Lion Coeur Senki ch.26

Weekly chapters (1/2)

Happy New Year 2024 everyone!
I hope everyone will have good and prosperous year

Enjoy the chapter.

Translator & Editor: Raizu

Chapter 26 – Grandfather’s Armor

I was 14 years old, and it was a tough year.

In early spring, there was an outbreak of an epidemic called Cair Fever.

This is an illness in which the patient has a high fever that lasts for several weeks and is accompanied by eczema.

It originated from the slum, and the infection spread to thousands of people in the capital.

I heard that hundreds of people, mainly poor people with poor nutritional status, died.

I strongly warned Jean and Rolo to stay away from infected people and contaminated areas.
Fortunately, we escaped infection.

However, it seems that my father’s second wife, Giselle, and my half-brother, Hugh, ended up contracting the disease.

I heard that Giselle in particular became seriously ill, and at one point had a priest called in to hold a mass for her in her final stages of life.
Afterwards, she survived, but apparently her health deteriorated that she had to be bedridden for several months.

Although the epidemic was brought to an end within a few months, bad things continue to happen.

At this time, a message arrived from the Royal Capital.
The King’s younger brother was gathering troops in the southern part of the Kingdom, which is his power base, and was making some strange moves.

The King and feudal lord have a contractual relationship.
It was decided in advance that this many soldiers would be sent out in the event of war.

The King cannot force his vassals to do anything outside of the contract, and the vassals cannot violate the contract.

If a King forces his vassals to do something that is outside of the contract, he’ll be called a “tyrant” and cannot complain even if his vassals become independent or serve another country; conversely, if the vassals do not abide by the contract, it is considered rebellion.

Rudolph and Robel gathered around 2,000 soldiers and set out toward the southwest.

However, suffering is something that occurs continuously.

A month after Rudolph and his retinue left, Viscount Bazelard declared war on the Earl of Lioncoeur.

============

[It seems like if things continue like this, we won’t be able to gather enough troops and things will be bad.]

I stood in front of Rolo, Jean, and Andre and discussed the current situation.

The information I received was from my uncle Rodrigue, who was the house-sitter, and Albert, the butler.
It should be reliable news.

[In that case, will we be holed up in the fortified city of Portu until the Earl returns?]

Andre asked worriedly.
His older brother joined the expeditionary force… I’m sure he’ll be curious about what’s going on.

[No, in addition to the plague, there is also the expeditionary force. Lioncoeur doesn’t have any extra manpower left.]

Yes, it seems that the Lioncoeur territory, which has been plagued by many disasters, lacks the supplies to support a long-term siege.
Even if we conscripted additional soldiers, we would still not have enough food and equipment.

Revenue had decreased due to the epidemic, and the expeditionary force had taken away most of the supplies, not to mention Viscount Bazelard’s blockade.
There is also the option of requisitioning them from within the territory, but that would really be a last resort.

[So, we’ll go to war too. We have the equipment. The four of us.]

I clearly informed them that I intended to participate in the war.

I never ask, “Can I go?”
We are friends. Is it even possible to say that only one person will participate?

[We did it! We can finally go to war!]

Jean does a fist pump without hiding his joy.

[Of course. Varian-sama, I’m sure we can fight well enough.]

Rolo smiled fearlessly with a calm demeanor.

[Alright, I can fight too! …Well, it’s my first time though. Ahaha.]

Andre was 19 years old at this time, but he didn’t seem to have any prior experience in combat.
Until now, it’s always been his father and older brother who have gone to war.

They are really reliable friends.
Instead of being scared by the unexpected first war, they showed their fighting spirit and laughed.

[Right, uncle and Albert should be gathering troops. I’ll prepare my equipment and join in!]

I stood up vigorously and returned to the mansion.
Everyone should also prepare their own equipment.

[Andre, if you can’t make it in time, I’ll meet you in Portu!]

[Got it!]

Andre also hurried back to the village.

I hurried back to my room, put on my old leather armor, and hung my dagger on my waist.

There’s no problem with bows and shields either.
Once I put on the mask (Menjo) and Jinkasa, I’m all set.

There’s only one prototype, so I had it.

…Alright, what’s left is…

When I got ready and turned around, there was a shadow of a person there.

[Varian, are you going to leave without saying anything to your mother?]

That was my mother Rushieno.
And she had a stern expression on her face.

[…Mother…]

I felt a little embarrassed and couldn’t speak.

[Come over here.]

Rushieno beckoned me with a strictness that did not allow for any objection.
As I followed her, we arrived in the armory.
Unable to connect the images of Rushieno and the armory, I tilted my head.

Rushieno doesn’t care, and tells me, “Here,” and enters the armory.

[Look at this, Varian.]

What Rushieno showed me was a splendid chain mail and helmet.

[This is the armor that your grandfather used… your father always took care of it. The son of Earl Lioncoeur should not go into battle in such a shabby state, so here you go… Use it.]

I stared at my grandfather’s armor so hard that my gaze could’ve bored holes in it.

…It’s amazing, the chainmail is double woven…My grandfather must have been a big man…

[Come, Mother will help you put it on.]

At Rushieno’s urging, I put on the quilted gambeson* and chainmail. (*TL Note: a padded defensive jacket, worn as armour separately, or combined with mail or plate armour)

The double chainmail was heavy on my shoulders, but when I tightened the belt, the burden was dispersed and it became manageable.

My body is already much taller than average, but this chainmail is still a little big.

[Is it a little big? Grandfather must be a big man.]

[Yes, but you will grow to be as big as he was… this armor will protect you, much like how it protected your grandfather.]

