Isekai Trip ~with a slave harem~ ch.6

Weekly chapters (2/2)

This chapter is quite long.

Enjoy the chapter and stay safe.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Chapter 6 – Maniac

************Personal Data************

Yohei Konno (Human)

Jobs:
Interferer (7↑)
Magic Gunner (1)

MP: 16/16

Parameters:
Attack: G
Defense: G
Agility: G+
Endurance: G
Magic: G+
Magic Resistance: G+

Skills:
View Status II
Manipulate Status
Add Job I
Display Status
Weak Magic Attack

Additional Information:
None

======

The “Interferer” job has leveled up.
This is partly because I haven’t changed it for a long time, but also because I use status viewing and manipulation more often.

It’s just that at the time of the “Interferer’s level increase, the stats went up too! I’m a little concerned about the fact that I haven’t had a single experience like this.

Could it be that the “Interferer” is a system that doesn’t raise the status in a normal manner…?

As I glanced at it before, it wouldn’t be strange to have that kind of special treatment if it was a requirement to come from another world.
Besides, since adding jobs is a bit of a cheat ability, I feel like it’s okay to have that much of a disadvantage.

I’m still waiting to get [Add Job II].

There’s a reason why I changed Job 2 to “Magic Gunner”. I showed up at the mercenary guild this morning, but Elliot wasn’t there, and there was no message.
So, today I’m going to head out on a solo goblin hunt. It was great that I was able to gather information from yesterday’s hunt.

The goblins are a small group if they are near the gate, and their strength is not that great.
If it looked like you were in trouble, you could run and ask the gate guard to help you.
This is the last resort, though, because it would significantly damage your reputation.

Even so, isn’t it dangerous to be surrounded by more than one? But…..that’s where the Magic Gun comes in.
If you can manage to get to one on one or at least one on two with the Magic Gun’s first attack, you can win even with the wooden spear.

And while gaining experience with the Magic Gunner, I should also be able to improve my skills with the magic gun. After all, I was determined to raise the “Magic Gunner”.

The reason why I chose the “Magic Gunner” is that I seem to have the basic aspects of a good magic gunner, the magic gun is my best trump card at the moment, and I think it’s better to focus on magic or rather, something that uses MP.
If I remove the “Magic Gunner” and empty Job #2, my MP is 10. In other words, the MP of the “Interferer” alone is 10. It means that the Magic Gunner Job adds 6 MP.

Normally, there’s one job so it’s 6 MP and if you’re using the gun you have now, you can only shoot 3 rounds from the stage. It’s a start, It’s a tough number to even train properly.
But, I’ve got a lot of room in my MP to hold up to Job #2, or even job 3 if it’s as expected in the future. That’s the advantage of this. I’ve thought about this beforehand.

I didn’t do any particular sport until I was this age, and I did my best to do daily muscle training. It’s a bit tougher for someone with a lot of experience in avant-grade jobs.
But when I look at Elliot and others who have fought in this world as a matter of course, I still feel a big difference. And I’m not sure about my strength being decent enough anymore.

Besides, even being a vanguard, there may be a way to make use of the advantages of multiple jobs, but I can’t think of anything.
So, the strategy is to make use of the advantages and expand my abilities in the direction of making use of MP.

I immediately go through the procedures at the north gate, not too far from the gate, and enter the forest where there seem to be few people.
Since there seems to be a party going on an expedition in the northwest direction, it’s the northeast direction, which is safer. Even if I went too far, it’s Green Caterpillar territory, so there shouldn’t be any danger.

After two hours of carefully walking back to avoid going too far, I find a party that is ranting and raving on.
I bend down in the grass and stare at them holding my breath, and see that they are engaged in a battle with a few goblins. If it was a party of people, they wouldn’t be making such unnecessary noise like that.

I take out my magic gun and quietly push the magic stone. I feel the usual sensation of something being pulled out of my body. Perhaps this is the sensation of magic power being transferred.
Feeling, I strengthen my image so that the magic power flows more smoothly than usual to the magic stone.

