Isekai Trip ~with a slave harem~ ch.8

Bonus chapters

Please support us on our Patreon, so we can deliver more chapters to you.
Onegaishimasu.

Enjoy the chapter~

Chapter 8 – Gerant Nussuf

[It’s coming.]

Elliot suddenly stood up and drew his sword. I caught up, stood up and looked around.

[There.]

Elliot pointed to the back right with his chin. After concentrating and grasping the sword somehow, he fired a light blade from the sword.
Because the technique of the 『Flower Warrior』 shines for the time being, it is conspicuous in the forest at night.
The Night Goblins that were approaching through the trees were cut apart and fell to the ground.

[I’ll protect this spot! Please take care of those on the back.]

Elliot seemed intent on guarding the tent where the women were resting.
I didn’t really understand what he meant by those on the back, but I knew that there was another one in a position away from the tent.
As I was running in the direction where the first one fell down, I saw a shadow moving in front of me. Is that it?

Since Elliot was using some kind of shiny skill, the surroundings were lit up intermittently.
The goblin I’m dealing with seemed to have a sword.
It held the sword with both hands, creating the atmosphere similar to a human swordsman.

After firmly blocking the swinging sword with the shield, I swung the sword from right to left.
The goblin pulled back and tried to keep its distance.
It’s a much better move than a normal goblin in the daytime.

Is this the night goblin?

With my first strike missing, I charged in with a stab. Once I got close, I used Shield Bash as well.
However, it only flinched for a moment and their posture did not collapse. What is this?
I tried kicking it in as a surprise attack, but it just let out a painful voice and didn’t collapse.

I wondered if it’s because its torso area is solid.
Anyway, let’s keep attacking it first.

Push with the shield, swing with my sword, and kick whenever I have a chance.
After repeating that pattern a few times, the goblin would try to retaliate with its sword.
Blocking the attacks with my shield a couple of times, I tried counterattacking, only for our swords to match, forcing me to clash strength with it.

One hand clashed against two hands. I have better physical strength.
I barely managed to push it back. When the night goblin put in more power, I pulled out the sword and let the goblin’s face meet my shield bash. This counter was set so beautifully that its posture collapsed. I swung my sword down for a decisive blow.

[Hey, it looks like you’re done.]

Elliot called out. I was out of breath and couldn’t reply.
So, these are the Night Goblins.
It’s going to be too tight…

[That guy is the Night Goblin Leader. The top species.]

[Wha…that? But…wha…is…]

While holding my breath, I looked down at the corpse of the Night Goblin Leader that I just slain.
If it becomes a superior species, will it be able to move like humans…?
Traveling solo is tough after all.

[There were two normal Night Goblins, the leader, and one Knight Goblin Scout who acted as a scout. A total of four….. Well, we didn’t let any of them escape.]

[Phew… This is near the Goblin Forest, isn’t it? Isn’t there a high possibility that they have friends somewhere?]

[Night goblins originally didn’t flock together so there were a lot of stray parties. If they didn’t even call their comrades, there’s a high chance it’s a stray attacking this area.]

[Really…?]

Ripping open the chest of the goblin leader I just defeated, I took out the magic stone.
The dismantling should be done during the daytime, and Marie just taught me that I was bad at it.
It seems that it’s easier and faster to scrape off the meat by inserting the blade along the muscle line and hooking the magic stone, but it doesn’t work quite well.
First of all, it is difficult to follow the muscle line because it varies from individual to individual.

The leader has a thicker chest and harder meat than the goblins I’ve seen so far.
It’s more difficult.

While I was busy dealing with one leader, Elliot finished killing the rest.

[You still have a long way to go in dismantling monsters.]

[…I’ll practice more]

After that, Marie got up before Elliot even had to go to call her then we switched posts.
I felt a little uneasy about leaving guard duty to the women and it’s giving me a sense of guilt. But if I don’t get enough rest, it’ll become a problem tomorrow.
As soon as I entered the one-person tent, I surrendered myself to drowsiness and lost consciousness.

===========

Light leaked out from the edge of the tent.
This is…well, I guess we were camping.

[…good morning.]

When I lifted the entrance and looked outside, Marie and Patch were working on something around the bonfire. I turned my eyes to this side for a moment.

