Lion Coeur Senki ch.18

Weekly chapters (1/2)

New chapter of Santairiku Eiyuuki should be ready next week.
Along with the early releases for Patron too.
Sorry for the long wait.

Enjoy the chapter.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Travis

Chapter 18 – Friends

Winter has come.

During the winter, Albert’s abuse of children slowed down a little. And we all got used to killing already, so we killed less poor people.

In other words, we are training properly.
That being said, it’s by Albert’s standards…

[Damn, I submit!]

Jean surrendered as I forced him to.

We’re used to doing close quarter combat with daggers, but I’m really good at this type of fighting.
First of all, there’s no way I would lose to either Rolo or Jean.

The reason is simple: Judo.

I had only acquired up to 2nd Dan from the high school club, but Judo was actually quite sophisticated for one-on-one combat.

When it comes to wrestling with amateur opponents, I almost never lose.
Even when fighting with daggers, it is quite possible to pull the opponent’s sleeves or trip their legs to break their balance.

The grappling part is when I’m the most brutal and nearly invincible against people who aren’t used to it.
And since we’re using daggers…being suppressed is equal to death.

However, although this is a story limited to one-on-one…

[Varian-sama, you’re really strong.]

Jean stood up in frustration.

[Umu, that’s all for today. Jean and Rolo should learn Varian’s martial arts. He is like a skilled warrior.]

Albert also praises me for this.
I feel like I’m cheating, but it’s also the result of my past efforts.

[Haa, no matter what I do, I’m still no match to Varian-sama… it’s depressing.]

Rolo muttered while putting away his training equipment.
This is a little unusual.

[What’s wrong? Did something happen?]

I was worried about Rolo’s condition, so I called out to him, but he only laughed weakly in response.

[Varian-sama doesn’t understand, it’s unfair to be both so strong and smart from birth.]

Jean stuck out his tongue while saying some sarcasm.
This must have been his way of representing Rolo’s feelings.
Jean’s clumsy kindness.

Jean left saying [Don’t follow us!] and went off somewhere shoulder to shoulder with Rolo.

…If you ask me, both Rolo and Jean are amazing enough…

That’s my true thoughts.
I beat them only because I have a 41 year advantage over them.
When I was in the third grade of elementary school, I was obsessed with video games.

Since he told me not to follow them, I turned on my heels and started walking, but I didn’t have anything in particular to do.

I returned home and sat in the hall, staring blankly at my mother’s embroidery.

[What’s wrong? Varian, did you fight with your friends?]

[No, training is over today. Jean and Rolo aren’t here either…]

My mother, Rushieno, gently laughed, saying [So, you’re bored?].

[Then, I’ll give you a job. Katia is here, so please take care of her.]

I let out an [Oh?].
Katia is my half-sister, and Rushieno should not have had very good feelings for her.

[Katia is here?]

[Yes. It seems that Giselle and Hugh have something to talk about, which leaves Katia bored.]

Giselle-san and her children live in separate houses, so we do not usually interact with each other.

[Got it], I replied to Rushieno and searched for Katia.
I found her soon enough, arranging snowballs in the garden with a bored look on her face.

[Hi, Katia.]

When I called out to her, Katia shrugged.
Katia was 8 years old, one year younger than me, but as a child she may have felt uncomfortable in this mansion.

[Do you remember me?]

[…..Varian-sama.]

Katia answered in a shy voice.

Her beautiful black hair is braided and draped over her back.
It’s simple and cute.

It seems that the people of Lioncoeur like to braid their hair.

[No, I’m Katia’s big brother. Please don’t use honorifics when calling me.]

I told her what my brother Robel once said to me, but she just seemed uneasy.

[Katia, if you’re bored, let’s play a game that was popular in the Royal Capital. It’s fun.]

I said, [Wait a minute], and prepared a sugoroku board.

In fact, Sugoroku was brought back by the squires, and it’s becoming quite popular in Lioncoeur.

[It’s called Sugoroku. Do you know it?]

Katia shook her head in response.

I grabbed a female slave who seemed to be idle, arranged stones in the garden randomly and made seats, and the three of us started playing Sugoroku.
Neither Katia nor the slaves knew the rules, but they seemed to pick it up quickly because of the simplicity.

After repeating this twice, a squire who likes Sugoroku came up, so the four of us played repeatedly with him.

