Isekai Trip ~with a slave harem~ ch.22

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Enjoy the chapter~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Chapter 22 – Magic

『Meat Owl House』 was a Chinese restaurant with a commoner atmosphere.
I explained to the staff that I was meeting, and when I took a seat and looked around, I saw that the meat dishes were lined up on each table. The reason why it looks like a Chinese restaurant is because of the style of arranging various dishes on a large platter and picking from there.
The dishes also have a vaguely Chinese feel to them, such as roasted chicken and pieces of shredded and stir-fried meat topped with a thick vegetable filling.

[Looks delicious.]

[True, true!]

Sasha leaned forward and examined the menu.
Well, if it’s a platter style, I don’t think they’ll get angry if I order something random and eat it first.

[Hey, hey, did I keep you waiting?]

Then Elliot, who is good looking and well-mannered, appeared with a bunch of slaves. Some of those women I haven’t seen before?

[No, not that much. What’s with all these girls?]

Elliot grabbed the shoulder of the woman that I saw for the first time and gently pushed her forward at me.

[Nice to meet you. This one’s name is Zurya.]

Zurya, who bowed her head quietly, is slightly shorter than Elliot, dressed in armor that kinda punctuate her voluptuous breasts, and has fox-like ears on her head.
However, the most distinguishing feature that makes her stand out above all else is the greenish color of her skin.
Her face was sharp and noble, and she was wearing a bright red dress. It’s a bit out of place in this ordinary-looking restaurant.

[I’m Yoyo. Elliot to me is like… a senior? Something like that.]

[I have heard of you, Yoyo-sama.]

[Y, yeah.]

I wonder who she really is. Could she be Elliot’s relative? Or a fiance, perhaps?

[She’s the head slave who’s in charge of my house here. She’s also the first slave I bought.]

[Oh, a slave?]

I couldn’t help but look over Zurya’s whole body, but she didn’t look like a slave at all.

[She’s very studious, and has served as my partner when I attend a dinner with the nobles. I guess she’s learned a lot from those experiences.]

[I see.]

In other words, she’s not a fallen noble turned slave, but someone working hard to be able to mingle around the nobles. Then, there’s really no need for her to bow.

[Well, let’s order some food for now. Have you ordered anything yet?]

[No, not yet.]

Marie, who didn’t pay attention to our conversation, was spreading out the menu, and Sasha, who had straightened her posture and was ready to greet us, was drooling and emitting a hungry aura, so I asked her to choose the menu. I left it to her and ordered fruit wine for my drink.

[You were planning on going south now, weren’t you?]

[To the sacred ground, yes. I’ll check it out and if it looks interesting, I plan on going there.]

[I’ve heard about that place, too. There’s a lot of money to be made, but it’s also said to be very dangerous.]

[I guess?]

A sacred ground for monster hunting. I imagine there are many dangerous monsters out there. That’s why even if monster hunters gather from all over the place, they can’t hunt them all down.

[Apparently the entire territory is surrounded by a wall. But even that isn’t enough, so there are several forts around the area.]

[The whole territory? That’s amazing.]

The outer walls we have seen so far were mainly built to protect limited areas of land, such as surrounding cities, accommodation areas, or farmland.
Surrounding the entire territory to keep things inside, now that’s something.

[Even though it’s called a wall, there are some places that are just fences, and some that have been destroyed by monsters.]

[Well, I guess it’s natural.]

[It seems that there are bases for monster hunting scattered within the walls. A monster hunter once boasted that he was in Taraleskin, the largest city in “Middle’.]

[Taraleskin?]

[Seems like it’s a pretty dangerous place. To be able to spend some time in Taraleskin seems to be quite an honor.]

[Why didn’t you try going there too, Elliot?]

[Well, I’ve been mainly active in the north. Also, by the time I heard about the sacred ground, I was already capable of making a decent living. I don’t think I’d risk it for fame.]

[I see.]

For those who make a living by hunting monsters, the sacred ground is in a way similar to the American Dream. Of course, where there is light, there is also darkness. There is no need to push yourself too hard.