[Morning.]

[Good morning.]

[Is there anything I can help you with?]

[Hmm. First, wash your face. Then, I’d like you to peel the skin off the potato.]

Marie and the others seemed to be preparing breakfast.
I will learn whether the person in the back will also do such a thing.
I washed my face at a nearby watering hole, wore equipment, and helped out with whatever I was asked to.

Breakfast was potato and dried meat soup as well as portable food like dried dumplings.
There’s also a wild grass salad that Trisierra collected from nearby.
Can I eat this salad? Will I be alright?

[You said the Night Goblins appeared yesterday? Nothing in particular happened during our time.]

[Oh, yeah. Good to know that all of you are safe.]

Marie started exchanging information with Elliot.

[Because Elliot didn’t move from the front of the tent. I love you.]

[…so stupid.]

Trisierra turned tomato red and looked down.

[Hahaha, isn’t that obvious?]

The wind was blowing entirely toward Elliot.

[Hey you, if there’s an attack, you can wake me up, right? Or rather, if five of them come, wake me up.]

Marie was stunned.
Yes, couldn’t we have woken them up separately?
Elliot didn’t seem to care so I wondered if it was something like that.

[If it’s just that much, I’ll protect you!]

[Even so, there’s still a chance, right? I want you to think about your own safety rather than our restful sleep.]

[I want to protect all of you!]

The two won’t relent. Meanwhile, I wrote it down in my mind to wake everyone else if there’s a night attack.

[So how much will the Night Goblins last night sell for?]

Let’s change up the topic to end Elliot’s control.

[Right… 4 Night Goblins should sell for more than 60 copper coins and the leader alone should be about 40 to 50 coins.]

[Oh. The leader is quite expensive.]

[It’s said that the size of a goblin’s body is basically proportional to the size of its magic stone. And if it is a high-ranking species, the quality is also good. If it’s the leader from yesterday, that’s about it.]

Good information. Even if it’s divided by 5 people, it’s less than 10 copper coins… Huh? It doesn’t feel like much now.

[Right now, goblin magic stones are on the rise so there is a higher possibility it’ll sell for more. Congratulations, Yoyo.]

Marie said.

[Huh? Why are you congratulating me?]

[Well, at that time you were obviously fighting it alone, weren’t you? You should have ownership.]

[Is that so? Thank you for that.]

I think it would be harder to deal with 4 goblins. I was lucky enough to fight the leader one-on-one.

[In that sense, had I or the other members helped you, it would have been half-assed. So congrats!]

[It’s kind of hard to thank you… well, yeah, thank you, ikemen.]

[Ikemen…? What’s that?]

[Whoops. Umm, I mean “cool guy”. That’s the perfect term for Elliot, right?]

[That’s right! It’s exactly the word that refers to me.]

[Haa…that’s stupid…]

Marie seemed to be having a hard time.

[What are we going to do today?]

In the plan before departure, while looking at the situation around the Goblin Forest, I decided to ask whether to go around the outer area, enter the forest, or aim deeper.

[Right. I feel like I want to see the situation a little more… It’s time to earn some money, so why don’t we go into the forest?]

[Are you sure?]

[I think it’ll be fine as long as we don’t go in too deep. The drawback is that we might have to share with other parties.]

[But at the same time, we can receive help in case of emergency.]

[That’s right, but that means there’s a possibility that we’ll be asked for help.]

Marie said

[Should we mind?]

[That kind of thing is the source of trouble… Well, you should try to learn that kind of thing.]

No one seemed to be against the idea.
Patch, who was silently listening, and Trisierra, who seemed to be more interested in eating, didn’t seem to have any particular opinions.
I often saw Trisierra whispering to Elliot, but Patch rarely speaks among her peers unless necessary.
Sometimes I seriously forget about her existence, but I wonder if it’s okay.

[…what is it?]

Maybe she noticed that what I was looking at, Patch met my eyes with a reluctant look.

[N-nothing. I just want to know if Patch has any opinions.]

[There is nothing in particular. Marie-san has said all the necessary things to know.]

[I, I see.]

She then turned away. I wonder if it’s really alright.

[Haha, Patch is smart. She’ll give her opinion when it’s really necessary. So, don’t worry about her.]

