I Was Called Incompetent ch.108

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Enjoy the chapter~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 108: Gram

It can be said that everything from the hairstyle to the face, armor and sword shape are exactly the same.
The only difference is the color.
Gram’s hair is white and her eyes are blue.
Her armor is also dominated by white. While Balmung had a black armor with gold linings, Gram’s white armor had silver linings instead.
After bowing politely, she smiled at me.

[Danke for gifing me a body. My name ist Gram. Nice to meet you, Rhode-kun.]

[Nice to meet you too, Gram. Could it be that you…]

[Yes. You guessed korrectly, I’m like Balmung’s sister, so it’s natural zat vee look fery similar.]

[Is that so? But you look exactly the sa…]

[Gram-sama, my name is Levi. Nice to meet you.]

[Gram! I’m glad to finally meet you in person!]

[Danke, Levi. Ufufu … Danke, Epoli. I’m happy too.]

When Epoli hugged Gram, the two laughed happily.

=====

Gram –  Dragon Sealing Sword

A legendary sword created by God.

As the name indicates, it has the power to seal all the dragon’s abilities.
Therefore, the tough scales, fangs, and even the dragon’s breath are powerless in front of this Gram.

However, there is also a weakness that if its ability is overused, the sword will break, rendering it unusable for a while.

Rank: 【SSS】
Ability: 【SS】

=====

We went back to the main street from the back alley and we talked to Gram while looking at Epoli, who was happy to choose a store.

[Balmung vas kreated based on me. I’m better at veakenink drachen, but she ees better at killink  them zan I do. Be kareful ven using me.]

[Got it. But you really look like Balmung.]

[Fufu, my proud sister. Someday, please kall the two of us at ze same time.]

[Oh, I’ll do that.]

[I decided! I chose this one here!]

Epoli, who called us with a cheerful voice, was pointing at one store.
It looked like a popular dining spot, but… it’s quite crowded.

[By the way, here?]

[There are so many menus here that you can eat a lot!]

[I see. Alright, let’s go here.]

The store was full of customers, and it seemed that there were many adventurers among them judging from the outfits.
Although it was still on the edge of the territory, Celt is really popular with adventurers.

[Welcome! How many people?]

The voice of a woman with a loud voice echoes.
A number of delicious dishes were baked on a large iron plate.
She used the spatula in her hand to roll the meat and cook noodle dishes without any hassle.

[Oh, it’s for four people. Are there seats available?]

[Yes! Wait a minute! Danny! Don’t leave those drunkards there! Get them outside because it’s a mess!]

[Ah! Be right ‘ere!]

A giant of a man called Danny carried two adventurers lying down on his desk and carried them out of the store then rolled them to the side of the store entrance.

[Please wait! Please!]

[Ah, yes! I’m sorry…]

[Don’t worry because it’s the usual thing! Danny! Ready up table No. 5!]

[Aiyo! Sorry, customer. The water is over there, take it as you want. Once you decide on the order, call me!]

[Refill for the liquor!]

[Aiyo! Take it a bit slowly, will ya?]

Even if the customer was thrown out, the other customers did not seem to care at all. Apparently, it was the usual sight.
This kind of atmosphere… It’s the first time for me, but it’s fun.
When I got to my seat, Epoli immediately started checking out the menu.

[Kuh, I can’t decide…]

[Epoli can choose our portion. Let’s eat it together.]

[Really !? Then this and…this is also… oh, and this…]

[I dare you say it again!]

Silence wrapped the store right at that moment.
It was supposed to be in the midst of the hustle and bustle, but everyone was reacting to the murderous voice.
The man who had shouted that loud cry was glaring bloodshot at a petite person wearing a hood.
The man had already stood up and showed a sign that he was about to pull out the club hanging from his waist.

[I’m sick of your bragging… there, do I need to repeat it again?]

The person wearing the hood answered so while still sitting down.
I couldn’t see their face from where we were, but the person’s voice sounded feminine.

[Youuu! …don’t think I’m going to be lenient just because you have a nice face! Do you know who I am…  the S-rank adventurer Zazan-sama!]

