us see your cute face again…]

[Mom is the same! I want to be with you forever! Sherryl… I love you…!

[Sherryl! If something bothered you, you should tell us!]

[That’s right, Sherryl! We…aren’t we best friends? Sherryl’s suffering is also our suffering! S, so…please come out!] 

Mom… Meer… Reene…!

[Sherryl…everyone here… loves you]

[Dad!]

I opened the door and hugged my dad in front of me.
His warmth wrapped me as I sunk myself in his chest.

[Sherryl…thank you…]

[Dad… Dad…]

Actually, I was already at my limit.
I wanted to tell someone.
This anxiety…this sadness…this fear scarier than death…

[I…uuu…]

[It’s alright, Sherryl…it’s alright…]

[Ahh… I can’t handle this…ah…by myself…!]

Let’s tell them.
It should be alright…
These four…will definitely accept me…!

[I… I…! I can’t use my magic…!]

The moment I said so, Dad’s hand that wrapped me loosened.
A terrible chill ran around my body at that moment.
At the same time, it was as if only the sound had gone somewhere… I was struck by such an illusion.
Mom’s and Meer’s sobbing I could still hear a moment ago ceased, giving me an unspeakable dread… I didn’t dare to raise my face that was still buried in my Dad’s chest.

[Ah…]

Everyone…their faces…
What… 
What’s wrong with their faces…!
No…no way…!

[No…no…no way! No… Nooooooooo!]

[Guh!? S-Sherryl!]

I pushed my dad away, ran down the stairs at once and jumped out of my house.
Barefooted… I ran through the town under the darkness of night.
It’s no use after all…!
I shouldn’t have said it…!
Why did I say that!?
Why did I say that!?
Why…!

[Why did I have to be an incompetent…!?]

=====

I found myself in a strange hut.
I don’t remember where and how far I ran and I don’t even know where this is.
I just wanted to escape.
From my family, best friends, hometown…from reality.

[Dad… Mom…uuu… Uuuu…uu…]

I can’t go back to the Royal Capital anymore.
Those faces were…that kind of expression…
Shaking off the feeling of dread, I went out of the hut.

[It’s morning already…but where am I…?]

I seemed to have fallen asleep before I knew it and the area had already begun to brighten when I woke up.
The hut I arrived at was tattered and it seemed that no one was using it now.
I went inside again and searched inside the hut.
There were pots, shovels, buckets, and lamps…there were also fishing rods and flints, and an ax for chopping wood…ah.
There was a rusty knife in the desk drawer.
I grabbed it and impulsively hung it around my neck…

[Haaah…! Haaa…!]

I have no hope anymore.
All that is left is to die.
I pushed the knife in my hand closer to my neck, gradually applying more pressure.
My hand rattled as the cold touch of iron brought me back to reality.
One with no hope or dream left…just a sad reality.
But…but…!

[Uu…huuu…! I don’t want to die…don’t want to…! I haven’t done anything yet! I haven’t…!]

I placed the knife on the table, sat on the chair, and cried.
No magic… no courage to end my own life… no life worth living… I really had nothing.
Nothing at all…

[Hmm…?]

When I was staring at the knife placed on the desk, I noticed the paper underneath.
I casually picked it up and opened it. The paper had turned yellow and was hard to read, but it was a map of Armenia.

[No way… I’m already at the edge of Armenia…]

The location of the hut was marked red on the map.
Thanks to that, I was able to discern where I am right now.
The place where I am now is quite far from the Royal Capital where I lived. Not very far, but it is not a distance that I could normally run overnight.
In fact, it should still take a few days traveling by carriage.

[I don’t get it… but…]

According to the map, there is a town nearby and also a river.
Nobody should be able to find me here.
And if I don’t dare to die now…

[Let’s do it… I need to try…]

=====

I started living in the hut, managing to make do for three years.
I went to the town in the middle of the night to scour garbage and steal food from the fields.
The seeds were planted to create a field, the garbage used for fishing and trapping… I think it was kind of fun.
Turns out humans can live out of basically anything when pushed to a corner.
I desperately tried to live, eventually forgetting I wanted to die.

