29-sai Dokushin wa Isekai ch.68

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Here is the new update for 29-sai chapters.

Enjoy~

Chapter 68 – ~I quickly『Negotiated』~

[Now then, shall we begin the『Negotiation』?]

Due to the magic cast by the mages of the Kingdom of Gobbel, the audience hall became dusty, so I, King Leonard, the king of the Kingdom of Gobbel, and some of the senior vassals moved to a different location for negotiations.
This other room was located near the audience room. Originally, it was supposed to be a high-class conference room where only the King and a limited number of senior vassals could hold meetings. Certainly, the furniture, including this ebony table, has a calm color and taste, and the air conditioning is working well, showing that the room itself has some kind of workmanship. If I decide to create a similar conference room in the future, I will use this as a great reference.

[Negotiation, huh. I don’t think it will be a negotiation.]

[Of course. I also wanted to build a relationship a little more peacefully. This is also a coincidence.]

I shrugged my shoulders and responded to King Leonard’s words.
In the first place, my relationship with Marl was decided from the moment I met Marl in the town of Crossroads. Even Tina ended up marrying me… Well, considering the reaction of the Micronia Royal family to Crown Prince Melqis, I can’t say it’s all my fault?
Now that I think about it, Prince Melqis was hated not only by Marl, but by the other members of the Royal family as well. In the first place, wasn’t Marl running away because she didn’t want to marry Crown Prince Melqis?
Well, what will happen if I repeat the story here?

[I don’t need many words at this stage. Let me hear your demands.]

[Then, shall I ask the Kingdom of Gobbel to show me total allegiance? As proof of that, I will ask Nobles from all over the country to present a Princess one by one. If there is no unmarried Princess of your age, we will ask the head of the family, or the spouse of the next head of the family, to present the youngest and most beautiful.]

The senior vassals and the secretary, who was responsible for putting the discussion into writing, gasped and froze at the conditions I presented with a grin.

[Taichi-dono, don’t bully me too much. Little guys have small livers.]

However, King Leonard was completely unmoved and only gave a wry smile. This old man is pretty determined. You seem to see through what I’m not saying seriously?

[I just made a Demon King-like request in line with your expectations, didn’t I? Your son told me so too.]

[No matter how great our King is, people can’t open the door. As a country, we can officially promise that Taichi-dono will not be called a demon lord.]

[Well, I don’t care what you call me. I have no intention of making any heinous demands. I didn’t want to start a fruitless fight, so I came to stop you.]

[Is it a fruitless fight?]

Muttering that, King Leonard gave a wry smile.

[Yes, it’s a very fruitless fight for me. It’s bad for you, who value honor, pride and face above all else.]

Even in the Kingdom of Gobbel, the Crown Prince’s fiancée was stolen twice, and on top of that, the Centaurs, who were the opponents of the civil war, were taken away from his own country, and at that time, the Royal soldiers were injured, and even the Royal castle was destroyed. I was completely falsely accused of being attacked, so it would affect my prestige to sleep in here.
In that case, the Gobbel Kingdom will not be safe from now on. I don’t think anyone would want to obey a leader who doesn’t fight back even after being beaten up.
Oh? Actually, isn’t this guy weak? Thinking that, there may be someone who tries to take the place of the leader, and if this person is more suitable for the leader, the group may split up.
Whether it’s a country, a King, or a noble, in the end humans are just humans.

[Honestly, starting a war now would be a problem for us. It’s a pity the time and effort you put into it.]

[Isn’t it as if you’re talking like we can’t win the fight from the beginning? Aren’t you a little overconfident in your own power?]

I sighed deeply at the words of the senior vassal who spoke from the side, perhaps because I couldn’t stand it anymore. It’s decided that it won’t be a match.
Let’s say that even in the Gobbel Kingdom, there is a Hero who possesses high fighting power. Well, I think there are actually some. However, it is estimated that its strength is not so high. At the very least, there’s probably no one on the same level as me. If there were, the centaurs would have been annihilated long ago, and the Crown Prince shouldn’t have had to rely on guns.
Come to think of it, I think it was said that the hero shouldn’t participate in conflicts between nations. Is it okay for me to be the head of state itself? Nobody pointed this out.
Well, anyway, if I’m going to hurt the Gobbel Kingdom, there’s absolutely no need to fight head-on. I can fly around at high speed, or while teleporting, destroy large highways, mines, water sources, and ports. That alone should be enough to corner the Gobbel Kingdom.
On the other hand, the only place I should protect is Clover, the fief’s capital in the middle of the Great Sea of ​​Trees, which is a natural fortress. Of course, the Arachnean village, the riverkin’s living area, and the Oni’s village are also subject to defense, but since they are far from the territorial capital, the possibility of them becoming attack targets is extremely low.
Or rather, the Kingdom of Gobbel should not even know the exact location of Clover, the capital. While investigating the position, I can see that I will trample the territory of the Gobbel Kingdom and end it.
I can think of any number of unforeseen circumstances, but even so, the speed at which I could kill Gobbel Kingdom should be faster.
Even so. Apparently, while talking politely, these guys forgot their position.

[As I said at the beginning, I have no intention of negotiating. This place is just for me to make a request and you just accept it. huh?]

[Dirk, stop it. I want Taichi-dono to put the spear away, too.]

[But, Your Majesty!]

[I’m telling you to stop. Leave this to me.]

King Leonard reprimanded the irritated senior vassal and turned to face me.

[Let’s accept Taichi-dono’s request. Stop Melqis’s planned invasion by Royal Order.]

