29-sai Dokushin wa Isekai ch.66

Weekly chapters (2/2)

New chapter is here~

Btw, I’ll make a new announcement about this series later.
Stay tuned.

Enjoy the chapter~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Mirp

Episode 66 ~A surprising reunion~

Ivan, who was returning to Miscronia, and the one I asked about the rough location of Gobbel’s royal capital and major cities, decided to part after picking up what was likely to be his cargo. The main cargo was magic tools and salt, also a few local liquors from all over Miscronia. The magic tools consisted of things like stoves, ignition tools, lighting, and other convenient household appliances.
I’m likely to get scolded if I stayed out without permission, so I had to return home before dark. At worst I could just use Torn to play as my messenger to explain my absence.
That’s why I flew at supersonic speed in the direction I heard from Ivan. The destination was Pidna, the capital of Gobbel. It was a huge city facing the sea with a population of over 300,000. For a comparison, Alfen, the capital city of Karendil, only had a population of about 100.000.
There were many flatlands in Gobbel, and although the cause was unknown, there were few powerful monsters, making the food production quite plentiful. However, since there were also a lot of people, there was not much room for food. It’s said that they imported a sizable amount of food from Karendil and Miscronia every year.

[That’s quite huge.]

Looking down on Pidna from the sky, I muttered unintentionally. That said, it’s nothing compared to the big city with skyscrapers that I was used to seeing in the previous world, but it’s still quite large. Is it even possible to manage the family register and collect taxes in every corner? It looked like it couldn’t be done.

[Hmm, let’s see what’s going on here.]

As I floated relaxedly in the sky, I observed the street of Pidna.
First of all, I’ll have to decide on a final landing point. The best thing to do was to have Gobbel to fold in a harmonious manner without causing unnecessary death. To do that, I had to deal with the person or power who was planning to take my head.
Eh? Isn’t that supposed to be the first prince? No, that can’t be. From the story Ivan told me, the First Prince doesn’t seem like the type to be so petty that he would want to take my head.
The image of the First Prince from that story, who overcame his political oppositions with wits, does not seem to match with the one I had when I read that letter of warning.
The alternative would be to body Gobbel’s military so hard until they no longer dared to make any moves. In any case, I should collect as much information as I could to prevent any surprise.
It’s going to be more terrible than a genocide, but I don’t really mind. I’m not even fazed. I had the thing that fit for this kind of situation. It’s not really a weapon, but can be used as one. Actually it’s almost like a weapon of mass destruction in a way. I don’t really want to use it.
I just don’t want to waste the precious power of my territory for war.
Well, I started to aim for the first landing point for the time being, but unfortunately I do not have the protection of the force. There was no fairy who told me the destination, no mascot that was secretly a know-it-all supercomputer. There was also no gamemaster who could give hints—

『You called me so here I am, tadadadaaah.』

I didn’t call you.
And just like that, the Evil God reappeared.

『For the time being, why don’t you turn that Royal Castle-like place into a mountain of rubble?』

GO! BACK! HOME! Seriously, just go away, will you?

『I refuse. It’s been a while, so I want to enjoy it for a bit.』

What’s with this guy… I can’t even run away because this god is talking directly in my head one-sidedly. Well, let’s just pretend to ignore them for now.
In the end, I had to contact the Prince or the King. How to get closer to the Royal family, but perhaps the easiest way is to use the gold coin power via the Commerce Guild. It is also good for finding information on the Prince’s hidden ball.

『So where are we going first, the Commerce Guild?』

What is it now? Evil Gods should act like Evil Gods.

『But I’m not one. I belongs to the wish-fulfillment race.』

I see. Then I wish for you to leave!

『That won’t do… let’s set this flag to meet a new bride in this Kingdom then.』

Sorry, please don’t. I’m already at my limit. I’d die. Enough.
Or rather, I’m a bit busy here, so can you please stop talking? I have to go back home before night comes.

『And he’s back to his spiteful mode. So sad……throw me a bone here at least. In a way, I’m your benefactor for inviting you to this world. You never used it, ever, even though I bothered to make a menu to call God. 』

I don’t even need to call God when God simply appears out of nowhere like this.
I’m really grateful, though. I haven’t been bored since I came here, and I’ve made a lot of beautiful and cute brides.

『At least your lower half is sincere.』

You fucking stalker.
I couldn’t stand it anymore, so I started descending. The descent target is the Royal castle in the middle of the Royal Capital. No one would notice me since I’ve activated Stealth.

『Hmmmー? Are you sure you’re going to land there?』

It was a hassle to do some preliminary research. First, hit the First Prince――no, let’s have a talk. If it’s settled, that’s it. As expected, I’m a genius.