[…..alright.]

Trisierra was emptying the container and telling Marie something.
Marie was stirring the pot right away, so I wonder if she asked for seconds.
Maybe it’s the nature of the socially deficient person, but I feel like I’m being slandered for talking about secrets.

After exploring the forest entrance for a while, I stepped into the forest before noon.
Of course, the visibility was bad. It’ll be difficult to notice any ambush before it hits us.
I couldn’t seem to relax.

[Please stop for a moment.]

Marie quickly climbed a tree and looked around. She made it look easy.

[As I thought, I was wondering why it’s been so strangely calm, there was something a little further north east. It might be a goblin.]

[Should we wait?]

[…That’s right. It looks like they’re approaching, so let’s meet them in the open around here.]

[I will set a trap.]

Patch seemed to be able to create traps. This is also worth studying, so I intended to follow her from behind and observe.

[…If you are free, please help me.]

[Sure. What should I do?]

[Tie this string to that branch… No, not that. It’s thicker than that… That’s fine. Please tie it.]

[How do I tie it?]

[Any way is fine.]

I can’t make a simple hard knot because I don’t have two. Anyway, wrap it around and fix the appearance. …It’s clumsily made.
Patch paused for a moment at the knot and let out a sigh, but said nothing more.

[…Please be careful of your surroundings.]

[…I know.]

And what was that spoon doing here again?

[They’re almost closing in! Patch, retreat immediately.]

Marie raised her voice from the top of the tree. Patch quickly completed the trap and retreated.
Most of them are simple traps that simply stretch a string in the direction the goblins are moving. There was also one that looked like a tiger trap.

[Incoming!]

Elliot, me, and Marie rain down from the trees on the front line. Patch tossed something which produced a popping sound. Is it a grenade-like magic tool?

[It’s just a flare. It’s for drawing attention.]

Elliot calmly explained to me.
Since we’ve made preparations, I guess she’s luring them to come from the direction where the traps have been set?

The trees swayed as I heard voices shouting.
The one in the lead seemed to get caught on a string that was being stretched and fell down in a big way.
The one on the side was screaming and holding its leg. Is it a tiger trap?

[Lightblade… Slash!]

Elliott’s sword shone brighter, and a light blade larger than usual attacked the goblins.
Elliot and the rear guard can deal with the front. In that case, I should be wary of flanks and back attacks.
As expected, some goblins were approaching by passing by the side of the starting party who were caught in a trap.

[There are more than I thought! It seems that they had friends nearby, sorry.]

[No problem!]

While apologizing for her clumsiness, Marie was throwing something like a dagger to check her opponent’s movement.
Is there such a technique?
It feels like Elliot’s party has shown their seriousness since entering the forest.

[I’ll take care of the ones coming from the right!]

I’m on the right side of the formation so it’s a matter of course, but I informed them of my movements just in case.
One dagger-wielding goblin could be seen coming from the right, with at least two goblins behind it.
I couldn’t see anything that looks like a bow, so I guess I should deal with them one by one for the time being.

I stood sideways, with my shield poised at the front.
Seeing this, the dagger goblin tried to go around while putting a feint. But since I expected it, I swung my sword to intercept and forcibly push it into eating my Shield Bash.
After kicking in and stopping the movement, I landed a coup de grace. I did well.

The two goblins behind it were carrying a stick and a sword each. If it’s just me, it would be the time to use the magic gun, but…
I pulled back so that they couldn’t surround me. Persevering while dealing damage with a counterblow.
There was no problem with sticking around, but I saw a goblin approaching from behind.

Too bad, I don’t know what will happen if I add another one.

Then, when an arrow flew from behind and pierced the goblin’s leg, a momentary opening was created.
In the meantime, I roused myself and attacked the swordsman. The stick goblin came around and hit me from the side, but I ignored it.
It hurts more than I thought, maybe it’s a stick with something like a thorn. I felt like crying

I twisted my waist once to dodge the stick goblin and cut the sword goblin again.
This movement seems to have just become a feint. The sword goblin’s guard fails and a large amount of blood splashes.This movement seems to have just become a feint, the sword goblin’s guard fails, and a large amount of blood splashes.
The stick goblin seemed to be completely distracted by this one, and an arrow flew from behind and pierced its head. Killing it. Damn

At that moment, the area around my right hand was wrapped in heat.

