Isekai Trip ~with a slave harem~ ch.5

Weekly chapters (2/2)

I’m sorry for the very late update for this series.
Let me explain the circumstance why the update is very late.

Basically, when we decided to pick-up this series from the previous group, we didn’t know that this series already picked-up by some other group, but it got dropped. At that point, we have already finished up to chapter 4. Thus, we planned to continue from where the previous group dropped (ch.11).
However when we checked the previous group chapters… it’s shit. Very bad if I must say. Bad TL and a lot of lines skipped/erased thus making the story confusing and unreadable. I and Shirayuki tried to brute force fixing those chapters last two months, but in the end we gave-up. We can only manage to fix chapter 5 and 6.
After that, we decided it’s easier and faster to translate the chapter by ourselves than using the previous group chapters. That’s why there is almost no update for this series around 2 months. And now that we have settled on it, you can expect the chapter will be released more often.

By the way, this series recently got manga adaptation too, in case you missed.

Enjoy the chapter~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Chapter 5 – Library

In a room in a cheap inn, I was preparing for tomorrow’s first goblin hunt.

“Is this how it’s going to be?”

In my usual backpack, I have a water bottle, dried meat, a knife, and a wooden spear. I leave a blanket and a change of clothes at the inn.
In the other space, I keep money, paper, and writing materials.
I tried to buy some paper for the future, but it is expensive, so I treat it as a valuable item and put it in another space.

I also put the magic gun in the other space.
From the way of talking, it seems that Elliott and his slaves are not bad people, but I cannot let our guard down. Even if Elliot doesn’t have bad intentions, if he and his slaves were in a pinch, he would put his women before me.

As a final trump card, I’ll practice lightly so that the magic gun can be retrieved from the other space at any time, even if my hands are tied.

After I finished checking things, the next step was to check my status. For what it’s worth, I didn’t have time to check it in detail yesterday.

==========

Yohei Konno (Human)

Job:
Interferer (5↑)
Survivalist (4↑)

MP: 7/13

Parameters:
Attack: G
Defense: G
Agility: G
Endurance: G
Magic: G
Magic Resistance: G

Skills:
View Status II
Manipulate Status
Add Job II
Display Status
Strong Stomach

Additional Information:
None

=======

I was using the magic gun in the morning so my MP is half depleted. It will recover over time.

Now, I guess that the other jobs should have been released. I tapped on Survivalist (4) and displayed the job selection suggestions:

Traveler (3)
Citizen (1)
Rogue (1)
Survivalist (5)
Dagger User (2)
Magician (1)
Magic Gunner (1)

Whoa! Magician! So, I can become a Magician!

I don’t know when I met the requirement but if there is one, it was using the magic gun. I’m not sure if that’s the right thing to do. Anyway, it’s magic. If there’s magic, I’ll have to use it.

I’m going to set it up immediately.

========
************Personal Data************

Yohei Konno (Human)
Job:
Interferer (6)
Magician (1)

MP: 13/20

Parameters:
Attack: G
Defense: G
Agility: G
Endurance: G
Magic: G
Magic Resistance: G

Skills:
View Status II
Manipulate Status
Add Job II
Display Status
Fire Magic
Water Magic
Earth Magic
Wind Magic

Additional Information:
None

======

Oh. It’s the same kind of basic elemental magic that’s familiar in games. Let’s try it for now.

Fire, fire, fire…

Concentrate and intensify the image of the fire on the tip of your index finger. Nothing happens. Nothing happens. A bang, a spark goes off and that’s it.

…What? Is this fire magic?

I try to get my mind back on track and remind myself of water.

Nothing happened?

It’s often the image of collecting water from the air and turning it into water… whoa! A little water came out.

But I’m too tired to get any more out. I’m deathly tired. So this is magic.

========

Yohei Konno (Human)

Jobs:
Interferer (6)
Magician (1)

MP: 4/20

Parameters:
Attack: G
Defense: G
Agility: G+
Endurance: G
Magic: G+
Magic Resistance: G+

Skills:
View Status II
Manipulate Status
Add Job II
Display Status
Fire Magic
Water Magic
Earth Magic
Wind Magic

======

Oh, I’m losing a lot of MP…..

