I Was Called Incompetent ch.118

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Please consider to support us on our Patreon.
All of the donation will be returned to you as Patron chapter.
Onegaishimasu.

Enjoy the chapter~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 118 : Causality

[My heavy blow…!]

[It’s been a long time since I felt pain…!]

Sieg’s skill was called “Combat Enhancement”.
It is basically similar to any other physical strengthening abilities, but this one can only activate during battle as it strengthens all parameters to achieve victory.
In addition to simple muscle strengthening, the skin and bones are strengthened to the point where it’s as durable as steel to withstand attacks. It is also said that it can demonstrate power beyond the limits of humans, such as gaining amazing reflexes and speed.
He has won all his battles so far by possessing two powerful powers, the causality magic and this combat enhancement.
That’s why, Sieg was once known as the “God of Battle, Hero Sieg”.

[Uwoooo!]

[Nuu!]

Sieg bounced the club back, pushing Heracles’ huge body in the process.
He then tried to attack Heracles, but was intercepted by the approaching Rhode at a lightning speed, forcing him to use the causality magic again.
The scorching spear slipped through Sieg’s body and pierced empty air, while Rhode ran between the two and took some distance.

[Kuh…!]

[Don’t be hasty.]

In fact, at this time Fragarach was also catching Sieg from behind, but just like Brionac, it slipped past Sieg without hitting him.
Rhode, who felt that Sieg had not noticed Arondight and Fragarach, speculated that causality magic does not require targets, but that Sieg himself was excluded from all causality.

[Ha!]

[Nuraaa!]

Rhode attacked from Sieg’s right, and Heracles attacked from the left.
The next thing Rhode wants to know is the interval at which causality magic can be used.
A few seconds after dodging Brionac and Fragarach, Sieg blocked each attack with his arms without using magic.
As the tremendous shock wave spreaded around again, Fragarach approaching from behind Sieg turned into a red flash.

[Don’t rely only on your eyes.]

Fragarach missed once more due to a timely usage of causality magic, while Rhode and Heracles, losing their target, lost their balance.

[Kuh!]

[Nooh!]

Kicking off the unbalanced Rhode and Hercules, Sieg grinned in front of the two kneeling figures.

[Are you done? Both of you?]

[…no.]

Based on the current situation, Rhode guessed that the duration would be about 3 seconds, and the interval between uses would be about 5 seconds.
In that case, there’s no other choice but to weave through the gaps.

[Hmm, I guessed that much.]

At first, Sieg was just going to give up, but he liked that move and the look in Rhode’s eyes. He even began to think it was fun.

[No, you got it wrong… there aren’t only the two of us here.]

[…Hmm.]

Failnaught had already drawn her bow.
After releasing her first move, she retreated as Heracles attacked. She entered Sieg’s house.
And so she quietly waited for the signal.
Through the window, she was observing the opponent she should shoot through.

[Cakhram!]

A golden magic bullet appeared from the black notebook and started flying around Rhode together with Fragarach.
Sieg was captivated by this, but at the edge of his vision he noticed Hercules drawing a bow.

[Che…!]

[“Godslaying Poison Bullet of Light “Velos Diltirio”!]

Sieg is approached by an ominous purple flash emitted from the strong bow.
Furthermore, Sieg had no choice but to use causality magic as he caught sight of the four slashes fired by Rhode.
As a result, the five trajectories passed through Sieg and pierced the void.

[…Now.]

Upon receiving a signal from Rhode, the “Failnaught Bow” was released from the door and crawled on the ground, approaching Sieg.
It was aimed at the legs.
Judging from the exchanges up until now, the timing was perfect as the causality would reconnect and the magic wouldn’t be able to be activated.
But, that’s only if Sieg had been doing his best until now.
The moment Sieg held his hand over the approaching arrow, the arrow quietly disappeared from the world.

[…..!?]

Causality magic has various powers.
Up until now, all Sieg had used was the power to exempt himself from causality.
And what he used just now was the power to cut off causality between the target and the world.
The difference is that the former does not need line of sight to the target whilst the latter requires it. But as long as he has these two, Sieg is nigh impossible to hit.

[Da, damn…!]

[What a pity. That last one almost hit…]

At that moment, Sieg felt a tap on his back.

[Huh!?]

