I Was Called Incompetent ch.107

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Please consider to support us on our Patreon.
Yoroshiku onegaishimasu.

Enjoy the chapter.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 107: Border

[How is it going?]

『Great. No problem』

The voices of two men echo quietly in a dimly lit room.
But there was only one person in the room.
The comm-stone on the desk was shining a faint light, illuminating the man.

[How many?]

[15. The main body is restrained and captured. I’ve also left a reason for that. ]

[Okay. That’s fine. And…don’t worry about Fake. I’ll go see you someday.]

『Gott it』

[I’m looking forward to it. Jade…good luck.]

『Yes』

As soon as the conversation was over, the magic stones went out and the room became darker.
The man smiled in the darkness.
The world was just doing what he wanted.

[Everything is trivial… Compared to the humiliation we received… And no one has the right to stop. Because this is the will of God.]

=====

Through the woods near Celt, we headed northwest towards Greece.
It’s been a while since I’ve been riding a carriage driven by Epoli.
The carriage was on a straight road that cut through the grassland, producing a pleasant sound and little shaking that tells that the carriage was still moving.
The weather was fine. The breezy wind felt comfortable.
Because of such serenity, Levi was sleeping next to me.
She would occasionally wake up, looking at my face and letting a shy smile before returning to sleep again.

Thanks to the increased maximum number of materialized objects, I could ask Lichtwelsh to watch out for the surrounding area, whilst also raising the level of Materialization magic slowly.
You know, the monotonous work of materializing and de-materializing, rinse and repeat.
Although it’s monotone and boring, it will eventually raise the magic level and earn me a new power..
After all, using time effectively as much as possible is really important.

[Rhode, is it okay to follow the road as it is?]

When asked by Epoli, I look at the map on the wall of the carriage.
Our current location is southwest of Celt. There are several towns on the way to Greece, and at this pace we should be able to reach the nearest towns before nightfall.

[Yeah, just follow the road.]

[Understood.]

[By the way…what kind of person was Epoli’s previous owner?]

I asked her about a topic that I’ve been interested in for a while.
The owner of such a famous armament tends to also be famous, but there were some cases where there’s no way to know without asking.

[Hmm? My previous owner?]

[Yes, I’ve never heard about it.]

[Do you know the Dwarf Dáinsleif, the Greece Hero? That person was my previous owner.]

[I don’t think I’ve heard of that name before…]

[Well, He wasn’t much of a Hero. I’m sure he saved Greece, but he’s also a bloodthirsty killer. The sword he used is also in the notebook. But…..]

[But?]

[It’s a bloodthirsty sword. just like our former owner. You should be careful when you deal with it at a later date.]

[Name is?]

[Dáinsleif, which means “Dáin’s Legacy”. It’s an evil sword. But, I can guarantee its strength.]

Dáinsleif… I don’t recall that name, which means that the page isn’t shining yet.
Even so…

[An evil sword…?]

[Un, you should be careful about armaments that are classified with “Evil”, be it sword, spear, or anything. It’s strong, but there are usually risks involved. They were crafted with the power of God’s “Malice” after all.]

[That’s good to know. I’ll be careful.]

[Sure! Don’t mention it!]

Even while talking about that, the carriage drawn by Vaendymion went smoothly.
By the way, I bought some newspapers before leaving Ist, but there was no report about incompetent so far.
If Titanomachy is a group of former incompetents as I thought, it is highly possible that they are looking for incompetents to recruit them, just like they tried with me.
Titanomachy’s activities began a few years ago.
Perhaps they had been soliciting former incompetents for some time.