What? Did I get cut!?
No, I was burned!

When I turned around to see the last goblin, it was pointing something like a stick at me.

No, not a stick, but a wand?

[It’s a goblin mage! Take evasive action!]

Someone shouted.
I raised my shield up and moved in a zigzag as I approached.
This was what I was able to imagine when I heard the shout to take evasive action.

The goblin mage fired two fireballs in quick succession but luckily, both missed me.

Strike with the shield while maintaining momentum.
My right hand was severely burned and it hurts, but I thrust my sword in regardless.

I hit the goblins who were trying to withdraw and escape with my shield many times.
Before long, I managed to behead the goblin whose movement had been slowed down.
Rather than decapitating, it felt like crushing but either way the goblin lost its head.

When I looked back at my companion, Elliot was swinging his sword, but Trisierra and Patch were paying attention to me. Were they almost finished?
I didn’t check what my comrades were up to until I looked back. When excited, there is a tendency to forget yourself and immerse yourself in battle. Let’s reflect on that later.

Marie looked around to see if there were any enemies she missed.

[That’s all. What’s the situation?]

[All good. Elli is dealing with the last one–the leader.]

Trisierra replied calmly.

[Oi oi, why didn’t you support him?]

[There’s no way he’ll lose. Besides, using a bow to support such a close-quarters fight is dangerous.]

[Marie-san is on guard in case anything happen]

Patch also looked calm.

[I see. Well, I couldn’t help the people around me at all. I’m sorry.]

[Nn, your vision is narrow. But I think you did a good job.]

Trisierra complimenting me? That actually felt strange.

[…what?]

[No, it’s nothing. Oh, Elliot seems to be finished with his.]

I was worried so I took a glance at it. But when I did, after a shiny flash of light, the goblin was lying down.
The goblin let out a loud roar just before it fell.
Was that also his [Flower Warrior] skill? It’s always flashy.

[Are you uninjured?]

[Oh, my right hand was burned and it hurts a lot. Can you treat the burn?]

[I can. Wait a minute.]

As Patch prepared something and approached, she looked at my right hand.

[It’s just a surface wound. The firepower is also weak but it’s a wide area one so you’ll need treatment. Please apply this medicine.]

The box I was given was filled with sticky ointment so I scooped it up with my left hand and applied it.
In the meantime, Patch held her hand up and muttered something about activating the healing art.
I feel like I can hear things like [Huh?] or [Oh~, that kind of thing]. There’s nothing more frightening than a doctor’s muttering, so let’s not listen to it.

I mean, it’s really scary so please shut up.

Marie and Elliot collected the corpses of the goblins and began extracting magic stones.
Are they intact?
As expected…

[Oh, We have a large one and a scout. It’s not a bad earning.]

[This one is all normal…there was also a leader.]

I wonder if normal goblins were placed in the center as a distraction, with high-ranking species on the left and wizards on the right?
I guess goblins also have strategic minds of sorts.

Large goblins, as the name suggests, are a pure superior species that are one size larger than goblins. It doesn’t have a tight form like the leader, and its technique is rough, but it’s strong.
Goblin Scouts are green goblins that are characterized by their quick movements. As the name suggests, it is unknown whether they act as scouts.

The Goblin Mage I dealt with is a magician type. Most goblins turn green when they grow up, but this one had an ocher skin that is close to normal.
It probably didn’t grow that much.
I had learnt about all of them using materials from the Monster Purchasing Center, but this was the first time I had actually seen them.
The Goblin Forest truly lives up to its reputation as a goblin paradise.

While I was thinking that, Elliot and Marie were having a serious discussion.

[…after all, it’s not that.]

[There seems to be no doubt about it.]

Come again?

[There is a high proportion of superior species and they are well-regulated. And the final warning sound…the conclusion is that there must be a nest.]

[Nest…?]

[The final alarm…that’s a warning to their comrades of incoming danger. If it’s just a stray party, there’s no reason for the leader to sound it at the end. It’s not out of the question that there might still be more of them out there somewhere.]

[Hmm.]

[This area is close to the entrance. If there were nests, they would have been wiped out, and at least, I’ve confirmed that they weren’t until recently.]