Rushieno continued speaking as if praying.

[Actually, I wanted to sew up the lower part of the armor, but…]

Her face clouded.
Although I had long since surpassed my mother in height, she’s still worried about me, her child.

I put on my mask and my helmet.
Leather armor was layered over the chain mail.

The drop-shaped helmet has a part that protects the nose, and I was worried that it would hit my face, but the angle was perfect and it didn’t hit me as I feared.
The master blacksmith probably designed it that way.

[Ah, how dignified.]

Rushieno looked at me in affection and handed me a fine long sword and shield.

I wielded both sword and shield.

[I couldn’t even attend the investiture ceremony… Please forgive me, Varian.]

[No, it’s enough that I get to see Mother now. Thank you, Mother… If we don’t win this battle, we won’t come back alive.]

This time it’s a defensive battle.
As a member of the Earl’s family, I can’t just stay home and say we’ve lost…the feudal lord’s family is the first to die in an emergency.
For that reason, I usually have luxuries and eat delicious food.

This time, I’m literally fighting to the death.

When I announced my decision, Rushieno let out a sob and burst into tears.

[I’m going……please take care of Sumina in my stead.]

I grabbed my quiver and bow and went out of the armory.

============

When I went to the plaza, a large number of people had already gathered, and my uncle Rodrigue was organizing them.
He was already armed.

When I approached, Rodrigue looked at me with a shocked face.

[Fa–Father…? No way!?]

My uncle seemed surprised when he saw my grandfather’s armor.

Of course, I thought with a wry smile on my face.

[Uncle, it’s me, Varian.]

[Ah, Varian… you surprised me. Is that a mask you’re wearing?]

Rodrigue breathed a sigh of relief.
The people of the Amoros region are deeply religious. He may have thought that my grandfather had returned from the afterlife to fight in the war.

[I got this from my mother.]

[I see… Varian is big after all. That armor was too heavy for me.]

He laughed.
Even though we’re going to a battlefield where we’ll definitely be at a disadvantage, this uncle can still act normal… Even though I don’t have much experience, I feel like I can rely on him.

Then, the butler suddenly appeared with a scary look on his face, as if he had spotted me talking to my uncle.

[Hmm, with that armor, the enemy’s spear will never be able to reach you. It’ll be best to trust the protection of the armor and fight to your heart’s content.]

Just like my uncle, Albert also looked at the armor with nostalgia.

[This time I’ve prepared a helper… Hey! What are you doing!?]

[It’s so noisy. It’s true that your voice gets louder when you can’t hear a thing.]

The figure that appeared while fighting with Albert looked familiar.

[You are Jiro’s…!]

[It’s Yannick. Do you remember?]

Surprisingly, the helper that Albert had prepared was Yannick, Giroude’s father.

He has an impressive face with a lot of scars…it’s certainly not a face you’ll easily forget.

[I will be away since I have to take command. Take care of this shithead.]

[Who dares to call me a shithead!]

Albert and Yannick were fighting furiously.
But for some reason I could only see them as good friends.

[As long as Albert stays away and Jiro’s father is with us, there’s nothing to be afraid of. Thank you, Yannick-san and Albert.]

When I thanked them, the two old men showed a powerful laugh.

[Uwaa, Varian-sama, that’s amazing armor! How sneaky!]

When I turned to look, Jean and Rolo were also approaching.
Both of them wore the ashigaru-style jingasa and leather armor.
Since this is not an expedition, they weren’t wearing a backpack.

While we were having fun, a slender young warrior appeared from behind Jean.
The young warrior looked at Jean and Rolo’s camp hats with interest and murmured, [That’s an unusually shaped helmet].

That was my half-brother, Hugh.
He was scheduled to join the expeditionary force, but was unable to participate as he contracted a fever.

He was wearing armor made of hard leather and an old drop-shaped helmet.
As a commander, it’s a little disappointing equipment, but compared to the soldiers who are dressed like they’re naked, it’s a splendid piece of equipment.

[Boulard-sama…]

[Just call me Hugh. And I will also call you Varian. There is no need for formal courtesy on the battlefield.]

Hugh held out his hand, and I shook it firmly.

[Hugh, thank you for coming.]

[You too, Varian.]

We both nodded.

Hugh had a thin silhouette and an unreliable impression, but he has patience and intelligence.
He probably decided that there was no point in keeping his hostility in this emergency.

This probably doesn’t mean his grievances are gone, but it’s fine for this occasion.

Looking at the plaza, there were already close to 400 soldiers gathered.
Because the young and well-equipped people were participating in the expeditionary forces, the elderly and those without sophisticated equipment were noticeable among the soldiers.

However, they are brave warriors who have gathered to protect the land where they live.
Morale was so high that it soared into the sky.

My uncle stood on top of a cart loaded with supplies and faced the soldiers.
It seemed like he’s going to address the assembled soldiers and give a speech.

[Everyone gathered well! As you know, Bazelard-scum has moved his army, aiming for our city of Lioncoeur!!]

The soldiers all started booing.
Everyone hates Viscount Bazelard.

[We are weakened by the epidemic and we don’t even have an expeditionary force! But, we can’t give in to those despicable people!!]

I can almost see the square filled with fighting spirit as my uncle rallied up the soldiers.

[Win!! Give no mercy to that despicable thief!!]

My uncle raised his fist to the sky.

[ [Woooooooooooooo!!] ]

The soldiers responded to my uncle by letting out a roar, banging their shields, and stomping their feet.
With that momentum, we left the capital.

To protect our hometown.

Leave a comment