Even so, I was able to decline Fake’s invitation, but if I hadn’t met Levi…could I have declined?
I don’t know what I would do, but I may not have been able to resist the helping hand that was extended to me at the bottom of despair.
Even if you knew that your hands were bloody, it was the only light for the incompetents that is hated by everything.
Of course, I think what they are doing now is wrong.
However, I can understand the suffering of those former incompetents.
So… I couldn’t deny all of them.
However, I’ll do it my way…

The other thing I’m curious about is how they learn about their true magic.
There may be someone who has the power of Levi’s appraisal magic, and maybe it’s another way of distinguishing.
Well, I won’t know no matter how much I think about it now…

Then, when I was looking at Levi’s sleeping face while thinking about Titanomachy alone, I realized that the sun was setting and the area was beginning to darken.
I thought it wouldn’t be strange if I could see the town soon, and I could see the lights of the town beyond the small hill.

[Oh, I saw it.]

[Yeah, that’s the westernmost town in Celt’s territory… Gallia.]

[Hmm, from this point of view, it looks like it’s protected by the mountains.]

Illuminated by the dim light of the setting sun, the huge mountain range towered to protect the town, as she said.
Rather, it would be more correct to say that the mountain range protects the country.

[That is the Galatean Mountains, which is also known as the “Celt’s Shield”. If you cross it straight, you will enter Armenia, and if you cross it northwest, you will enter Greece territory.]

[You are heading to the town, right?]

[Of course. Let’s stay there today. Yes, why don’t Epoli eat with us?]

[Is it alright? Woohoo! I’m looking forward to it!]

[Uh…umm…ahh… Rhode-shama… is it morning already?]

[No, it’s almost nightfall, Levi…]

=====

When we reached the town’s precipice, I realized that it is a surprisingly large town.
There was a big gate at the entrance of the town, and the town was surrounded by high walls. Apparently this is a castle town.

[Maybe because Gallia is a border defense base…it was a pretty big town.]

[I didn’t know because the mountain was too big.]

[Uh… I overslept…how embarrassing…]

[Don’t worry about it, Levi…]

[Is there any other maid who is so careless…unacceptable. Unacceptable I say… Uuu…!]

[It’s okay… Epoli, go to the stables.]

Stroking the depressed Levi in her head, I gave instructions to Epoli, and after depositing the carriage, we showed our adventurer’s guild card to the gatekeeper and entered Gallia.
I felt a profound atmosphere from the townscape made of stone bricks, and there was a castle, though not large, in front of it when I entered from the gate.
The castle at the end of the main street that extends straight from the gate is also made of stone bricks. It looks small but sturdy.
The main street was lined with many shops illuminated by the torchlight, and it was quite lively due to the fact that it was dinner time.

[There are quite a few people. It’s a pretty lively town.]

[That’s right. Well, first of all, should we look for an inn?]

[Leave it to me!]

[Oh, hey…so fast!]

[I’m really worried. I’m desperate to recover.]

[Levi is proud of the maid profession…oh, she’s back.]

Guided by Levi, we entered an inn along the main street.
After getting a room and stashing our luggage, we went out to the main street again and looked for a restaurant this time.

[Nice smell…..]

[Go ahead and choose, Epoli.]

[Can !? Then I will not hesitate!]

[Fufu… Epoli-sama is adorable.]

Finally, Levi’s smile returned.
I’m glad that Epoli was there. She brightens the atmosphere of the place.

[Uh… this is good…it’s hard to choose!]

[You can choose slowly. Oh, how about I materialize one more armament. Maybe someone we haven’t met yet.]

[Oh, that’s a good idea. Let’s say hello.]

[Who should I be…]

[Oh, then I want it to be this one.]

With that said, Epoli flipped through the notebook and pointed to a certain page.
this one is…..

[Are you two acquainted?]

[In the notebook. It’s a good kid.]

So, is it a boy or a girl?
But since Epoli vouched for it, let’s just go with it.
We moved to the back alley and I cast my materialization magic.

[Come out… Gram]

I slowly grasped the white handle and pulled it out from the notebook to reveal a white sword.

[What? This is…]

[Well…you’ll understand once you materialize it.]

Prompted by Epoli, I cast materialization magic on Gram, even though I had doubts.
The big sword changed its appearance instantly, and a familiar woman appeared on the spot with a white light.

[I knew it…she looks just like Balmung.]

One thought on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.107

Leave a comment