[So, during the Blood Slime commotion, a new nest was built?]

[…..yes, that’s what I implied.]

[Then should we just wipe it all out?]

[Maybe we should…as long as we don’t end up angering somebody.]

[Hm? Will anyone actually get angry if we clean up the nest?]

[…You should study a little more. Well, you’re mostly a solo guy and I can’t imagine you cleaning up the nest alone, but…]

But, what?
When I had a question mark floating on my head, Marie called out to me to go back and have some food.
It would be good to hear more about it later.

After leaving the forest and returning to the resting place, the soup is made and the preserved food is dissolved before being eaten.

[So, can we continue with what we’re talking about earlier?]

[Hmm? Oh, are you talking about mopping up the nest?]

[Yes, that.]

[Alright. Do you know that there are several nests on the north side of the Goblin Forest?]

[Kinda. I’ve read through the materials at the center.]

[It’s not that it can’t be wiped out, it’s the fact that it’s not done, but do you know the reason?]

[Leaving the monster’s nest unattended? ……No, I don’t know. Why?]

[There is a plain to the north of the Goblin Forest and the area around it is considered to be the spawning point. So, think of it as the goblins spawning from the north of the Goblin Forest.]

[Hmm… I see. Well, I know that the northern part of the Goblin Forest would be a great nesting point.]

[Un un. Then, imagine if you are a goblin just emerging from a spawning point.]

When I was reincarnated, I became a goblin. I think there was a novel like that.
That spawning point is also kind of suspicious, and I wouldn’t be surprised if something close to that god-like kid was making it.

[Can you imagine? Now then, you want to go into the forest and build a nest. Before that, the forest is a perfect place to gather food. So you want to enter the forest no matter what…but there is a big nest already]

[Ah…]

I can see the flow of the story. It’s like a story about controlling poison with poison!

[Do you understand now? First of all, having a large nest on the north side means that newcomer goblins, especially those who are rebellious, will be expelled or exterminated from the beginning.]

[I see…]

[If you try to monitor every goblin one by one and kill them all, no matter how much human resources and money you have, it won’t be enough.]

[What about the second?]

[It’s the flip side of what I just said. Nobody has the money to exterminate them. So, people decide to manage them properly and maintain the desired form for Slurge.]

[What do you mean by managing them?]

[I said that there are several nests, right? If this were to become one giant nest, it could spawn a dangerous number of superior species or grow in size out of control. So before that happens, we would prune it to a moderate size.]

[Oh…]

[And if the goblin territory itself spreads too much, it will be unmanageable and there will be unforeseen circumstances. That’s why we’re trying to keep them out of the area outside the goblin forest.]

[That sounds like a lot of work, though.]

[That’s right. Not all new goblins go to the forest so it is necessary to monitor and exterminate goblins that have gone in other directions. If we can’t manage the spawning point, the goblin damage will spread to other territories. If you do, the feudal lord’s face will be completely ruined.]

Being the lord of this world must be tough…
Monsters are constantly being born, so it’s like a system of constant war and because of that, the land that can be used for production is limited. I guess I’m fine being the way I am now.

[I see. So even though it requires precise management, if an individual goes as far as mopping up the nest as he pleases, the calculation will be out of order and people will get angry.]

[That’s right. It seems that when you register a party, each individual mercenary is basically expected to have a certain kind of common sense. Have you ever seen anyone looking for a large-scale party and aiming for the nest?]

[Now that you mention it, it might be so… I think it should be written in the regulations.]

[That’s right. It seems that the clause ‘Following requests and orders announced in accordance with certain procedures in addition to matters stipulated by law’ in the regulations corresponds to that. I think it’s written somewhere in the mercenary guild’s materials.]

[I see. Well, if it’s on an individual mercenary level, it’s true that no one will try to hunt a nest solo so should I be careful if somebody openly starts gathering people?]

[You can say that,]

[Anyway, thanks. I now know that I still have a lot to learn.]

[That’s a good attitude to have. There are quite a few people who have the attitude that they don’t care about what the big guys are saying.]

[Eeh… won’t they be arrested that way?]