When Sieg turned around in surprise, he found out it was Levi’s fist that tapped him.

[You…!]

[There… You take one hit, yes, Sieg-sama? You didn’t mention that it has to be Rhode-sama who landed the hit.]

Sieg’s eyes widened, but he couldn’t help but burst out laughing at Levi’s smile.

[Fu…..hahahaha! Oh, yeah, yeah… I certainly didn’t say that. I see… this young lady is in this too…]

[Yes. I am one of Rhode-sama’s strengths.]

[You know… Alright. It’s my loss.]

[Then, Sieg-san…!]

[Yeah, what do you want me to teach you?]

[Tha, thank you very much!]

[Well, at the point when I felt like I was having fun while fighting. No wonder that bastard Orlando likes you. But young lady… I didn’t notice you at all. How the hell did you do it?]

Levi pointed to the black helmet she was wearing.
It was also the reason why Rhode summoned Heracles first. It was not only because of her strength, but also for her overwhelming presence. That’s why Sieg did not notice neither Levi who had picked up Hades and vanished, nor the retreating Failnaught.

[This one is called Hades-sama and, while wearing this, he gives me the power to vanish from sight and concealment of presence.]

[Ohh… just how many armaments did you have… Well, I didn’t even notice that the young lady had disappeared.. It is my loss. Hey, let me ask you one thing. You two didn’t even talk this plan out, did you? And it didn’t seem like you were giving any signs either…were you using telepathy magic or some sort?]

[ [ Nothing of that sort. ] ]

[Ahー….nevermind. I kind of understand.]

[ [ You do? ] ]

=====

 ――――――――――――――――――――――

Nightfall. 
We sat around a bonfire in the garden of Sieg-san’s house, using logs as chairs.
Sparks of crackling fire fluttered and, along with the sizzling sound of grilling venison, a fragrant smell spread.
Well, rather than that, I was more interested in Levi, who was staring at the meat next to me, as well as Heracles and Failnaught, who were sitting on the ground and drooling as they waited for it to be cooked.

[I understand the gist of it. It seems like a lot has happened since I quit being a Hero.]

While I was waiting for the meat to be grilled, I told Sieg-san everything that had happened so far.

[I thought you have heard everything from Ban-san?]

[That bastard always urged me to come back. That’s why I often ignored whatever he said. Just to let you know, I have no intention of leaving or lending a hand. I’m just going to train you. Got it?]

Sieg-san glared at me with a terrible face while saying so.
Scary… 

[I understand.]

[Sieg-sama, there is one thing I would like to ask you.]

[Ask away.]

[Why did Sieg-sama quit being a Hero?]

Without answering Levi’s question immediately, Sieg-san tossed firewood into the bonfire and brought a bottle of sake to his mouth.
He took out a cigar and lit it in the bonfire, exhaling smoke into the night sky.

[…It’s a silly story. Everything had become silly. To the point where I no longer know… What am I fighting for]

[What happened…]

[Huh, bad things overlapped. And you realize that what you thought was insignificant was the most important thing…only after losing it.]

That… I think I can relate.
Since my 15th birthday, my daily life has changed.
My parents, whom I had taken for granted, disappeared and I had no choice but to live alone as an incompetent.
At that time, I was reminded of just how important everyday life is.
It was the same when Levi was kidnapped the other day.
After she disappeared… it was a repeat of “If only I did this, if only I did that”.

[Please tell me…what happened?]

[….Well, that Roy is involved in it. But, it’s completely irrelevant to you guys, isn’t it? …I can talk about it, but it’s silly and empty, and…kinda pathetic?]

[…Haa.]

[Then, drink.]

[Eh!?]

[I can’t talk about it when I’m sober, and it’s not fair if I’m the only one not sober. If you don’t drink, I won’t talk.]

[Oh, I understand… I’ll drink it.]

[Give it to me. I want to drink it.]

[…Me too.]

[Then, I shall have it too.]

[Hmm? I get it about the two weapons, but…are you old enough to drink alcohol?]

[I am 4832 years old.]

[…Haa!?]

[Oh, I forgot to mention. Levi is a demonkin.]

[She is…? Who cares? Well, listen while you drink.]

Sieg-san then poured us some alcohol and started talking quietly.

Leave a comment