Aiming at the center of the goblin, I check the firing line several times before pushing the magic stone in one go.
A higher-than-usual sound sounds with a cue, and light is emitted. The bullet speed is faster than before.

The goblins looked at the light curiously at the sudden event, but when the light arrived at the goblins, the upper half of the central goblin’s body burst with an explosive sound, and the goblins on either side were also bleeding.
…The increase in power seems to have succeeded.

As the goblins weakened, I jumped out from behind a tree and stabbed them with a wooden spear to stop their movement.

The goblin that flew off seems to have been able to keep the magic stone in his chest intact, thank goodness.
I chuckle at how much more powerful it was than I expected.

========
************Personal Data************

Yohei Konno (Human)

Jobs:
Interferer (7↑)
Magic Gunner (2↑)

MP: 11/16

Parameters:
Attack: G
Defense: G
Agility: G+
Endurance: G
Magic: G+
Magic Resistance: G+

Skills:
View Status II
Manipulate Status
Add Job I
Display Status
Weak Magic Attack

Additional Information:
None

==========

Oh, it consumed 5 MP. This is a bit much.
However, it turns out that the power of the magic gun can be adjusted by practicing magic control.
On the other hand, I might be able to reduce the MP consumption by narrowing down the power, or I might be able to shoot a shotgun-like projectile that blows the goblin’s head.

It’s a nice weapon, more flexible than I thought it would be.
The MP is supposed to be 6 with Magic Gunner, so normally, if I attack as I did now, I should stop shooting. That would be the bottleneck. But for me, it’s a different story.
I have to thank that kid who gave me this awesome magic gun weapon.

After that, I also found two goblins, so I tried to release a magic bullet with a reduced MP consumption of 1! I was able to do that. In that case, I couldn’t take them out in one hit, so it was a bit of a challenge afterward.
With a normal bullet that consumes 2 MP, a direct hit could seriously injure one of them and almost certainly make them unable to fight.

I only encountered 8 of them in 3 groups today because I was going around in shallow areas, but I was able to get them in the end, so I was able to earn a little less than a silver coin.

To put it bluntly, it’s more profitable than hunting in a party with Elliot.
However, I don’t have anyone to back me up in case of an emergency, and I’m not going to be able to alert and search for help alone. It’s quite tiring. At the same time, I have to manage my MP.
With that kind of disadvantage, if I accompany Elliot, I can get a lot of information from conversations and, because he and Marie can give me battle instructions, I’m going to participate in his temporary party if invited.

On the way back to the inn after redeeming the money at the Monster Material Purchase Center, I also used the money I had saved up until then to prepare armor.
However, they are not armor, but clothes for travelers.
Since I am a traveler in a dangerous world infested with monsters, a thin metal plate is attached to the vital points, and the rest of the body is reinforced with hard leather.

It’s unclear to what extent the protection is effective, but I was able to escape from some dire situations without protection.
I bought the other consumables together and I’m almost back to being broke again.

“It’s hard to escape from being broke. It’s hard to think I’m making some progress like this.”

I went back to the slave market to look at the slave market again and look around for beautiful female slaves. I can’t buy them even at this point, but I wanted to be motivated by reaffirming my goal.
The place where I looked once before, where all the female slaves are, has a collection of beautiful females of varied ages now.
I’m sure they’re expensive. Even those thin and pale women are sold for gold coins, so I can only dream about purchasing them at this point.

Since the exchange ratio is said to be 100 silver coins for gold coins and 10 gold coins for rare gold coins, if one silver coin is 10,000 yen, one rare gold coin is 10 million yen.

Scary.

After escaping from reality for a while, I returned to the inn with 43 coppers for the night.

“Goblins may be just the thing to earn a little money and gain some real-world experience.”

Of course, one decisive mistake and I’m dead. I don’t have the slightest hope that the white-haired kid will help me. He would be working without stopping, saying, “Oh, I’m dead tired”.
Or maybe he’s elegantly sipping a cup of tea. For better or worse, I have a neutral opinion about him. He should be considered a savior for giving me the magic gun.

As for my status.