[Because the guild often deals with the likes of them before they become a problem. It’s difficult to ask for specific punishment, even if it’s a story about a nest. But if you don’t take care of it, you will be noticed and you won’t be able to work in Slurge so you should be careful.]

Ah, there are no penalties but administrative guidance…something like that.

They don’t mind if you go against it, but if you do that, you may not get the permission you need for business next time for some reason, right?
I grinned.

It doesn’t change anything with what I’m doing.
Should I just think it’s friendly, or should I lament that even in a fantasy world, humans are greedy?

[…I will seriously consider it.]

[Hahaha.]

Then, while Elliot and the others were flirting during their meal break, I checked my status.

======
************Personal data***********

Yoyo         Race: (Human)

Job:
☆ Interferer (10↑)
Swordsman (3↑)
None

MP: 12/12(↑)

Parameters:
Attack: G+
Defense: G
Agility: G+
Endurance: G
Magic: G
Magic Resistance: G

Skills:
View Status II
Manipulate Status
Add Job II (↑)
Display Status
Hide Status
Weak Slash

Supplementary information:
None

***************************

Both『Interferer』and 『Swordsman』have gone up a level… huh?

Job addition II is here!
Was it unlocked upon reaching level 10?
Maybe we can look forward to Job Addition III one day.

I immediately fiddled with the third job slot, which had none, and displayed the selection:

Traveler (3)
Citizen (1)
Rogue (1)
Survivalist (4)
Dagger User (2)
Magician (1)
Magic Gunner (5)
Spearman (1)
Scholar (1)
Swordsman (3)
Warrior (1)
Translator (1)
Playboy (1)
Shield Bearer (1)

Jobs up to 『Playboy』 were acquired before departure.
In today’s battle, I seem to have acquired something called a 『Shield Bearer』.
Well, I used my shield in battle quite a lot so it wouldn’t be strange to get a job like that.
About 『Warrior』…well, it’s because I’ve gained actual combat experience, or rather because I was in a state where I’ve only been in actual combat, so it’s probably something like that.

The 『Translator』 is…was it related to when I use the language of Earth? I was thinking about it quite a bit so I wonder if I got it right.

By the way, the horizontal characters that appear in nouns, such as the “Leader” in “Goblin Leader”, are not literal names, but paraphrases.
The name is the word “Gerantnusf”, which refers to [The Leader] or [The One who Leads] in the ancient imperial language of this world.

Here, it’s called “Goblin Gerantnusf”.
It’s the language of a country that’s already dead, and it seems to be the kind of language that’s used at key points in politics and religion, but it’s also permeated to some extent by the common people.

I guess it’s similar to English on Earth… I understand it as “Goblin Leader”, but I guess it’s more like Latin in terms of how it is used? I think?
Well, I don’t understand Latin so ignore my blabbering

When I think, I still use the language of Earth or rather, Japanese, so this kind of paraphrasing problem occurs.

What I don’t understand is the 『Player』.
I’m not a player.
Since I came to this world, I’ve been working so hard that I feel a little uncomfortable because I work too hard.

That’s the place that comes to mind.
This is because jobs rarely change or that, some people never change them for the rest of their lives, are changed from time to time out of necessity or just for fun.
None of the jobs last long and I change them when I get bored. Any ordinary person would need money to do that every time.
That’s a tonda bonbon. It’s a game of the Gods who have a lot of money.
And I’m the player.
Admit it.
I’ll admit it.

For now, I want combat power.
If possible, I would also like to have the skill to shoot something that can go kaboom.

As a candidate, the 『Warrior』 is a highly versatile combat job.
The 『Shield Bearer』 that seems to be able to strengthen the shield that has been protecting me for a while also sounds like a good idea.
Perhaps one of those 2?

There is also the possibility of taking a high-level 『Survivalist』 or 『Magic Gunner』 and hoping for reworked status.

However, I haven’t properly investigated how the status correction actually works.
As a resident of this world, it seems like a fairly basic question so I hesitate to ask Elliot.
I’ll probably be recognized as an idiot who doesn’t know common sense, but if I go too far, they might think that something’s wrong.
I want to avoid that if possible.

The next library trip will be about the effects of status corrections.

[Alright.]

I’ve decided. Let’s do that. After quickly setting up the third job, I checked the status one last time then got up and prepared to leave the area.

Leave a comment