『Would that even work? Well, let’s just see. I’m looking forward to it』

Nn? What are you doing there? You’re giving me the vibe that something ridiculous will happen. Come on, spit it out!
And there it is, staying silent. It will talk incessantly when I ask it to stop, but it will stop talking when I ask it to talk. Really annoying. Oh well, let’s try to be stealthy, but I could always go bold if I get caught.

=====

[This is Taichi, infiltration success.]

I wasn’t talking to anyone, just muttering to myself to fit the vibe.
I had a small hope that the Evil God would respond to that, but apparently it had decided to wait and see. In any case, if this God, or whatever it calls itself, chose to stay silent, then so be it.
I landed at a place like a garden in the back of the Royal castle. The calm atmosphere of the garden was well maintained and the colorful flowers were pleasing to the eye. There’s also a fountain, though it is small. The corridor facing the garden was open, with only a few large stone pillars and railings, and no walls. I could also see some doors.
According to my detection skill, there were very few people nearby. A garden deep inside the palace, where it’s sparse with people during the day… Could this be a guest room? Or perhaps a place belonging to someone close to the Royal family, or maybe a concubine’s room? Either way, I need to investigate where my target was, as I don’t want to search in the dark… Maybe I can find someone that knows, preferably one that is easily threatened.
The soldiers are no good, loyalty would be high if they were entrusted with guarding such a place, and I don’t think they would easily spit out information. It bleeds my heart, but I might have to target the maid… Well, I’m reluctant. Isn’t there anyone who I don’t really care about, but can easily be shaken, while having convenient information?
As I was hiding in the garden and thinking about it, I noticed movement approaching my spot. There were two of them, and both were young women from my point of view. Two people? They’d be easy to kill, but it’s impossible to cross-examine. Let’s overdo it.

[Has the Royal Father abandoned us…?]

[Nera-sama… that must not be true. His Majesty must have something in mind.]

Hmm….? Have I heard these voices before?

[Compared to my sister, I’m pretty much useless after all. Hah…]

[There is no such thing. Nera-sama is beautiful and intelligent.]

[Enough, Stella. I apologize for involving you in this. But, you have little value as a hostage, so please be a little patient. I shall ask the Crown Prince to at least return you to our country.

[But, there is no way I can leave Nera-sama alone.]

What a tearful scene there. Anyways, of course I found those voices familiar. That’s actually Karendil Kingdom’s Princess Kalnera and her maid.
Just as I found the person that I could get information from without too much hassle, the person turns out to be someone I would feel awkward meeting here…. I don’t know why she’s here of all places, but Karendil may have struck some sort of agreement. I can’t underestimate the King of Karendil.
But why go as far as sending his own daughter here? That king seems to be the type of King who can make some ruthless decisions, so I can’t say anything.
Let’s tail them a bit more. I should call them when we’re in a less noticeable place.
I kept following them in a way that neither them nor the palace inhabitants could see me. Eventually they entered a room. The area seemed to be some sort of a guest house after all.
I couldn’t hear the sound of locking, so I entered the room silently, even though I thought it was unscrupulous. No matter how sparse people are, if you ask questions in front of the door, you may find them.

[Wh, who are you!? How dare you break in!]

[No, I’m sorry. But please be quiet.]

I closed the door, turned to them, and put one finger on their mouth.
Taking a quick look around, I saw many pieces of furniture such as a sofa and table set that seems to be high-class, and two more doors leading to other rooms.
Princess Kalnera got up from the sofa, while her maid stood in front with arms spread out to protect the Princess. Hahaha, when they saw my face, their expression looked like a pigeon when it got hit by a peashooter.

[I, it’s, you!? Why are you even in this place!?]

[Ssushh, please be quiet and calm yourself down, or else they might find me. I was sneaking in to have some TALK with the Crown Prince, but I saw you two, so I thought to say hi.]

[….Ah, of course.]

Hearing my reply, Princess Kalnera’s face turned sullen and she flopped back to the sofa. Such a sloppy Princess.
Well, I’m not a fool, so I can basically guess why she looked depressed. I’m here not because the king personally asked me to rescue the Princess, nor was it because I was worried about her.

[My bad. I guess that’s not the answer you wanted.]

[If you can tell, then why didn’t you at least play along? You can at least pay more attention to a girl’s heart?]

[There’s a saying that a relationship built on lies is fragile, easily broken and crumbles]

[Haa…. What a mess. Stella, please prepare some tea]

Princess Kalnera looked at me, sighed, and straightened her posture. So you think it’s okay to fix it now?
She then urged me to sit with her stare, so I just played along and sat on the sofa. It was such a good sofa. The softness and the comfortable sitting position were a perfect match. Personally, I don’t really like a sofa that is too soft that I would sink down into it upon sitting on it.

