I Was Called Incompetent ch.119

Weekly chapters (2/2)

Please consider to support us on our Patreon.
All of the donation will be returned to you as Patron chapter.
Onegaishimasu.

New chapters for Santairiku is posted on our Patreon~

Enjoy~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 119 : The Rights

[Ever since I was a kid, I loved fighting. Well… now that I’ve received this kind of power, I feel like I have a duty to fight to protect someone else. So, after I became an adventurer, I ignored the receptionist and received only high-ranked requests… Before I knew it, I was called a Hero. Well, to be honest, I didn’t care much about that. As long as I get to fight for someone, that’s it.]

I drank the liquor that was poured for me.
…it didn’t go well with me. It’s bitter.

[Huh….. So, one day I helped a woman. She was also an adventurer. Apparently, she received a request that was out of her league. I happened to pass by, so I helped her. She kept saying something along the line of “Let me repay you for saving my life”, but I refused… However, she kept following me since then. Well, after that it’s the usual “two people like that are attracted to each other~” story. A few years later, a kid was born and she quit being an adventurer and entered the household.]

So, Sieg-san married someone before.
Then… where is that person now…?

[But, I didn’t change. I keep getting difficult requests, I keep fighting just to protect someone… I used to go home only once every six months. Even so… she didn’t blame me at all. On the contrary, she told me to do what I wanted to do. Now that I think about it… I guess I was spoiled by those words. That’s why it hit me. Three years ago.]

Right, three years ago… the same year I became an incompetent.
Come to think of it, Tia also found out she’s one three years ago as well.

[Hey, Rhode. In your personal opinion, what is a Hero?]

[Huh? Um… the hope of the human world, the pinnacle of adventurers… In other words, I think they’re the strongest existence.]

[Well, that’s right. Then, how do you think that person will be treated in their country of origin ?]

[Of course… I would think that the person will be well respected. However… no way.]

[Yes… Olympus didn’t like it. No, to be precise…that stupid king…]

[That’s…]

[My country of origin is here, Greece. The oldest country with the longest history among existing nations. Of course, Olympus was the strongest country at that time. That’s a fact that everyone recognizes. Being the King of Olympus is almost synonymous to becoming the ruler of the world. However, even with Olympus, there’s another country that was on an equal footing with it…that was Greece.]

Just because they are heroes…
It is said that the existence of a Hero surpasses the King of a country.

[Greece at the time was treated equally to Olympus. The reason why Olympus was able to become the leader of the world in the first place is that the previous Olympus king led the way to end the civil war in the human world and brought peace to the world. Among the countries that cooperated with them, Greece supported Olympus the most. In other words, Greece is also one of the oldest countries in the world, as well as a country that has produced a hero, and is on par with Olympus……that’s why we’re on an equal footing with Olympus.]

Sieg exhaled and tilted the bottle to drink.
It’s like… he’s hesitating to continue.

[…That day, I was called by the Idiot King and headed for Olympus. As soon as he saw my face, the idiot King gave a distorted smile and said…“You idiot!”, Of course I don’t understand. Then Roy said, “You are a great sinner who killed the people“.]

[Huh!? W, why…]

[Yeah, I didn’t know what to make of that. Then Roy said, “As a result of your ignorant violence in the town, an orphaned girl was crushed by the houses you destroyed. She died. This is your responsibility”. Certainly, there were times when I had to fight in the town. And it is true that I had subjugated a high-ranked monster in the town just the day before. However, after it was over, I received a report that “there were injuries, but no deaths”. However… apparently there’s one.]

[No way…]

[I’ve never let anyone die before. I went to town to find out, but… I was told that there was indeed a dead girl. The information then spread around the world. Moreover, there are various things written in the article that are not there. That, at the time, since I was already over 50, but I’ve passed my prime and I’ve grown lazy… All bullshit I tell you. And it didn’t stop there. They also dug up my past failures. On the other hand, Roy handled high rank requests with ease. He was only 18 back then and his strength is real.]

I was at a loss for words.
It’s not just me, but everyone else as well.

[People don’t need you anymore… It’s like he’s telling me that. I can’t find any reason to fight anymore. I thought about going home, but I didn’t know what kind of face I would see there. Either way, after a while, I made up my mind and went home. But as it turned out, my wife had already passed away.]

[Eh…]

[She was ill. And I never knew it. No, I never even try to find out… Well, the rest is already known, yes? I quit everything. See? Isn’t that a pitiful story?]

[Sieg-san…]

[I only talked to Orlando, Ban, and Alice since then. Thinking back, there might’ve been something going on behind the scenes… 

Sieg-san may have understood.
The King of Olympus and Roy might be in cahoots.
But, he decided that if he didn’t back down, it would only bring more tragedy.
And when he returned home… there was nothing left to support him….

[Um, excuse me to say this… but I’m curious about one thing… What about your child?]

[Oh, the kid is in Greece. Actually, I was disowned by the kid already. Seems to be doing fine even now… I guess that’s for the best.]

[Ah… I see.]

[Ah, you kid…you haven’t been drinking at all! Little bastard, have more drinks!]

[Wha! Dri, drink mo-agluglugglug!?]

[Rho, Rhode-sama!?]

[I don’t understand men…]

[zon’tmynit….hic]

[Failnaught… you should stop now.]

==========

[It’s too cruel! It’s too much! I feel sorry for Sieg-san… why… why did it have to be that way…!]

[Ye, yeah… thanks…]

[Wielder is acting strange…]

[zon’tmynit….hic]

[Rhode…]

Rhode-sama was bawling his eyes out.
I do not know whether it’s because he’s drunk or…

[Oh, the magic power…]

[Nn, Heracles-sama, is it time?]

[Indeed. Let’s head back, Failnaught.]

[Hic.]

[Haa… well  then, Levi, Sieg, thank you for the delicious meat. Please give my best regards to the wielder.]

[I apologize for the inconvenience. Until next time…]

[Sure, see you soon.]

I put Heracles-sama and Failnaught-sama, who had returned to their weapon forms, into the notebook in place of Rhode-sama.
By the way, Rhode-sama was still crying.
Come to think of it… it’s been a while since I’ve seen him cry.
I felt sorry for him… but Rhode-sama looked somewhat cute this way.

[Uwaaaa! Leeviiiii!]

[Kyah! There, there…]

Rhode-sama suddenly hugged me and buried his face in my chest.
Fufu… normally, this kind of thing would be near impossible to happen to me.
After a while, I could feel his body begin to lose strength.
Looks like he fell asleep.

[Thank you for your hard work today… Rhode-sama…]

[Sorry… I guess I made him drink too much.]

[I’m rather grateful… No, please don’t worry about it.]

[Haa… it doesn’t look like you two are just traveling companions.]

[…well.]

[I’m not trying to be nitpicky or anything. I was like that too.]

Saying that, he looked up at the sky with sad eyes.
The smoke from his cigar strangely carried a painful air in my eyes.

[Um…! Sieg-sama… if I may…]

[…I don’t even have the right to think about that. I can’t get back what I lost. The more important it is, the harder it will be.]

He seemed to see through what I wanted to ask.
After exhaling the smoke, Sieg-sama slowly lowered his gaze.

[However… you two might be able to avoid a similar fate. That’s why you came here in the first place, right?]

[Yes…indeed we are.]

[Well, I’m going to sleep now. Let the kid rest well. The fun will start early tomorrow morning… fufufufu.]

Rhode-sama… do your best…!

Leave a comment