[Well, either way, we’ll have to gather the information. Until then, we’ll be here, but there aren’t many monsters around here, so it’s a problem.]

[Yeah.]

Elliot nodded as he put his hands on the meatballs that had been brought to him.

[There are no spawn points in this area, and the monsters that flow in are being thoroughly hunted down. If you’re going to do it, it’s to the east.]

[…east?]

[Yes. There’s nothing people can do about the spawn points in the sea. Monsters that flow from the sea always gather along the coast.]

[But, what about the ocean? You’ll probably need the appropriate equipment.]

[I guess. There are mercenaries who specialize in the sea. It’s not like they can just do it on their own.]

No matter how much Marie and Sasha asked for it, large plates were brought to them one after another.

[Oh, this giant shrimp dish ingredient is from sea monsters.]

Zurya interjected.

[Hoo~]

There was something that looked like a giant shrimp boiled in sweet and spicy sauce that I had never seen before on Earth, but this seemed to be a monster material.
As for the taste…umm, it’s plump and slightly sweet. It’s high quality shrimp.

[This city is actually nice…!]

Sasha was biting shrimp ecstatically.

[Well, they do have seafood here, and depending on the shipping, we’ll probably get a lot of different cuisines from all over the world. There’s probably plenty to eat.]

[Of course. There are many nobles who have built villas here and have their families live here, in addition to the Royal Capital.]

[Hahaha, Zurya is very knowledgeable.]

Elliot praised. No, but really, where does she get information about the nobles?

[Although I am a slave, there are some noble ladies who are friendly with me.]

[Amazing.]

Even if I wasn’t particularly good at dealing with women, I find it easier to get along with people like this.
Elliot is lucky because his first slave was Zurya.

[Is Zurya staying in Port Cures?]

[Pretty much, yeah. I used to bring her around with me, but now that I have a house here, I need someone to manage it.]

[Yes, I’m not good at fighting, but I like managing a house. Elliot-sama knew that and bought a house in a prime location here.]

Zurya blushed as she spoke.

[However, because of that, I rarely get to see Elliot-sama…]

[Yeah, what can I say, I’m full.]

Elliot probably would have been popular even without organizing a slave party. That’s a little different from me.

[There’s a lot of food here.]

[That’s not what we’re talking about!]

[Hahaha.]

With Elliot winking at me lightly, I shoved something similar to fried rice into my mouth.
What’s this?! Delicious! Fluffy rice, exquisite saltiness, and meat that melts in your mouth.

[It’s delicious! What kind of meat is this!?]

Sasha was having fun with Marie and Trisierra.
It’s a nice evening.

[Well then, I hope to see you again someday.]

[Yeah, thank you for all your help. When I come back, I’ll send a message to the mercenary guild…or maybe you could tell me where your house is?]

[Come to think of it, I haven’t told you. Fine, let me tell you now.]

He drew a simple map on a piece of paper he had on him.

[I’ll go there to say hello when I get back. I’d be happy if we could form a party again.]

[I’m honored to hear that, Yoyo-kun.]

[Me either.]

[Oh, and please cherish your life, for your own sake, and for Sasha’s.]

Elliot finally said that with a serious expression. Behind him, Marie, who I had gotten to know a little bit, was waving.
I waved back and looked away.
Before I knew it, Sasha was gripping my sleeve tightly. Tears were welling up in her eyes. At times like this, it’s common for girls to cry…

[Come on, let’s head back to the inn, Sasha.]

[Yes. Pardon me, Master.]

[Nah, don’t worry about it.]

It was the first time in this world that I had to say goodbye to people who I could call friends. I feel lonely too.
Even so, I was the one who decided to part ways with them. I honestly thought that I wanted to get stronger quickly and repay the favor I had received from them.
That night, I didn’t put my hands on Sasha, as she looked somewhat tired, and just hugged her tightly until I fell asleep.

================

[Are you the beginner who wants to learn about magic?]