[I don’t have much time to relax, you know?]

[You said you want to have a talk with the crown prince? If so, you better wait for about half an hour. After lunch, he usually stay in the back palace to have『post meal exercise』for an hour or so.]

[He’s really busy during the daytime…]

[How did you sneak in? Aren’t there dozens of people out there?]

[Not exactly correct. There were nine, but right now there are only six.]

[You, do you know the saying “whether it’s 50 or 100 steps, makes little difference”?]

Princess Kalnera glared at me. It’s a reward being given that look by a beautiful girl, you know.
However, upon closer inspection, Princess Kalnera was indeed a beautiful girl. Her shining long blonde was pretty, and the parts of her face were all in order. Above all, she had beautiful blue eyes that were as clear as the sky. She had a lot of facial expressions and was cute, and her body was sticking out and retracting where it should be.

[Wha, what is it? Suddenly staring at me.]

[Nothing, you’re beautiful.]

[Oh, thank you. But, I’ve heard that kind compliment far too many times and I grew tired of it. It comes with being known as the Jewel of Karendil.]

[Hmm, you’ll indeed look like a jewel if you talk far less.]

[You should be the one who talks far less, you bully!]

It’s good to be a beautiful woman because it’s cute even if you get angry while stomping on the floor like a monkey. Watching the Princess make a noise while drinking the tea brewed by her maid, I feel like she earned that title.
Eventually, perhaps because she’s tired, Princess Kalnera calmed down and sat back on the sofa.

[Hmm… I haven’t had a crush on you anymore. Do you know exactly what rumors you are making among the nobles of the Kingdom of Calendil?]

[No, I don’t. And I’m not interested to know.]

[I thought so. You, not only inviting Princess Mariel and Princess Tinava, but also take in beastkin and humanoid monsters to your territory? I heard you also kidnapped a married woman from a smithy somewhere and took her to your territory? And how about that young girl you trained to become your maid in your mansion?]

[Ah, what a mess… the clear lack of evaluation pains me. It’s true that I brought a married woman from a smithy to my territory, but it’s because she willingly came to work for me, and she also brought her husband with her. Similar things with the maid.]

Peron-san was fascinated by the godsilver alloy, not my ability in bed. I’m not that bad!
As for Maybell, I have to admit that I enjoy the feeling of being stepped on, but that’s a massage. Nothing remotely erotic about it. And no matter what people say, it’s a massage. In fact, it’s like they’re using me to train.

[That’s right. Because of our squabble in the past, I got treated like some sort of poison since an amorous Hero like you won’t even eat me. There’s no way for me to defend myself against that accusation from the nobles.]

[Congrats! The selfish Princess is finally tired of herself!]

[I don’t need you to congratulate me!]

[Ne, Nera-sama, please don’t get too excited.]

[That’s right, it’s bad for your skin.]

[Uh, how come someone like you can be a Hero!]

Perhaps thinking that I couldn’t see it, the maid looked at the Princess and me with teary eyes. By the way, this maid had a similar atmosphere to Princess Kalnera, who had a nice face and a nice body. Was she her relative or something?
This is probably the longest face-to-face discussion I’ve ever had with Princess Kalnera, and I find her such a fun lady to talk with. But maybe because I teased her a bit too much.

[Sorry, I went a little too far there. It was fun, but I’m just messing with you. Now let’s have some serious talk.]

[You suddenly talking seriously like that feels uncomfortable… I don’t really understand the situation when it comes to exchanging information. Anyhow, everything happened all of a sudden, when I was staying at my sister’s abode. The messengers and soldiers from the Royal castle came and we were half-forced to be summoned to the castle.]

[I see… I mean, why are you in Gobbel? It must have been full of danger, what with the civil war with the Centaur and the still ongoing flood.]

[That is outdated information. About two weeks ago, Gobbel’s officials announced that the flood was over. I hurriedly visited my sister upon hearing that news.]

[What? Two weeks ago?]

If the end of the flood was declared two weeks ago, wouldn’t it be unnatural for Ir-san to not know it? Perhaps Mischronia’s intelligence network has been hijacked, or was it…?

[Is there something that bothers you?]

[Just a little. I get it now, but why are you here in Gobbel? I think I heard that you were put in a monastery or somewhere and were under house arrest.]

[I was suddenly repatriated about a month ago. I was about to have my daily duties and prayers on the board. Who would’ve known that when I came to visit my sister, I’d be held hostage like this? Maybe I would have been happier to live quietly as a nun.]

I can’t imagine her as a devout nun, though not so much, as she sighs deeply on the couch. Well, I wonder if there are many men who fall in love at a glance when they witness such a girl praying quietly in nun clothes.
Seeing her beauty, the most loyal man may even feel like cheating.