Okay, so it’s not a system where you can shoot fireballs or something like that as soon as you have the skill, but you have to learn to do it? Anyway, I’m well aware that the magic gun is much more useful now.

I’ll check the magic gunner as well.

========

Yohei Konno (Human)

Jobs:
Interferer (6)
Magic Gunner (1)

MP: 4/20

Parameters:
Attack: G
Defense: G
Agility: G+
Endurance: G
Magic: G+
Magic Resistance: G+

Skills:
View Status II
Manipulate Status
Add Job II
Display Status
Weak Magic Attack

========

The Magic Gunner’s skill is weak magic attack? However when you attack with a magic gun, its power is slightly stronger, right?
Not bad.
Anyway, I’ll put it back on Survivalist tomorrow. Since I’ve said to Eliot’s party that I am a Survivalist.

The next day, I fooled around in my normal townsman’s clothes with my robe and headed to the mercenary guild with my wooden spear.

Elliot and the others seemed to be waiting ahead of me, and I was greeted with a smile.

“Hey, how are you! Excited for the goblin termination day.”
“Yeah, well, you’re right.”

I think Elliott is more excited than yesterday.
Did something good happen? I’m sure he must have done something nice with the slaves yesterday.

“Hmm, aren’t you wearing your protective gear?”
“Oh, I’m still a bit short of money but I’m about to buy one.”

He looks a little disappointed but doesn’t let go of his smile. Well, if the vanguard wasn’t wearing armor, it would be difficult…

“Oh well. I’ll be in the center, Marie will be on the left and you on the right. If there’s a little bit of an injury, Patch will fix it for you, so don’t worry”

A healer. That’s why you should have a party.

“How hard is it to be a “Healer”?”

I ask the question while moving to the north gate, closer to the goblin territory.

“In its way, I guess, It’s a job that’s more difficult to master than it is to become a healer.”
“I’m going to master it…”
“If it’s a unique job, it’s fine as long as the skill is activated. A magician, for example, needs to learn a lot of magic theory and stuff like that, but if you can activate the magic, you’ll be able to use it.”
“Hm.”
“But, we must always be aware of how the healing arts can use our skills and on what symptoms. It doesn’t have to be aggressively used all the time. It’s not the end of the world when the skill needs to be activated. So you have to be smart enough to make the skill useful. You have to be as smart as Patch!”
“Patch, you’re amazing…”

I look at the women who are shuffling along behind me, and the little patch looks down at me, a little embarrassed.
Then, I tried to chew over what Elliot had said in my head. Normally, you just need to be able to activate it, but “Healer” is one more stage from there, so it’s hard to master it.

This means that the skill cannot be activated just by holding it, it takes practice. Some skills, like healing, require practice after they are activated. That’s about it.
The reason why the skill of the “Magician” was so shabby is that I haven’t studied magic theory or practiced activating the magic skill before.

“Are you going to be on “Survivalist” forever?”
“No, I’m just starting, so I think I’ll think about it after I’ve gathered some information.”
“Is that so? It’s better to decide on a job as soon as possible, though.”
”…..Speaking of which, you can change Trisiera’s “Sexologist” job to a combat job. And you don’t do that?”
“I know some people do. But, I don’t.”
“Why?”
“The higher the level of non-combat jobs, the greater the stat value. It’s safer to focus on one job than to force a change. Besides, no matter how much money you have, it won’t be enough if you have to pay the church every time you go out to hunt.”
“…Well, sure, if you ask me, that’s true.”

While I chat with him, I think I’ve heard another good piece of information.

You need to go to the church to change your job.
Well, if you don’t have the “Interferer” job, you wouldn’t normally be able to view your status. There’s no way you can change your job yourself.
Is it natural to think that there is a job or tool that allows you to change a third party’s job?

I think I’ve heard some pretty important information on this. Should I go to church tomorrow… or should I go to the library to look up jobs before that?
I don’t know anything about Job in general, I’m too ignorant of it.