========
************Personal Data************

Yohei Konno (Human)

Jobs:
Interferer (7)
Magic Gunner (3↑)

MP: 7/17

Parameters:
Attack: G
Defense: G
Agility: G+
Endurance: G
Magic: G+
Magic Resistance: G+

Skills:
View Status II
Manipulate Status
Add Job I
Display Status
Weak Magic Attack

Additional Information:
None

==========

The “Magic Gunner” job is growing fast. It may be that it’s easy to raise the level of the game while it’s low. But I hadn’t seen it level up 2 levels in one day until now.

I tried manipulating the power of the magic gun and devising various ways to aim better because the “Magic Gunner” needed it. I guess it met the requirement of “gaining experience and improving skills”.

There were also a few more jobs to choose from:

Traveler (3)
Citizen (1)
Rogue (1)
Survivalist (4)
Dagger User (2)
Magician (1)
Magic Gunner (3)
Spearman (1)
Scholar (1)

The Spearman and Scholar job was acquired.
Is it because this scholar did some research in the library?
Was it because I even read a few specialized books, if only a little? Was it because my experience on Earth was valued highly?

(The question is, should I revert to “Survivalist” when I team up with Elliot and the others…)

The Magic Gunner is a trump card, so I didn’t want to be exposed during the job. There are not many skills that can’t be known, and, if you don’t approach a church official such as a priest or deacon, they will know. I’ve learned that there isn’t one, so I may be too cautious.

Or is it possible to raise a “Spearman” as a sub-job?
If you are a “Spearman”, even if you are found out, it won’t be too damaging.
I can tell them that I kept it a secret, but I donated it to the church to get it changed. And I am using a spear.

The continuous experience that comes from not changing my job is a shame, but when I use a spear, “Spearman” should be activated. If I use a magic gun then, “Magic Gunner” should be activated. I can earn the “appropriate experience” efficiently that way.

Alright, let’s do that.

========
************Personal Data************

Yohei Konno (Human)

Jobs:
Interferer (7)
Spearman (1↑)

MP: 2/12

Parameters:
Attack: G
Defense: G
Agility: G
Endurance: G
Magic: G
Magic Resistance: G

Skills:
View Status II
Manipulate Status
Add Job I
Display Status
Weak Piercing

Additional Information:
None

==========

The increased stats from the “Spearman” are attack and defense, and the skill is the same as in the “Dagger User”.
The basic action is to strike, so it’s easier to use than the dagger.
I’m running out of money, and I’ll be hunting goblins again tomorrow… before I knew it, I was in bed, lying unconscious. I had to let go of these worries or as the white-haired kid said, I might get a mental breakdown.

The day after tomorrow, I was approached by an unwilling sister from the mercenary guild who had a message for me.
Elliot told me that he was going to be away for a while, so I didn’t have to check the message. I thanked the sister at the reception desk for giving me the message and headed out to hunt goblins alone again today.

I set “Magic Gunner” as Job #2 and brought out my magic gun from virtual space.
Today, I’m going to fix the MP consumption to about 2 and try various things I’ve been thinking about to see if I can change the nature of the bullets.
After advancing to the northeast for about an hour, I find goblins surrounding something.

It seems that a green caterpillar has wandered in. The number of goblins surrounding it is…5. That’s a bit much.
Hiding behind a tree, I get down on one knee, get into a non-shaky posture, and straighten my hands out to check the firing line.

The sensation of the MP being sucked into the magic gun is done as usual, and then the magic stone is pushed in, and the bullet fires. Sometimes I try to manipulate it to spread out the feeling of magic power.

Somehow the density of the light decreased and the bullets seemed to get bigger. I don’t think this would work well but at the same time, I am thinking it is a good idea. Oh! this level of concern.
The light hits the head of the goblin that was showing its back to me.

The goblin was silent for a moment, and as we look at each other, I take another shot. This time I don’t do anything weird and shoot.
The right arm of the goblin at the back explodes, and he cowers there in pain. Did I miss a vital point?

The goblin was fully aware of me. While still in a firing stance, I fire the gun in succession, trying to put the magic power in as quickly as possible.
I missed two shots as the goblin moved, but one shot hit the goblin’s leg and the other hit another goblin in the chest. It was dead.

