I Was Called Incompetent ch.120

Weekly chapters (2/2)

Please consider to support us on our Patreon.
All of the donation will be returned to you as Patron chapter.
Onegaishimasu.

New chapters for Santairiku is posted on our Patreon~

Enjoy~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 120 : Task

[Ha…ha…]

Every time I took another step, my head throbbed and I felt sick.
For the time being, we have to find a river.
I have the skill of [without eating, drinking, or sleeping] so I could hold out if it’s only for 3 days. But it doesn’t prevent me from feeling like I would die from hunger and thirst.
If you run out of stamina, you really can’t move, and if that happens, you may die… anyway, the first priority is to create a base.

I looked around while walking in the mountains, but no matter where I looked, I saw the same scenery.
I couldn’t even hear the sound of running water, and the only sounds I could hear were the chirping of birds and the cries of insects.
Anyway, I have no choice but to keep walking until I find the river.

Even so…

[Why do I have to be shirtless…?]

==========

『Noaaaa! ? 』

『Are you awake kid?』

W-what!?
Oh… My head hurts… I feel sick…

『Huh…Is this the first time you’ve had a hangover? 』

『S, Sieg-san, what the hell is… eh? Why am I naked…and I’m soaking wet…』

『It’s wet because I poured water on it. Not to wake you up. Well then, I will give you a task now.』

『Eh……?』

『Live in the mountains for a week from now. By the way, I kept your equipment and notebook. Also, no jacket. Only magic can be used』

『Y, yes……』

『I’ll do something about food and drink. By the way… there are monsters and dragons, so be careful, okay?』

『Y, yes……eh!?』

『See you in a week』

Saying that, Sieg-san turned his back on me and started walking.

…Ah, this is terrible!

『Oh, wait…! Hey, Sieg-san!?』

『Don’t you want to get stronger? Then do your best and live.』

Sieg-san’s eyes were serious.
I don’t get it.
But… there must be a reason. Surely.

『…I understand.』

『Hmm, see you』

Saying that, this time Sieg-san disappeared into the forest.
As soon as that happened, I suddenly felt alone.
Here for a week…with no tools or weapons…

『There is no choice…but to do it.』

=========

I climbed up the mountain path, thinking that I might be able to see something from a higher place.
The hangover only made things worse.
On top of that, it’s terribly cold because I’m shirtless. It’s so cold in the mountains in the early morning…
Ah, I see. I have to think of a way to start a fire.
If only Laevatein was here…

[Ah, no no… I have to do it on my own.]

I don’t know what Sieg-san’s true intentions are, but he’s probably trying to make me feel something by spending time on my own.
That’s why he took everything away from me.
Other than magic…

[Magic huh… Come to think of it, the only time I used it other than to materialize legendary weapons. Iaris was about to level up, and I’ve never used it for anything else…wait.]

First, I need to find a river.
But to be honest, it’s hard to even walk.
I still have my magic though.

Then… why don’t I use it to walk instead?

[The weight limit is five times my weight…with a tree of this size…]

A thick tree with a height of about 3 meters.
It’s a tree I’ve never seen before… Is it a native species here?
For now, let’s try materializing it.

[Oh… oooh!?]

Then, as soon as I felt that my magic had activated, the branches and leaves of the tree began to move.
Furthermore, the soil at the base of the roots swelled and the roots popped out one after another.
Several branches gather together and transform into something like an arm, and with the roots as legs, the tree transforms into a humanoid shape.
Then, the tree stood on the ground with two legs and bowed.

[Ah, nice to meet you… um… it’s easier to call you if you give it a name. Then…can I call you Log-san?]

It’s a tree, so Log-san should be a fitting name…there goes my laziness.
However, it seemed that the newly materialized tree liked the name, and was dancing while waving the branches.
It’s pretty cute.

[Thank you Log-san. May I have a ride?]

Log-san then dropped to its knee(?), perhaps making it easier for me to mount it.
Once I sat on its head, Log-san stood up.

[Oh…that’s pretty nice. Log-san, I’m looking for a river… Do you happen to know where it is?]

When I said that, Log-san crossed its branches’ arms, fell in thought for a while, and then banged its own trunk.
Apparently it was a gesture, telling me to leave this matter to it.
After looking around restlessly, Log-san started down the mountain road in a different direction from the one I came from.
Ah, down there… No, let’s believe in Log-san.

Slowly but steadily, Log-san progressed along the mountain path.
It doesn’t shake as much as I thought… Ah, maybe it’s taking care of me.
I really appreciate it…thank you, Log-san.

 ==========

[Nn…]

Damn, I fell asleep.
Here is…

[Ah, a river!}

Apparently, Log-san brought me here while I was sleeping.
What’s more, it covered my body with leaves to keep me warm. It seems that I came across a good tree.
I jumped off Log-san and scooped up some water from the river.
It’s clear water. I think I can drink it, but…

[Log-san, is it okay to drink?]

Then, Log-san banged its trunk again.
Do you mean to believe you?

[Okay… Puha! Cold and delicious…]

This should be fine.
It looks like this place is between mountains. The open river is surrounded by small stones.
Yeah, let’s make this our base.
Log-san’s head is fine for the bed, but next time I have to think of a way to make a fire.

[If I have a flint, I can do something about it…but that’s not so easy to find.]

It must be a stone containing metal… Let’s try to hit it against another hard stone to create a spark, which can light something resembling tinder or something else to set on fire.
It was what people used in the past, but now that there are magic stones, it soon fell into obsolescence.

[First to make a fire…then food. I should work on it…hmm.]

…I need something.
I don’t know where it came from, but this feeling is… it’s probably a monster.
I’d appreciate it if it was an animal…since monsters and dragons aren’t tasty and can’t be eaten.
Well, that doesn’t matter to them.
They’re here to eat me.

[Log-san, be on your guard. I’ll add more friends.]

Log-san nodded and spread its arms wide.
I looked around and touched the rock that was about 1 meter in length and width in front of me.
I wonder if I could…hmm!

[Alright…!]

The rock I attempted to materialize changed shape in an instant. It grew angular protrusions that looked like a head and limbs.
Then, the rock slowly stood up and bowed to me.

[Nice to meet you…umm… Rock-san.]

That’s so lame…but I couldn’t think of anything else.
It seemed to be happy from the way it danced around.

[Rock-san, be on the lookout too.]

Rock-san nodded. It turned in a different direction from Log-san and began to look out.
It’s easy because my intentions are conveyed immediately.
So, that leaves me with nothing. Right now I don’t have any weapons so All-Weapon Mastery is not activated.
When I was walking alone earlier, I tried to pick up a tree branch but it didn’t work.
Probably…because I don’t recognize it as a weapon.

[Throwing stones…that can be a weapon.]

I tried picking up the stone at my feet, but it didn’t feel like my ability was activated.
But if I throw it, it should become a weapon. My throwing power should be strengthened.
I picked up some stones and stuffed them in my pocket.
I could still feel the presence of the enemy, but there was no movement.
It seems that Rock-san is on high alert because of the situation.
If this continues…

[It was never going to be easy to begin with…!]

Leave a comment