Not long after, I reached the north gate, left my ID, and went out after completing the formalities. Elliott and the others were waiting for me.

“Let’s get going, shall we?”

From there, it’s no longer a safe zone.
With Elliot leading the way, they move northwest in an arrow-shaped formation.

The area of the goblins mainly extends northwest from the gate.
However, since goblins are fertile and have a habit of moving in packs, the threat of goblins is not only in the northwest but also in a wide area from west to northeast.

Many warrior groups and guardsmen hunt goblins to protect the roads that stretch northward and they always encourage civilian goblin hunting with high rewards for their efforts.
Goblins are one size smaller and less powerful than the human race.
However, they form packs and work together, picking up and carrying simple weapons made from trees or weapons from weak travelers outside.

Only goblins emerge from the spring point, but there are different types of goblins and rarely are there larger or more skilled individuals called higher species, which can be tricky.
The difficulty of dealing with them is different from the other hunting grounds like those of the Green Caterpillar in the northeast or the Blood Slime in the south, where almost only one type of enemy comes out of the boiling point.
Still, in the sense that only goblins come out, it seems to be easier than the hotspot in other areas.

It seems that in the spawn points of other places, it’s normal to have five or six different kinds of monsters to spring up as a matter of course.
In that sense, Slurge is really for beginners.
If that white-haired girl had thought about that as well, did she send me to Slurge on purpose?

“Hmm, I see a shadow. Maybe it’s a goblin.”

The consciousness that had sunk into thoughtfulness as I kept a vigil on the right side of the path, was awakened by Elliot’s alarmed whisper.

“Goblins, yes, three of them, all with wooden sticks.”

Marie, who is on the opposite side of the block confirms it. It looks like a pea grain to me, but Marie seems to have good eyesight.

“I and Trisiera will be the first to attack. If the opponent flinches, the vanguard charges in!”

Marie and Trisiera’s voices come together. Ummm, they’re working well together.
Aside from Trisiera with her bow, I’m wondering what Elliot is going to do. Elliot’s sword glows, and when he swings his sword, the light runs forward. What’s that? That’s cool.

This was not the time to be fawning over it.
Marie is running forward at a small pace and I’m also running forward in a hurry.

The bow and the mysterious sword technique hit the goblin in the middle, causing it to scream and fall. The goblins on the left and right saw it and noticed us and were screaming “gya-ga-ga-ga”.

“Now go!”

In response to Elliot’s voice, Marie accelerates with fast dash.
I also throws away my shield and holds my spear with both hands. With the same momentum, I thrust the spear at the goblin’s belly.
I’m not confident in my defense since I discarded my shield. There is only the attack stat left.

The first blow seemed to be in the right place, and I delivered a series of forceful fatal blows to the goblin, who was breathing out in pain.
Behind me, Marie appeared and beheaded the goblin. The goblin on the left had been defeated before I knew it.

While breathing heavily, I poke the goblin to make sure it’s dead.

“It’s okay, it’s dead. Your technique was crude, but your momentum was good.”

Marie smiles at me and calls out to me. She’s so cute.
I think I will fall in love with her.

“Oh, thank you…..eh…..”
“Well, that wasn’t so bad, was it? Let’s have Trisiera gather the magic stones for now.”
“Where are the other materials that can be used for… eh… where is it?”
“Two ears and a canine tooth, I got those for you.”

I wondered if, someone who’s holding the magic stone and another person would bother to hold these organs, but from what I was later told, Elliot is supposed to hold the ears and other graphic things.
As expected of a slave-owning handsome man…!

“Shouldn’t you be using a shield?”
“No, I thought it would get in the way of my running. I’m usually too scared to let it go.”
“Haha, it’s easier to move and use a spear without a shield, you know. Maybe it’s good to get used to it gradually.”