[Kaah, it’s 2 again! Varian-sama! Is the dice loaded or something!?]

The squire’s over-the-top reaction made the game quite lively.
Katia was also chuckling.

After repeating this several times, it seemed that the conversation was over, and my father, Rudolph, came out to the garden with Giselle and Hugh.

[Hmm, Varian…? You were watching over Katia, weren’t you?]

Rudolph looked at me and Katia, then smiled lightly.

[Dear me, Katia, you are causing trouble for Varian-san…]

Giselle frowned.

[I was just playing a game with her. Right. Katia?]

When I called out to Katia, she shyly lowered her head and whispered, [Thank you, onii-san].

Giselle and Hugh seemed a little surprised.

[Katia, it’s rude to call Varian-san your big brother.]

Giselle hurriedly scolded Katya, but I stopped her.

[I asked Katia to play with me. I kept asking father to give me a little sister, but he couldn’t so far.]

When I made a vulgar joke, the squire burst out laughing, and I got fisted by Rudolph… I guess I got too carried away there.

[Alright, I get it, Varian-san.]

Giselle also laughed.
This is alright.

[Varian, Hugh is going to take the name of Boulard, which previously belonged to a scion-less knight who has completely gone …Keep this in mind.]

Rudolph spoke gravely, and Hugh stepped forward.

Hugh was 12 years old, three years older than me. He is between Robel and me.
A thin boy who looked more like his mother Giselle than his father Rudolph.
His black hair and black eyes would make anyone could tell the thick blood of Lioncoeur in him.

[From now on, I will call myself Hughes de Boulard. I look forward to working with you.]

Hugh gave a firm greeting.
He didn’t seem to have much affection for me.

[Boulard-dono, I look forward to your guidance.]

I also respectfully bowed my head.
Although only in name, Hugh will inherit the Knight’s house.
Even though I came from the main family, it’s not my place to be bossy since I’m the second child.

[Umu. before Varian, there is Hugh, and before Hugh, there is Robel. Even if they were born of different mothers, they are brothers who are related by blood.]

Rudolph said so and nodded, but what about Hugh’s heart?

It sounds good to say that he inherited the knighthood, but a change in his surname is equivalent to cutting off the possibility of him becoming Rudolph’s successor.

Moreover, there was no mention of the territory in the greeting just now. I wonder if he will even get one.
Without territory, a knight is pretty much nothing.
There will be no other way to build yourself up than being a mercenary.

Rudolph would probably want to give Hugh a territory, but if he wielded power poorly, Robel and Rushieno would hate Rudolph for it.

I guess I figured out why Rushieno’s mood was so soft earlier.

[I hear that Varian-sama excels in both literary and military arts, so please guide me.]

Hugh’s shell was hard to break.
I couldn’t read his mind.

[Onii-san, Sugoroku was fun.]

Katia’s happy muttering was impressive.

[Varian, please take care of Hughes and Katia… Robel doesn’t really like them because of his mother’s influence.]

After Giselle and the others returned home, Rudolph muttered sadly.

[Of course, the one who wants to be Katia’s husband will be tested by me.]

Rudolph laughed lightly in response to my joking around and stroked my head.

[Don’t worry about it so much, you’re smart, but… no, don’t worry about it.]

Rudolph grabbed my shoulder.

…Ah, so this person is my father…

I felt a definite warmth from Rudolph’s powerful hands.

=========

A few weeks later, I was surprised by Rolo and Jean.

It seemed that they’re doing some special training when I wasn’t looking. Rolo’s skill with shield and Jean’s with bow had also clearly improved.

[It doesn’t matter if you do the same thing.]

Rolo was shy as he said that.
His embarrassed expression reminded me of Rona’s.

[The three of us complement each other! Grandpa taught me this.]

Albert did?

When I stared at him with a surprised expression, the butler with a scary face laughed,

[That’s how comrades work. We don’t all have to excel at the same thing.]

Albert showed a powerful smile.
Perhaps he had friends like that.

[That’s right, we complement each other and become stronger together.]

When I said this, it somehow reminded me of Hugh.

…does he have friends to support each other…?

If possible, I’d like to add him as a companion, but Robel and Rushieno will hate me if we get too close.

It’s difficult.

Just when I thought it was cold, it started snowing.
The winter in Lioncoeur is often snowy and severe.
On top of that, many people will die.

Leave a comment