One of them is now unharmed. I grab the wooden spear and stand up.

The safe goblin jumps up in a fury.
It gains momentum and strikes with the dull, shiny object in its hand. Shit! This bastard has a sword!

After I stepped back and avoided a big blow, then poked his face with my spear. Before he could regain his stance, I stepped forward and kicked him in the chest.
The goblin that was shot in the chest approached me, looking distressed. I, while holding a shield taken out of the virtual space, prevent the enemy’s attack and pokes at its chest wound as if to gouge it out.
The goblin that got kicked is also coming here again.

I take out my magic gun again and fire rapidly. When I was frightened, I thrust out my shield and broke his stance, then put away the magic gun and used a spear on it again.
Because I stabbed him deep in the heart area, I was probably able to incapacitate him… I think.
The goblin whose chest I gouged out, is already out of breath.
In the same way, I thrust out my shield and broke his stance before stabbing it deeply in the chest with my spear.
The combination of stopping it from the shield bash is strong.
The goblin that was shot in the leg is approaching lazily, so I calmly take out my magic gun and shoot him in the head. The distant goblin who was shot in the arm had escaped before I knew it. A smart one.

The green caterpillar seemed to have been mortally wounded by the goblins and wasn’t moving. Just to confirm that it wasn’t moving, I stabbed it with my spear to make it stop.

I put away the magic gun and speared what was a goblin to make sure it wasn’t alive, and then I used a large knife to take them apart and started to dismantle them.

“It was a little hard to take five of them at once, but I managed it.”

I had 1 MP left. Two shots were fired for the first attack. Four shots for attacking the approaching enemy. One shot in close combat. One shot to finish it off.
If I have 1 MP left, it means that either my MP regenerated once during the fight or one of them consumed 1 MP. That’s right. Probably the one I fired at in close combat. I shot fast for rapid-fire.

There was a sword in its hand, and I might have been in a bit of a hurry.
I picked up the sword left by the goblin. It was surprisingly small, maybe more of a knife than a sword. Blade spillages are severe. It’s a bit useless.
The goblins were a little different than the ones in the game. Unlike the ogre-like appearance, they have hair on their backs and thin limbs. They give the impression of a small ape-like human being.
At any rate, since it was small in stature, the object it held seemed to be large like this sword.
I don’t think it is good to be put for sale. Therefore, I’m going to leave it alone.

“I don’t have any MP so I guess that’s it for today…”

I’m going to take the long way back to the East, where I feel comfortable.
If you’re closer to the east, it’s Green Caterpillar territory, not goblins. A caterpillar can be killed even if I am out of MP.
I returned safely, hunting a Green Caterpillar on the way.

As I entered the town, the main street was a bit noisier.
Crowds of people have gathered. Peeking out from behind a group of people by the side of the road, a group of armed warriors who looked like guards walked proudly down the street and everyone seemed to be cheering for them.
“Triumphant” is the one word that came to my mind. I asked the man next to me, who was nodding at me with a knowing look on his face, who those people were, and he said it seems to be a celebration of the defeat of the Big Blood Slime.

I heard that this Big Blood Slime is quite cunning, and I’m afraid of what it will do if left alone. It’s said that the warrior group was happy because they were able to defeat it early.

I think it’s because they were able to find a large number of Blood slimes early on that they were able to defeat them quickly, though I’m not sure I’d be able to do the same. Could I have been of any help?
I waved to the warrior group with a bit of a grimy feeling.

The next morning, I woke up early and went to the courtyard of the inn and saw a man take a practice swing with the sword.
I asked him about it, and he said he continues to do this every morning.
Incidentally, the wife of this person had red skin and what looked like horns on her head.
It might be a delicate issue, so I didn’t think about it, but I was really curious about it, and glanced at it many times. Sheesh.

“Are you a monster hunter?”

The husband looks at me as he swings his sword.

“That’s right. What about you guys?”
“I’m a member of a mercenary group called the Manifold Gang.”
“Mercenary…”
“It’s a mercenary group that specializes in hunting monsters. They are a bit rare around here?”
“Is that so?”
“Maybe. It’s relatively common in my wife’s country of origin, Ossoka.”
“That’s a little different.”