After that, I hunted the stray goblins with Elliot and Marie, while receiving spear lectures from Elliot and Marie at every battle and every break. Apparently they seem have a little knowledge about spear mastery.
The northeast is goblin territory, but thanks in part to their aggressive defeat, it seems that many of the stray goblins that come within a day’s walk of the gate are the ones that were played from the pack.
So far, we’ve only encountered normal goblins with wooden sticks.

“Sorry, I don’t feel like I’m being very helpful.”
“No, it helps in its way, because with two of us, sometimes we get passed behind and it’s hard for the rear guard to keep up. Hey…”

Well, it’s true that after a certain amount of combat, the goblins will probably recognize that I’m the weakest member, so they’ll gather around me, so there are many patterns that others will do something about while I am defending or running around.
It’s a good enough decoy…I’d like to think it is.
Every time I get hit by a goblin, I manage to do it without falling, as the patch reduces the bruising with the healing technique.

“Then again, I’ve heard that the warrior corps and guards are frequently thinning the goblins out, but still their appearances are a lot.”
“A goblin? Well, their fertility is at a sub-optimal level, you know. It’s just a nice little earner for an individual mercenary like us.”
“Certainly.”

Compared to looking around for green caterpillars, goblins are much easier to search for and approach from there.
If it were a normal animal, it would run away when it sees a human. But, the monsters will bravely challenge you even when they know they will lose.
They may not be intelligent enough to recognize the difference in strength, or they may just be too hungry to pretend to be something they’re not.

“So, the goblin’s magic stone is colorless?”

As I ripped open the goblin’s chest, I tried to squirt the lumpy, transparent object into the light. The green caterpillar is green and the blood slime is reddish, but the goblin is completely colorless! It’s transparent.

“I heard goblin magic stones are completely unattributable.”
“I see.”

I’m still not sure how to use the magic stone.
Well, the colorlessness that is not tinted with anything is probably of some use.
Unemployed people can use it too.

“Let’s get back to it. Maybe we’ll run into some night goblins in the evening.”
“Yes.”

We headed back to the north gate before the sun had fully set. The first goblin hunt went off without any incidents.

************************************************************

“This is your share.”

I counted the coins given to me by Elliot.
75 copper coins.
That’s a fifth of today’s harvest.

I’ve heard that there are calculations that say that Elliot’s slaves are not counted and there are more… but since I’m aware that I’m not that active today, I think it’s a good thing if I get one-fifth of the number of slaves.
I’ll accept it quietly with my consent.
Even so, the reason I didn’t make much money is that I only encountered normal goblins and didn’t have any equipment that I could sell.

“Hmm, I guess it’s like this near the gate…”
“Maybe we should do a sleepover this time.”

Marie says something like that.

“Is it profitable to stay overnight?”
“That’s because there are many more of them in the woods near the spring, and the top species and mutants are everywhere. It’s different from today’s small fry that we’re dealing with.”
“I see.”

I think I’m going to die easily now. I’ll have to think of something else to do.

“Will you be hunting tomorrow?”
“Hmm, I don’t know about that. I’m going to stay in town for a while.”
“I show up at the Mercenary Guild every morning at the same time as today so I was thinking of setting up another temporary party. If you can’t make it, just say the word. You’re welcome to join us for the day. I had a great time today.”

I tucked the money into a cloth bag, raised my hand, and parted with Elliott and the others.
It was a day where I saw many things missing.
It’s still too early to go back to the inn, so let’s go to the library as soon as possible.

==========

The city library was a building with the appearance of an ordinary building.
It was large for this world, but it was not the library I had imagined.
At the entrance, I said goodbye to a silver coin with a trembling hand and entered.
Once you enter, you have to leave within two hours, and after that, you need a silver coin again…

Damn, it really took a lot of money.

“Well, let’s talk about the job first…”

Books about jobs seemed to be in high demand, sitting right near the reception counter on the first floor.
Among them, I borrowed a children’s book titled “Let’s Learn About Jobs: The Power of God’s Grace” and a more serious academic book titled “Introduction to the Job System” and took a seat.

By the way, there is no loan book. You have to read them inside and return them to the counter exactly.