[That’s just a stroke of luck. And while I’m at it, I’ll also let the Crown Prince’s eyes go out.]

[Crush your eyes…? What do you mean?]

King Leonard gives a dubious expression. It doesn’t seem to take it literally, but it’s what it means.

[That’s exactly what it means. Melqis’s eyes are demonic eyes. That’s also the kind of evil eye that controls people’s hearts. I can’t sleep at night when I think about that kind of thing being directed at my wife and acquaintances. I don’t have it. Let me crush it.]

[Do you think you can accept such a condition? He is my successor.]

[If he inherits the throne from you, he will be the next King. Originally, it would be wiser to kill him now. I’m already really lenient there. Isn’t it a good deal?]

My mouth loosened involuntarily. It feels good to one-sidedly impose unreasonable demands from a higher position! As far as I’m concerned. I don’t think there are many people who can do it.

[I can’t accept that condition. If we listen to Taichi-dono’s request and steal the light from the Crown Prince, the authority of the royal family will be lost. If that happens, we will definitely not be able to maintain the body of the country. The country will be divided. Does Taichi-dono also want our country to become a lawless area? If our land becomes devastated, it will affect the Kingdom of Karendil and the Kingdom of Miscronia. You won’t be able to do ‘Trade’.]

[I see. But both the Kingdom of Karendil and the Kingdom of Miscronia have leeway in the strength they have prepared in preparation for the “Great Flood”. If that happens, won’t the territory be cut off as much as you want? ]

[Maybe so. But the chaos will last for more than ten years. The resentment that builds up until the chaos is completely settled will cause a big disaster. Is that the future you want, Taichi-dono?]

[Unfortunately, I’m a small man who’s only happy as far as my eyes can see.]

It seems that he is trying to expand the topic and shift the point of discussion, but that is not the case. I know what I want. All I want is my family and the safety and well-being of those I’m trying to care for. Ultimate theory, anything else is fine. I know how high it is within my reach.
As if he was examining my words, King Leonard remained silent, stroking his chin and pondering. After thinking for a while, I opened my mouth.

[While I am on the throne, in my name, I promise that he will not interfere with Taichi-dono and his family. So, I wonder if you can beat me by hand? ]

[Isn’t it much cheaper?]

[That’s what Taichi-dono is worried about. The reason why Taichi-dono took a big turn this time is probably because he tried to show his fangs against Taichi-dono’s family and the people of the territory. His light. The reason why you want it to be sealed is to prevent him from doing something with malice toward Taichi-dono and the others in the future. In that case, shouldn’t I guarantee that?]

[Don’t mess with me. Do you think I can trust that your decree alone will guarantee my family’s safety and him from not doing ridiculous things?]

[Yes. Trust me, the King of the Gobbel Kingdom.]

King Leonard boldly said so while receiving my suspicion-filled gaze. His style is that of a majestic King. I don’t know where this confidence comes from, okay.
Should I refuse to accept this offer or not?
Well, it was within my expectations that he wouldn’t agree with blinding or killing the Crown Prince. It’s easy to use force to kill him, but if that happens, the Gobbel Kingdom will be completely turned into an enemy.
If the entire Royal castle were torn apart and turned into a vacant lot, there wouldn’t be much of a fuss about me. It’s not necessarily the only one who has the right to succeed to the throne in this castle, so if that happens, we may enter an era of rivalry. Otherwise, domestic security will deteriorate at once.
If that happens, it is impossible to predict what kind of movement will occur in the Kingdom of Karendil and the Kingdom of Miscronia. Like I said, they may head towards cutting off the territory of the Gobbel Kingdom, or they may be ready to accept refugees.
In any case, if I destroy the Gobbel Kingdom with my power, it is certain that there will be forces in both the Karendil Kingdom and the Miscronia Kingdom who will regard me as a danger. It’s possible to suppress it with force, but I feel like I can see a future where I can see the bottomless quagmire of continuing to crush opposing forces with force.
King Leonard promised to keep Melqis in check.
Will this be enough for the result of overdoing it and going on a rampage in the Gobbel Kingdom? I feel like it’s not enough, but it’s not good to be too greedy.

[…King Leonard will block the Crown Prince and other Nobles from acting hostile to us in his name. Of course, the Kingdom of Gobbel will not take any hostile action against us. I know that there is a problem that I will solve using everything with my power.]

[That’s a wise decision. Then the document—]

[You don’t need to. King Leonard, I believe in your status as a King who received my gaze with majesty. It’s a relationship between me and the King who trust each other, because we have a firm trust in each other. I don’t care if it’s just a verbal promise. It would be so? ]

Saying that, I smiled.
I have no intention of playing with words on the written word. If you break this verbal promise, that’s fine. As for the magic eye, I should prepare a magic tool that can act as a countermeasure.

[As for if this promise is broken. Well, of course I’m sure that won’t happen. But if it is broken, then…… Promising mines may become vacant land, beautiful main roads may be shredded, well-maintained harbors may become dangerous seas full of reefs, or a nobleman may disappear entirely overnight.]

[Are you threatening me?]

[Both of us will be happy as long as you don’t break your promise.]

I shrugged my shoulders and answered King Leonard who was looking at me with one eyebrow raised. Is this a place to drop off? There was no coercion, but there would have been enough threats.

4 thoughts on “29-sai Dokushin wa Isekai ch.68

    1. Isn’t it a little overconfident in your own power?
      * Isn’t —> Aren’t

      I know that there is a problem that I will solve everything with my power.
      * solve using everything in my power.

      Like

Leave a comment