As he was talking, while huffing and puffing because of his practice, his wife came in.

“Ossoka isn’t a country. It’s a coalition of allied forces…sort of.”

He continued explaining to me about Ossoka.
I don’t know the country, so I don’t care about that part.

“Are mercenary groups better than individual mercenaries?”

I bring the topic back to the direction of my concern.

“There’s going to be some stability, not just one person doing everything, but some logistical people who are going to prepare and coordinate. And I’m there. And if you happen to get hurt, you get paid a little bit less because someone else will do the work.”
“Yeah, that’s a bit stable.”
“I guess the advantage of being an individual mercenary is that you don’t get pinned down when you do a big job. And also the freedom to not have to act in a group? On the other hand, other than that, there are still many advantages to joining an organization.”
“I see.”

Stability and cooperation in an organization? It is also what I was most uncomfortable with in my former world.
I know this is not the time to talk about such things in this world, but still, as an adventurer, I can’t envision myself doing it well.

(Well, Elliot said something like until you build a slave harem, it’s hard to cooperate anyway. I guess…until I have the money I’d like to be a personal mercenary)

“But, you don’t have to use those spears. Can’t you find a better weapon?”

Since her husband was laughing at the wooden spear that I was holding, I laughed too.
I didn’t want to use a wooden spear. I decided to use this one because he didn’t have any money.
After saving up a little more money, I’ll ponder on the next weapon.

========

On that day, I would also use the magic gun first, then stop them with the wooden spear when their numbers were down, and so on.
Since it was a little dangerous to deal with five of them, I’ll be dealing with a group of four or less.
If there were more than 5 goblins in the visible range, I turned back without straining myself.

This wouldn’t make much money, but the safety margin would be secured.
I split it off as combat experience and practice with the magic gun.

In the operation of the magic gun, I made one important discovery about how to shoot buckshot, which I failed to do yesterday.
Even if you try to diffuse them after putting in magic power, you can’t go beyond saying that the bullets are swollen at heart.
However, when I put the magic power in, I was only able to send about 1 MP by mistake, so I had to send an additional magic power of 1 MP. When I sent it in just a minute, I was able to successfully shoot bullets twice in a row.

I could have made diffused bullets if I had divided them into small pieces at the stage of loading MP.
I see, there was a limit to transforming the filled magic power.
If I could divide it up inside my body beforehand, it would be possible to recreate buckshot without difficulty.

It’s simple if you think about it.

This is a great step forward in the completion of the diffuse bullets, and a glimmer of hope for the development of other types of bullets.
There are many other applications for this projectile other than just diffusing bullets.
For the time being, if we take a look at firearms that exist on Earth, we can come up with a variety of ideas.
When I thought of a spread of bullets from the image of a shotgun.

While trying to diffuse the bullets into two or three from time to time, I took out the goblins in a haphazard manner.

From the next day onward, it’s still the same, especially the days of chasing goblins around with the magic gun and wooden spear.
I wake up as early as possible every morning and try to talk to the swinging-practice husband and wife. They are a valuable source of information.
After a while, I looked at the weapon shop as I had a surplus of about seven silver coins. If I want to use my experience with wooden spears, I should rank up to a decent spear, but I thought If I come here already I shouldn’t ask for a sword.

One of the reasons, which would be the biggest reason in a way, is that I don’t have any gold.
Swords can be found for a few pieces of silver if you don’t care about quality. However, a proper spear is expensive.
And there’s no way you can purchase a bow or a bow gun, for that matter with the kind of money that I have.

And another reason is that I’m starting to feel like the spear doesn’t fit.
When I work solo, I find it hard to use with the magic gun.
When you think about it as a sub-weapon, the spear is a hindrance, and it’s hard to switch to it in a hurry.

Even though I was able to acquire the “Dagger User” easily, but the “Spearman” was difficult to learn. I’m not sure if I have the right qualities. I also think it’s low.