My aim to grasp the outline by a beginner and to know the exact point by an academic book was right. Especially “Introduction to the Job System” is easy to understand for a technical book, covering the basics. Easily, I wanted to borrow it.

First of all, how could normal people set up jobs without the “Status Manipulation” of a Interferer job? This was, after all, a church job.
To be exact, the first job was roughly between the ages of 5 and 10 years old, and the initial job, called the Initial Job, was self-explanatory. It becomes a job that is set up. But since you can’t view the status, you are usually unaware of it. That’s where the church comes in.

Jobs such as Priests and Deacons that belong to the church have skills that allow you to view some of the statuses of others.
So, every year from age 5 if you are rich, or at the age of 5 or 10, if you are not, you make a donation to the church and undergo a status display ceremony.
If an initial job is set, you receive a blessing, and thereafter, depending on your qualities and experience, you can choose from a variety of jobs.

However, the selection of jobs is not free if the status is not available for viewing. This is also done in the church with the help of the skills of the priests and deacons. So every time you want a job change, it costs money.
That’s probably what Elliot meant when he said something like “If I had to change it every time I hunt, it would cost me the money”.
Now, how to increase the number of jobs that can be selected there, this was tougher than I thought.

At first, I thought I could get the “Magic Gunner” job by a little thing as I did with the magic gun, but in reality, it seems that you need to have a certain amount of experience to get the job.
For example, Marie’s “Swordsman” can not be acquired by holding and swinging a sword, but only by learning the sword and becoming reasonably proficient with it.

However, if you have the potential, you can acquire it just by holding a sword for a moment, and for some people, it is set as an initial job without any effort. It varies a lot from person to person.

The reason I was able to acquire the “Magic Gunner” job right away is probably that I had high qualities or the experience required to be a “Magic Gunner”.

Come to think of it, I hadn’t been able to acquire “Spearman” right away when I started using the wooden spear, but after being instructed on how to use the spear by Elliot and Marie in various ways today, I was able to acquire the job. The qualities of the spear were probably being factored too.

There are also jobs called Unique Jobs or Advanced Jobs that are derived by increasing the level of the job.
This could only be acquired if the level of the other jobs increased in addition to the qualities and experience. Elliot’s job, such as the “Flower Warrior”, may be a derivative of the Warrior job.

I also misunderstood the method of leveling up.

Perhaps I was caught up in the common sense of the game. I thought I would have to defeat monsters to gain experience and then level up with a certain amount of experience… and so on.
According to “Introduction to the Job System”, it is not like that, you can level up by experiencing things that are appropriate for the job and also by not changing your job.
In that case, having a “skill appropriate for the job” will accelerate the level up as the days pass.
In other words, it’s not necessary to defeat monsters. It is necessary to “experience and improve your skills appropriate for the job”.

However, if it is a combat job, fighting against demons and gaining experience is indirectly called “experience appropriate for the job”. That’s why fighting monsters will raise your level little by little, it seems.
However, you don’t necessarily have to defeat them by yourself. It is not a conventional system like a game where only the last person to stop the monster will get experience.

It seems that it is difficult to say what “experience is appropriate for the job”, but there are many things you can imagine.

For example, in the case of a “Magician”, the level of experience is likely raised by learning magic theory, practicing magic activations, and using magic.
And since gaining that kind of experience will also improve your skills, the leveling up over the days that you get by not changing jobs will also accelerate.

That’s why people don’t usually change jobs easily, even if they can. If you change jobs from one to the next, every job will only level up halfway through the game eventually.

(I can have more than two jobs so I’ll have to figure out how to grow them.)

Do we extend the second job unchanged as well, or do we change it depending on the situation to make it more responsive? I think if at least a third job was added, it would increase the number of things I could do.

Other people are probably only able to set up their first job so it’s a very luxurious worry.

I read so much of the book that two hours had almost passed. I hurriedly returned the book and left the library.

(Would it be tough to raise Magician then? I need to learn about magic theory… Oh shit, if I had more time, I could have read a book on magic…!)

Still, having finally learned the basics of the job system properly, I stayed up late that day thinking about my plans.

Leave a comment