When he gave his name, the surrounding crowd began to buzz.
Then, I could hear the voices of other adventurers from the seats around you.

[Zazan… who?]

[Oh, it’s “Zazan the Mantis”. He’s known to have a rough temperament from the beginning, but… it’s even worse when he’s drunk. That girl is unfortunate to be involved… too bad.]

Is that so?
Even so, it’s a terrible atmosphere…

[Zazan? I don’t know you. I’m not interested in you and I have to ask you to scram. So noisy.]

She said so calmly and continued to eat as if nothing had happened.
The man who introduced himself as Zazan was trembling with anger at the words thrown at him.

[Haha… this Zazan-sama was also offended. You’re not misunderstanding anything? I happened to call out to you because you were looking at me. From the beginning … ]

[…What did you do now?]

Suddenly, her voice and tone changed.
At the same time, it felt like the inside of the store suddenly became hot…..

[…eh?]

[Your voice is so grating in my ears. I’ll just say it once more… I’m asking you to scram, insect.]

[Rhode-sama, that person…]

[Did you see ‘it’?]

[Yes… that guy will not meet a good end at this rate.]

Zazan had already pulled out the iron club that was hanging on his waist, and was laughing eerily while his cheeks were squeezed.
Apparently, he’s too drunk to stop now.

[It’s fine… I’ll say this one more time. I’m not interested in your underdeveloped little girl body.]

Giving in to anger, Zazan swung down the iron club.
But—–

[Wow!?]

The club was dyed red as if it had been heated by something and melted  instantly.
When Zazan hurriedly let go of the handle, the melted iron fell on the cobblestone floor, causing it to release smoke.
When the young girl stood up, the hood of the blue robe she was wearing came off, revealing her young face and light blue hair.

[W-what…!?]

[Go die!]

[Aegis!]

I broke in between and caught something she released with Aegis.
However, I couldn’t take the shock from the strike that I was blown out of the store together with Zazan.

[Gut!]

Zazan’s body became a cushion and I was unharmed. But he fainted, perhaps because his head hit something along the way.
When I got up in a hurry and looked at the store, I saw the girl approaching while swaying.
She came right in front of me, glaring at me with a terrible appearance while tilting her head.

[Who are you? His friend?]

Uh… how powerful she is despite her small stature…
I couldn’t tell if it’s her fighting spirit or magical power, but her outline was shaking like a heat haze.

[No, no, I’m not. But… just calm down…]

[Ha!? You shouldn’t barge in on a quarrel between people! Or else… be prepared to get caught in the crossfire, shithead…!]

[Luka, stop!]

The voice stopped her movements.
After all this person…..

[Oh, mom…]

[Good grief… I know you were provoked, but that’s not the proper way to act! Your SSS rank title is crying!]

[Uh… because that bastard…!]

[Don’t be a sloppy adult! Really… you haven’t grown up at all. Why don’t you thank that child? Thanks to him nobody got hurt due to your tantrum again!]

[Eeee! Y-yes…]

Huh, was it saved…..?

[Are you okay? Although it wasn’t serious, you seem quite alright after being attacked by Luka.]

[Well, somehow… Thanks to you, I was saved.]

[Ahhh! I’m glad you are okay. I’m sorry… You seem to be quite good. Luka, go apologize to him now!]

[I-I’m sorry…]

[Oh, no no…]

It’s like she became a completely different person as she sighed and dropped her shoulders.
Apparently, the rumors were true.
It is said that she’s easily angered… The “Fairy of Explosion” SSS rank adventurer Lucaruluka.
I’ve heard that she’s causing problems here and there…

[Fortunately, this happened at my store. Otherwise, the whole store might explode! Ahaha!]

=====

TL note: I gave Gram a similar german accent as I did with Balmung as in this story, they’re apparently sister weapons. 

IN THE ACTUAL MYTHOLOGY, both were actually the same sword. Gram is how it is called in the Norse mythology version, the Volsunga saga. While Balmung is how the sword was called in the German version, Der Nibelunge liet (Song of the Nibelungs). The sword is also known as Nothung in yet another German version, Der Ring des Nibelungen (The Ring of the Nibelung)

One thought on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.108

Leave a comment