I Was Called Incompetent ch.111

Weekly chapters (2/2)

Please consider to support us on our Patreon.
All of the donation will be returned to you as Patron chapter.
Onegaishimasu.

New chapter for GGC and Glutton Berserker should be ready next week.
Look forward for them.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Chapter 111 – Shadow

[Oh, that’s amazing…]

[I will not be left behind…no…not this time.]

When I looked around when she said that, I understood what she meant.
Levi slipped through the dragons one after another and wrapped the chains she created with magic.
One dragon after another got bogged down, and the chains tightened more and more as they moved against each other.
Gram decapitated the subdued dragons one by one.
Those that managed to escape the binding chains were suppressed by Laevatein’s fire. Anytime they tried to use their breath attack, she would thwart it with a fire barrier.
This should be the first time we fight together, but this kind of teamwork is…

[Good move. I know how I should move. It seems that there are more occasions than the last time.]

Before I knew it, Luka-san’s tone had returned to normal.
Does that mean she already considers the fight as good as over already?

[Yes…]

[ Fufu… You don’t have to be depressed like that. I was glancing at it, but the rest is a matter of experience. Well and…]

[!… Ascalon!]

I cut the wyvern that leaped from the sky into crosses with my silver and gold decorated sword.

=====

Ascalon Holy Dragon Sword

A legendary sword with holy power.

It accumulates power with each dragon it slays and, by releasing the accumulated power, the blade can inherit the characteristic of the breath attack of the defeated dragon.

When slashing a dragon, there is a restriction that it must be cut in a cross shape, otherwise the blade will be damaged.

Rank: [SS]
Ability: [SS]

=====

[Yeah, that’s a good reaction. It’s important to have a broad perspective like you have now. As you gain experience, your hesitation will eventually disappear, and your body will understand it on its own.]

[Yes!]

[Well, it seems to be the end.]

Gram’s white blade tears apart the last remaining Andragora before it could use its lightning breath.
Behind them, Laevateinn’s sword was shining red.

[This is the end…!]

When Laevatein thrust forth her crimson sword, a flash-like flame shot out, instantly piercing the  Andragora with flames bursting on the ground behind it.
The Andragora fell to the ground without even having a chance to let out a death cry and the sacred mountain finally regained its silence.
In the open space, the corpses of dragons piled up in layers and it can be seen that there were at least 20 of them.

[Rhode-sama, what about your body!?]

After finishing the fight, Levi rushes over to me.

[I’m fine. I’m sorry for worrying you.]

[No, I’m glad Rhode-sama is safe…]

[Thank you, Laevateinn and Gram.]

[Fufu…..Please call me again.]

[Call me any time.]

[Thank you. See you later.]

I removed the magical power from the two of them and returned them to the notebook.
Hmm?
On the cover of the notebook… is it a scratch?
I wonder when it got there…

[Rhode-sama, pardon me, but these dragons…]

[Huh? Ah, ah…it’s no good…]

If they had been eaten recently, we could have still saved them immediately. But it’s probably been a while since that happened.

[Unfortunately, the results weren’t good. But this is also the fate of adventurers. At least we have exacted revenge for them. Their souls should be…]

Luka looks up at the sky with sad eyes.
A rain water dropped on her cheek, giving an illusion that she had shed a tear.

=====

When we returned to the entrance of Gallia by Tieren’s ability, it was starting to rain here as well.
We evacuated inside the gate at the entrance of the town and Levi and I wiped off the rain from our bodies.

[Well, thank you for your cooperation. I will go on to report to the town lord. What about you?]

[Thank you very much. I feel like I know what I’m missing. We are going to Greece. Please convey my regards to Innkeeper-san.]

[Is that so? I’ve also linked the comm stone so please contact me if you have any other questions. One last thing… Having a wide field of vision is not limited to the battlefield. Don’t forget that. See you…..]

[Eh, no, it’s raining…]

Luka-san waded through the pouring rain, but her body was not wet at all.

[Fufufu… Look up.]

[Ahh…]

When I looked in the direction Luka-san was pointing at, I saw white smoke rising slightly above her.
She’s using magic to evaporate the rain…
Come to think of it, Luka-san was the only one who wasn’t wet just now.

[This is what it’s all about…]

[Yes. Then it’s fine, I know I’m not the kind of person who can be bossy, but… it’s important to cultivate the ability to think on a regular basis. If you can move your body without thinking before long… you’ll be fine.]