[What’s with the sudden repatriation? Considering that last squabble with me, that’s a bit strange.]

[I do not know too well, but apparently I’ll be married off. To someone that I’ve never seen the face nor know the name of. I was supposed to hold a ceremony shortly after returning from this trip. However…]

Princess Kalnera ironically smiled despite the situation she was in.
Hmm? A marriage partner at such a time? And she didn’t even know who her husband-to-be was? What is this, some kind of sick surprise? There’s no way, right…? I don’t even dare to treat my spouse-to-be like that.

[What’s wrong? Why do you have such a funny expression on your face?]

[… It’s nothing? For the time being, I understand the situation as it is. Thank you. But I’d like to ask you, do you want me to take you out from here? I can do it. ]

[That’s something I can’t hope for, but can I ask you one? Why do you care about us? For you, who doesn’t even want to see me face to face?]

[Don’t answer the question with a question… If the person you are familiar with is in trouble and it’s not too much of a burden for you, isn’t it natural to help? At least it is in my case.]

Because I am neither a saint nor an ally of justice.
There was no particular reason not to do it if it was a little kind and beneficial to someone. Even if it’s self-satisfaction. When I look at the shopping carts that are left unattended when I finish the checkout at the supermarket, I’m the type who returns them to the cart storage area together with my own.
But, it’s not like I would do the same with the rest if there are two or three more.
For me now, taking Princess Kalnera and her maid out of this castle feels like that. A simple whim.

[Are you not angry about sleeping pills and the… oh, orc stuff?]

[Ah… well, thinking back, it did anger me for a few months, but I’m not angry anymore now. Many things led to another, which eventually angered me.]

At that time, I was nervous because I was being targeted by an assassin, and I was about to be fitted into the Royal family. After that, the safety declaration was issued.

[Muu… then, have you forgiven me?]

[I’ll just spirit you away from here, and go with the flow from there on.]

I mean, this is the Jewel of Karendil herself we are talking about. If I didn’t have Marl and my other wives, I would not be this resistant to her beauty and drop the ball. Without a doubt.

[Then let’s talk about the future.]

[Huh?]

[How many children should I have?]

[Ha?]

[I would like two boys and one girl.]

[What the hell are you talking about?]

No no, why are you making that kind of expression while asking things like that? And don’t tilt your head like that. This master will not fall for that.

[There are stories telling that a captive Princess will be married to a Hero who rescued her. Is it not a tradition in this world that if a Hero saves a Princess, she must get married to him?]

[You must be joking.]

[But, it’s true.]

[It’s true though?]

[Are you kidding me!?]

I was astonished because not only the Princess, the maid also said the same thing. Does such an unreasonable result actually exist? No, it wouldn’t be possible. No, but this was a different world. It may not be bound by the common sense of the original world. But then, there’s a saying “in Rome, do as the Romans do”.
Think, think. There should be only one cool answer. Think about it…!

[Alright, let’s forget that we even met here.]

[Hey, can you please act more Hero-like for once!]

[If the Hero abandons us here, Nera-sama and I will become the plaything of that cold-blooded Prince.]

[…Kuhh.]

I have to help this unfortunate Princess and take her to my wife unreasonably, and when I balanced it against the Prince who hasn’t seen her as a result of abandoning her, the balance leaned toward helping the Princess. Apart from the story of marrying Princess Kalnera, it’s a little uninteresting to feed the Crown Prince, who was famous as a devilishly handsome man. But even this Taichi, who has a wide strike zone, doesn’t really like NTR.
If you think about NTR, I feel like I’m doing it grandly, but let’s put myself on the shelf. I’m sure it’s forgiven because I didn’t realize it. No, isn’t that even worse?
Worry about the future later. I have no intention of giving up now.

[In any case, I need to talk this out with Marl. Yep, that’s it.]

[You’re just making up excuses to put things off.]

[I feel bad for the Princess.]

[Ey, shut it. Anyway, since it’s been decided, let’s get to it!]

4 thoughts on “29-sai Dokushin wa Isekai ch.66

  1. I’m glad that I can finally read the chapter featuring Princess Calunera. I’m sure that Marl and his other wives will accept Calunera as one of his wives. Hopefully Marl and Calunera will reconcile with each other. I hope that you intend to continue this series, things are getting interesting now that Calunera is back.

    Perhaps Calunera acts selfishly because she has always been compared to her sister who everyone admires, and that she couldn’t measure up to her? Taichi will probably need Calunera’s help running his new Kingdom. To be fair Marl also drugged Taichi one time when she attempted to have sex with him. I hope that you will continue to translate this series.

    Like

Leave a comment