But, even that had its own limit.
I thought my life would gradually become normal, but it only gets harder with each passing day.
I had forgotten because I was trying hard to live, but in the end I realized that I had no hope.
I did what I could do.
I also tried to train my magic.
But, nothing changed.
Just like the rest of my life.
That’s fine too.
Because after three years, I finally had the courage to die.

[Goodbye… Mom…Dad…]

I really wanted to be with you all forever.
I love you.
Also Meer and Reene too…
None of them are in the wrong.
I just had to be an incompetent and wasted everything.
My tears flowed ceaselessly.
I had continued living in the hope of a miracle.
But, there’s no such thing.
Therefore… there’s no point in living anymore…

The moment I tried to kick the chair I was standing on, the door of the hut opened vigorously.

[Eh!?]

[Oh, it’s really here! Hmm…? Oy oy! Are you trying to die there!?]

Several men came in through the opened door.
From their outfit, they seemed to be Armenian soldiers…
W, why are you people here…?

[Wh, who are you…]

[Hey, you, young lady… you’re an incompetent, right?]

[I…]

[That reaction… it’s a hit!]

[Great job! I know that we’ll score for sure this time!]

[Wha…what…?]

[Young lady… if you’re not an incompetent, then show us your magic. If you can, we’ll leave you alone.]

[I… I’m not…]

My head hurts.
What… What is going on…?
I’m already…

[Yup, it’s an incompetent alright.]

[No…]

[We were looking for incompetents. Then I heard the rumor in that nearby town…there was a girl who had been sneaking in the trash for a few years. So, after investigating, I arrived at this hut.]

No…

[It was difficult…but we finally managed to trace your tracks.]

If it wasn’t…

[Well then, let’s…]

I kicked the chair I was standing on. 

[Guhaa…!]

[T-this little!]

[Get ‘er down!]

[Quick, cut the rope!]

The rope was cut immediately and I was detained by the men.

[Geho…no…please no! Stop!]

[Shut the hell up!]

[Tie it fast!]

Stop…!
I can’t bear it anymore…!
I have had enough…!

[I just want to die!]

=====

Elsewhere――――

It was around the same time Rhode woke up. In a room inside a castle.
Nine men and women surround the desk, exchanging words for the coming day.

[Finally.]

[That took a whileー]

[Is that so? I think it’s pretty fast.]

[Well then, what are we gonna do?]

Everyone’s gazes were focused on one man.
Catching everyone’s stares, he folded his arms.

[That last prep. The rest is only solicitation… I still want him. And another one in Armenia.]

[Is this that “Incompetent” again?]

[Yesーa very strong one.]

[Ahh…very strong, you say? Of course it will be an incompetent.]

[And the one in Armenia?]

[There’s no report about that one yet, I think? But, it’s been about 3 months. That “girl” is lucky.]

[Ohh, just the right moment. Leader, what about the grouping?]

[Hey hey! What about me!?]

[Dunno…it’s up to the leader.]

The man referred to as the ‘leader’ divided the men and women into several groups and gave instructions to each one.

[Grouped with Fake again… I’m getting tired of it.]

[That’s my line…]

[Fake’s group, go to Armenia. Retrieve the incompetent. Jade and the others will go ahead.]

[Yes.]

[Copy that-nya!]

[Then, off you go.]

One by one they left the room, leaving the two of them. A woman and the leader.
The woman stood up from her chair and sat on the leader’s lap.
She then circled her arms around the man’s neck, surrendering her body to him.

[At long last…]

[Yes…at long last. But it’s also the beginning.]

[Fufu…you saved this very life…therefore I’m yours…]

[Of course.]

The two kissed.
Moans and sighs filled the dimly lit room as the men and women fiercely made out.
However, the man’s heart remained cold.
For his heart was focused elsewhere.
All for the sake of revenge.
For treating him…like he was a pest and to relieve all the resentment that has built up throughout the years.
No matter what, regardless of anything.

[The time is upon us. If we are truly the children of God…then we should be able to achieve this.]

And this time, the world will see yet another great movement.

2 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.98

Leave a comment