I Was Called Incompetent ch.109

Weekly chapters (2/2)

Please consider to support us on our Patreon.
All of the donation will be returned to you as Patron chapter.
Onegaishimasu.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 109: Sacred Mountain

[I’m sorry to disturb you… Please eat as much as you like.]

[Let’s eat!]

Lucaruluka-san treated us a meal as both a thank you and apology.
Although I refused several times, I gave up when her eyes became sharper and decided to accept her favor.
Honestly, I was scared.

The state of the store has completely returned to its original state, and it has become noisy again as if nothing had happened earlier.
However, I wondered if Luka, an SSS rank adventurer, was worried, as everyone was glancing at this while eating.
By the way, Zazan was carried to the inn by Danny-san before he woke up.
It would have been troublesome again if he woke up and I’m relieved for the time being.

[Good! This is good!]

[Indeed… it’s delicious. It’s great to be able to eat.]

Epoli and Gram were happily eating food.
It was a little until I got there, but… well, I’m glad that the two of us were happy.

[Hmm, helishious… ngu… By the way, why is Lucaruluka-sama hiding her face here?]

[Oh, just Luka is fine. Umm… I was hiding my face because I’m quite well known. It’s to avoid unnecessary troubles, but… Aha…]

Luka looks into the distance with sad eyes.
It seems that this person is also having a lot of trouble in her own way …….

[And that’s why I’m here, simply because I got a request.]

[Eh? Here is a request that Luka of SSS rank will receive…?]

It means that something quite bad is happening…..

[Ah, no. Actually, here… it’s my hometown. I’ve been greatly indebted to the city’s lord since I was little and I was asked to help personally. The request was for SSS rank. I don’t know what it is all about, but I should still come to aid the lord…]

[I see. That’s understandable]

[That… by the way, have I asked for your name yet?]

[Oh, I’m sorry! I haven’t introduced myself yet… I’m Rhode Irvine. This is Levi. Over there are Epoli and Gram.]

When I gave my name, Luka put her hand on her chin and tilted her head.

[Rhode-san…? I feel like I’ve heard of your name somewhere…]

[Oh, so you are that Rhode! You have done a great service to Orlando-sama. Thank you!]

Mother lined up the dishes on the desk while saying so.

[Oh no, no … it’s just a coincidence.]

[Mom… what does that mean?]

[Don’t you know Luka…? Orlando-sama had a magic syndrome, but this Rhode here cured it. He’s a big benefactor of the country.]

[Eh!? I-I didn’t know…]

[Read some newspapers from time to timr! You cannot act like a kid forever.]

[I-I know…]

By the way, Asna’s name was not mentioned in the newspaper. Just that an incompetent in Celt was executed.
Other than that, it was only reported that the King of Celt was ill.
However, even if a gag order is placed, it is probably not perfect.
I don’t know if Fake knew that because he was there or if he heard from someone.

That… wait.
Then why did they aim only at me?
If they knew what happened in Celt, they should know about Asna’s existence …….
Or maybe, they were there to help Asna…that is, because they thought she’s an incompetent. But, they somehow learned that Asna had no magic so they stopped…?
After all, they may have power like Levi.
There is a possibility that they’re only interested in pure incompetents rather than those who had their magic robbed… hmm…

[Now that I think about it… I remembered. The rookie that Ban-san mentioned was you. I see…]

[Wait, Ban-san mentioned me?]

[Yes. All the SSS ranks gathered at the Olympus meeting. At that time, your story came out. There is only one adventurer who had risen from the rookie to S rank this year. I’m fairly convinced now that it’s not a fluke.]

[O-oh, thank you. I haven’t done that much…]

[You don’t have to be humble. Now here. Why are you here?]

[Well, it’s like training… I’m still an inexperienced person.]

[Hmm… I see. Training?]

[If so, why don’t you follow Luka’s request? It’s still an SSS rank even if it’s like this. Isn’t it helpful?]

[Thi-this is like…]

The request Luka-san accepted?
Certainly, if we follow the SSS rank adventurer, it may prove to be helpful.
We’re not in a rush anyway…

[Ah, but is Luka-san alright with that?]

[Of course I don’t mind if you guys are alright. Rather, I’m thankful.]

The power that climbed to the top of the adventurer at a young age… I want to see it up close.
I’m sure you have various experiences and this is also an opportunity.

[Then, please do.]

[Okay, so come to the town entrance early tomorrow morning. There’s a destination a little further away so let’s talk about the details on the move.]

[I understand.]

[Then, let’s be merry tonight! Come on, let’s eat!]

=====

The next morning, when we arrived at the entrance to the town, Luka-san was already standing there.

[Good morning, Luka-san.]

[Good morning, Luca-sama. Thank you for your patience.]

[No, I’m just here. Eh? Where are the other two?]

[Oh, those two are my magic… I’ll explain the rest while walking.]

[Okay, got it. Let’s go.]

While it was still dim, we started moving following Luka-san.
It was said that the carriage would get in the way so we had to walk to the destination.

[I see… I heard it for the first time. Sounds like a very useful magic.]

I don’t think I need to hide it now, and I thought that Luka-san was a reliable person so I talked about my Materialization magic openly.

[Yes, though I haven’t mastered it completely…]

[It’s good to have aspirations. Well, I don’t know if my fighting style will be helpful. Oh, do you know of my power?]

After returning to the inn, I heard from Levi about Luka-san’s power.
Her small body is actually packed with tremendous magic and magical power… That’s probably why she’s able to reach the SSS-rank.

[Yes, I know.]

[If so, I don’t need an explanation. Let’s explain the contents of the request.]

According to Luka-san, some abnormalities have occurred in Gallia over the past few weeks.
It is that the adventurers who went out on the request are missing one after another.
Moreover, it is said that all the adventurers who have disappeared are excellent adventurers of A rank or higher.
Even the SS-rank adventurer who went to search for them did not come back and the troubled lord of Gallia asked Luka, who is his long acquaintance, for help.

[We only know the adventurers who have disappeared and there were 15 people, divided in 4 groups. We know the approximate position from the request we received, and we already know where the SS rank adventurers are heading.]

[15 people… that’s a lot.]

[Yes. It’s usually not possible from the request I received. I will clarify what it is: remove the threat and rescue the adventurers… That is the content of this request. Well… No, I went anyway. Let’s proceed.]

If they are alive…?
Luka was confused, but that’s probably the case.

[Luka-sama, by the way, where is it?]

[Now we can’t see it because of the morning mist, the sacred mountain Kufu is on the south side of the Galatia Mountain range… All the adventurers heading for that mountain had disappeared. Of course, SS-rank adventurers too. So what is going on in that mountain? There is no doubt that something is afoot. ]

[What on earth is there… Do you have a clue?]

[Two famous monsters or dragons are influential. They accumulate power in secret. The sacred mountain is a perfect place to hide.]

[Why is that?]

[The local people rarely go there. I mean, it’s a sacred mountain… they say it’s haunted.]

[… Ah, what do you mean by haunted?]

[Fufufu…]

The way she laughed gave me the creeps.
I-is it really haunted…..?
Then, Levi held my hand tightly.
When I saw her, she looked like she was about to cry.
Levi… so you’re not good with that.

[Well, that’s just a rumor. Locals don’t get close to it, but there’s a Kufu endemic herb that grows in the mountains, and the adventurer goes to pick it up for requests. That has been around for a long time. ]

[Then this time too?]

[Yes, that’s right. Let’s go there first.]

Missing adventurers… I hope we can find them…

One thought on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.109

Leave a comment