When I headed to the mage’s guild, I was shown to a private room so I thought I came at the right time. But it turned out the other guy showed up late. She is a shortstack female magician. Is she also a dwarf?
Her blonde hair is tied into side tails, and the rest of her hair is about the length of a bob cut. Her face was cocky but well-shaped, and I had the impression that she might appear in an anime as a childhood friend.
She wears a very mage-like robe, but her face was completely exposed.

[What?]

[No, I mean, since you were invited by the receptionist, I was wondering if you are a dwarf too?]

[Impolite!]

The shortstack lady banged her hand on the desk angrily.

[I’m a proper human! I may be small, but do not denigrate me like that!]

[Oh, sorry. Calm down.]

[You’re just a beginner, but dares to make me angry!]

Yep, what a pain. Is it alright if I cancel now?

[I’m telling you, canceling now won’t work.]

[I-I didn’t think about that.]

[Eeh. rea–lly?]

The shortstack looked up at me sharply… or rather, she’s glaring at me.

[So, shortsta… I mean, what’s your name?]

[Shouldn’t you introduce yourself first!]

[It’s Yoyo. I’m a mercenary. A new『Magician』who just changed job recently.]

[No need to be so uptight!]

It looks like her anger still hasn’t subsided. Good grief.

[I’m Pikata! I’m a talented girl who attends a school in the center district.]

[If you say so…. Well, nice to meet you, Pikata. You’re going to teach me magic, right?]

[Indeed. So, are we going to start with the basic stuff first? What do you want to do?]

[Hmm. Right. First I’d like to know a little more about magician as a job.]

[Eeh, from there!? Was there any meaning in me coming here?]

[No, I haven’t specified anything in particular. I can change to someone else…]

[Well, fine then! First, pay the three silver coins in advance.]

She held out her hand, so I handed her the silver coins. Maybe it’s like a part-time job for a student.

[Fufun. This month will be a lot easier now. Now, let’s talk about magician as a job.]

[Yeah.]

Pikata put her finger on her chin and explained it step by step, surprisingly carefully, while trying to remember. It’s pretty easy to understand.

First of all, the『Magician』job is the basic job. You cannot access the other jobs linked to it unless you go through this first.
For example, if you raise the job levels of both『Magician』and『Swordsman』, you can get the『Magic Swordsman』job.
In this way, jobs may be combined with other jobs, including combat jobs, to create derivative jobs.
Patch’s『Healer』for example, is a derivative of『Magician』who focuses on the task of medic.

By the way,『Sex Magician』 is derived from Trisierra’s『Magician』and『Sex Expert』. Rumor has it that she can use “this” and “that” magic that can make a man’s dreams come true.

Then, by raising your『Magician』level and practicing magic techniques, you can obtain a special magician job.
In the first place, early『Magician』could only use magic with four-attributes called basic magic: fire, water, earth, and wind.
If you specialize in fire magic from there, you may be able to obtain specialized jobs such as『Fire Magician』
Likewise, you can also develop ice magic, lightning magic, etc by modifying the four basic magics.
And then, jobs such as『Lightning Magician』that specialized in that can be obtained.

Also, although it is unknown what triggers it, you may acquire a job that allows you to use special magic that you were unable to use before.
This also applies to the『Space Magician』 job, which according to Sasha was a legendary job.
It seems that jobs such as『Light Magician』and『Dark Magician』are more popular. It is said that you can also obtain something like『Body Strengthening Mage』

[There is also a job called『Sorcerer』which is said to be a legitimate advance level of the『Magician』job. Of course, if you change jobs, you will start from level 1, so even if you can get it, think carefully about whether to change jobs or not.]

[I see, that was pretty easy to understand. So helpful.]

[Y, yes… it’s only natural. I, an elite magician, explained it to you]

This girl is so cute. Is this what they call a tsundere? Although it seems like it would be troublesome to deal with in real life.

[There’s still time. I’d like to talk to you about magic.]

[Now you’re asking the real question. So, can you use magic now?]

[Just a little bit, I guess. Please keep an eye on me.]