[yes…!]

[Then… until next time.]

=====

『I see… as expected…』

[Yeah, I think the dragons are approaching.]

In the pouring rain, the carriage, with Epoli holding the reins, climbed the mountain road with ease.
I contacted the King of Celt and reported the incident at the sacred mountain.

『Thank you for the report, Rhode. We will contact Armenia and Greece. Even so… I want to avoid being attacked by the dragons right now.』

[Your Majesty, what is the situation in the north?]

『The stalemate continues as usual, but I can’t predict what will trigger it. After all, just like what Windham said, Rhea might be enjoying herself.』

[Does your Majesty feel the same way?]

『Umu, when I look at their movements… I think that the front lines are changing very quickly and the occasional night attack is just a prank. But each time, it’ll cause us to break a cold sweat. It’s almost like a child playing Cliquetic.』

Cliquetics… A traditional tactical game originated from Celt?
Mountains, rivers, forests, grasslands and other landmarks are drawn on a three-dimensional board and the one who becomes King uses soldiers, knights, and magic to take down the opponent’s castle to win.
Although it is now enjoyed all over the world… this tactical game is surprisingly deep, and it is said that strategists from all over the world frequently play Cliquetics to hone their mind. 

[Like a child playing the game…?]

『Indeed. Not moving because you don’t want to break the beautiful formation or waiting for the opponent to move because you don’t know how to break the opponent’s formation… Maybe you’re doing it on purpose, but it’s too childish. But well, on the actual battlefield, it’s scary because the enemy will have a hard time figuring out what you’re thinking. I don’t mind if it buys me time, but my lifespan is shortened every time.』

[I don’t quite understand…]

『Maybe they have some other purpose… Anyway, right now I have no choice but to believe that Ban and the others will do well. Oops… it’s almost time for the meeting. Until next time, Rhode. Let me know if there’s anything else.』

[Understood. Excuse me.]

A child… huh?
In that sense, the word “God’s child” that Fake mentioned before came to mind.

[Hmm…]

[There is too little information and the situation is too complicated. Rhea, Titanomachy, dragons…it’s hard to keep up with all that.]

[If it keeps going like this… Well, what I’m doing now won’t change. I’ll go to Greece and meet Sieg-san. I’ll start from there.]

[Right. Sieg-sama’s place is close to Armenia, and if something happens, we may be able to deal with it.]

[I have to be strong for that.]

Come to think of it, when I talked to Ban-san over the communication magic stone after helping Asna in Celt, he said that he was in Greece, which is closer to Armenia.

Perhaps he went to meet Sieg-san at that time.
Ban-san’s master… What kind of person is Sieg-san, the former hero?
The only information I know is that he was strong.
I’m strong too…

[Rhode-sama]

[Hmm?]

[Don’t be impatient and broaden your horizons…right?]

Levi smiled while saying so.
I’m no match for you.

[Yeah… that’s right.]

[Yes, that’s right]

The carriage rushed towards the Greek territory beyond the heavy rain.

=====

A few days after Rhode and company subjugated the dragon.
The Royal Capital of Armenia, which received the report from Celt, was on even higher alert than before.
Perhaps because of this, the Caucasus Square, which used to be crowded with stalls at night, is no longer as lively as it used to be.
Some of the citizens began to migrate to other countries out of fear of being attacked by dragons.
However, the majority of citizens choose to stay in Armenia despite their concerns.
There were various reasons why the people chose to do so. But above all, the main reason was that they could not abandon their beloved homeland.

In order to repay the people’s feelings, Mariana and Neil put all their efforts into defending the country.
Securing evacuation routes in the event of an emergency and deploying innovative anti-air weapons that have been created for some time.
In addition, in cooperation with the Prime Minister, she negotiated with Greece and Celts, and obtained a promise to cooperate in the defense of areas other than the Royal Capital.
In addition, she hired adventurers for a considerable amount of money and took all possible measures such as stationing them in Armenia, desperately trying to protect the country somehow.
The citizens of Armenia also understood the efforts of the Dragon Slayer Commander Miliana and the Guard Commander Neil to protect their country, and the hearts of the people who remained in Armenia were now united.

Except for one, the King of Armenia, who has no interest in such things.
He was still torturing her today.
That’s why he didn’t notice the dark shadow that quietly lurks.

One thought on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.111

Leave a comment