The rest is concerning the shield. If you are going to use the spear as the main tool, then two-handed is still the basis.
The one-handed spear is good, but it’s hard to use it as the main tool in the solo hunt because it restricts your movement.
Above all, you want to carry a shield as per your feelings. When you are attacked by an opponent, the peace of mind is very different if you don’t have a shield.

I, who is a peaceable citizen born in Japan, have a sense of security that I will not die if attacked by an enemy with a shield. It’s necessary.
It’s not that I am particularly timid. I’m sure about that.
Based on the above serious and extremely logical self-analysis, “Isn’t a shield plus a one-handed sword the best combo after all?”, there is a growing theory in my mind that this is the case.

As we look at the swords, they range from single-edged, sharp swords like normal swords to scimitars with a crescent-shaped warped blade and a variety of other randomly displayed longswords, as well as the rugged longswords often seen in RPG games.

I held each one in my hands and looked at it one by one, checking the weight and price. The price is especially important.

No, besides the price, there was one other important thing. The shape of the blade should be thicker.
A thin and sharp blade is nice, but if the blade is quickly chipped or sprayed with blood and dirt, the sharpness of the blade gets dull and it will not hold up well.
On this point, a thick-fleshed sword is long-lasting. This is because the emphasis is placed on overpowering the opponent with force rather than slashing them.
Even in this city, there are many swords that look sharp like the equipment of the guards but they are not the same as the unreliable swords seen in the mercenary guild. Those men often carried large, heavy-looking swords.

That part of the story was told at length when I discussed it with the couple while I was thinking of using a sword.
I’m not sure if it’s true, but I’m going to take it in stride. That’s how it is and I’ll look for a cheap, hefty sword. Or so I thought.

(This one is going to break soon, this one has too small a handle. This one’s good but… the price is a gold coin! You gotta be kidding me.)

As I was rattling around, the owner of the store came out from the back and said, “What is it you’re looking for?” He asked with a sullen face.
I replied honestly that I was looking for a cheap, hefty sword and he said, “Choose from these”. He pulled out a few blades and laid them out in front of me.

(Holy shit. I thought they were laid out randomly, but he has it all figured out?)

I look at the lined-up swords while inwardly admiring them.
I had to check more than half of them to make sure that they would be in the 5-6 silver coin range.

(I guess anything up to about 10 silver coins is in the “cheap” category, after all.)

I chose a blade that was about 65 cm long and thick, and the edge of the blade was a little shaved off, probably because it was used. This is a one-handed sword that seems to have parts that are not sharp but rather cannot be cut. Its price was six silver coins, including various options.

“That one, huh? I’m sure it looks pretty tired, but the original matter is good, so I’m sure it’ll hold up just fine.”

The proprietor finally nodded, flashing a wry smile. I guess he’s not in a bad mood, he’s just this kind of person.

“Put some oil on it, too.”
“It can’t be helped.”

I also negotiated for six silver coins with additional tools for maintenance.
Among the “various options” was a custom-made sword belt.
This one I insisted on hanging it on my back.
“You could just hang it from your waist”, he said, to which I was dismayed because I wanted to pull my sword out of my back and face the enemy… Wouldn’t it make me look badass?

After all, it can be hung on your waist or secured to your back, depending on your measurements. It can also be left lying on the backside of the waist.
I’m sorry I only bought it for cheap. I vow to get you good business if I make a profit someday.

He said he would polish up his sword a little before selling it. I left the store with great satisfaction, admiring the excellent service.
And I was penniless again.
Well, it’s a considerable improvement over the past because I made sure I have enough money for lodging and food.

The next day after I received the sword, the owner laughed at me when I was struggling to fix it on my back.
He is an old man who doesn’t understand coolness. Well, I’ll let him laugh because he has helped me a lot. In the morning practice of swinging, the couple showed me some ropes on how to handle the sword.

The husband was happy to see that the spearman had changed his mind about the sword. He even taught me in-depth knowledge of the swordsmanship school.
I didn’t understand his teachings, though.

The red-skinned wife of his smiled but didn’t say anything.
I named her husband as a “sword-maniac” in my mind.

Leave a comment