I activated water magic and poured out about half a cup of water with the image of collecting water.

[So, water magic? It behaved a little strangely, but that’s not half bad for a level 1?]

[Is the magic strength related to level?]

[That’s right, as the magic parameter increases, its power also increases.]

[Ah, I see I see,]

[After that, magic requires imagination and correct knowledge. I’m saying that you did a pretty good job even though it was your first time doing it your own way.]

[So, if I practice, I can use offensive magic even at level 1?]

[For attacking… I’m not quite sure about that, but with practice, I think it’ll be powerful enough to pose some danger to the person you’re aiming it at?]

[Ohh.]

So it’s possible. But, what I’m still missing is the knowledge on how magic is used in this world, right?

[If you want to practice water magic, it would be better to first draw some water and move it.]

[Is that so?]

[That is so. Well, magic is basically about intervening with matter. It’s a little difficult to make water or fire come out of nothing. First, you need to get a feel for moving things with magic.]

[Hoho.]

I immediately ordered Sasha to fill a glass with water.
When I placed a leaf on it and imagined the water to move it…but it didn’t.
Maybe I’m a special type.

[What are you doing?]

[Well, I just wanted to try it out.]

However, I was a little embarrassed when I was praised for saying that floating leaves and shaking them with water was a reasonable way to train for beginners.
Indeed, when I held my hand over water while activating water magic, I could feel the magical power flowing through the water, just like when using a magic tool.
If I try to move it slowly, like when practicing the magic power of a magic gun, a stream of water will be created and the leaves will shake. Hmm, it went well.

[I, I see that you have a knack for it…. you really only changed jobs recently, right?]

[Yeah, but I’ve been using a magic tool, so I guess that experience carry through.]

[Magic tool, huh… I wonder if that’s how the『Magician』job became available for you.]

Pikata said something smart there. It’s probably the reason why I got the『Magician』job.

[Isn’t that how you usually get them?]

[It’s similar, but different. I guess it’s normal that there are magic tools that allow you to practice manipulating magic, and you acquire them as you practice.]

[Does that mean you have a magic tool for acquiring jobs?]

[Yes, but it’s expensive, so it’s hard for commoners to become magicians.]

[I see…]

Even so, the reason why there are so many magicians is that if you become a magician, you will be given preferential treatment in various professions, so it seems that there are a certain number of parents who spend a lot of money trying to force their children to get the job.
Well, it’s true that magic would come in handy in both production and business. Just having water available at any time will make your trip much easier.

After that, I practiced water magic until the water jumped out of the cup, and then I received advice on practicing other magic.
I’ve also heard that it’s easier to imagine magic that can be created out of nothing as magic power being converted into water, rather than gathering water from the air.
I wonder if magic powers can transform… That image may not have been unexpected. It can be said that my knowledge of chemistry got in the way.
However, I was told that if I wanted to learn higher-level magic, I would need to have knowledge of chemistry, such as evaporation, so it wasn’t a waste of time.
In fact, Pikata was very surprised that an uneducated man who had been a mercenary actually had some understanding of the principles involved.

[Who are you, really? How come you’re pretty good at this already?]

[No, no, I was just curious and asked people who knew more about it. I haven’t studied it properly, so there are a lot of things that are vague.]

She nodded. But I think her attitude toward me softened a little, perhaps because she realized that I was a surprisingly well-educated man.

[I had an image of you as a stupid mercenary who admired magic, but I like people who have a real desire to learn.]

I was a little surprised when she looked at me and smiled widely to the point of showing her teeth. Well, I can’t fall in love with her because she’s not my preference in so many ways physically.
We arranged another session this week and next week that would suit us, as I decided to take a few more classes, and the lectures ended that day.

It’s great that magic can be used somehow.
Until the level of『Magician』increases, it may only be useful as a deterrent, but any number of long-distance attack methods are fine.
Or is it okay to use magic primarily for defense, considering attacks can be supplemented with magic guns?
Yeah, it’s fun to think about how to use skills like this. Let’s go ahead and raise the level.

Leave a comment