Lion Coeur Senki ch.33

Bonus Chapter

Please support us on our group Patreon so we can deliver more chapters to you.

Enjoy the chapter~

Chapter 33 – Brothers

This was some time before Rolo’s wedding.

Viscount Bazelard, who was defeated by us, surrendered.

The expeditionary force led by Rudolph had turned back.

When Bazelard’s army invaded, Rudolph’s expeditionary force was supposed to be tangled down by the rebellion in the southwest.

However, Bazelard’s army was repelled by Rodrigue, who was taking charge while Rudolph was away, and Rudolph himself chose to ignore the rebel and withdrew back with the expeditionary forces.

As a result, Bazelard’s territory was overrun.

Due to the defeat by our makeshift army, the Bazelard troops which were prepared to clash against the expeditionary force lost morale and fell apart.
The small castles and villages across the region were plundered by the expeditionary forces, and the captured soldiers were strung up in beads and sent to Lioncoeur.
Those who cannot pay the ransom will be destined to die in the mines as slaves.

Viscount Bazelard, who did not respond to the summons of troops from the capital and began his own military action, was considered to have enacted a clear act of treason.

Viscount Bazelard, who surrendered, turned himself in to the Royal Capital and was arrested, while his eldest son (the General who fell off his horse in a fight with our absentee army) was killed in battle. Other knights were also taken prisoner by Lioncoeur and had to pay a huge ransom.

It seemed that Viscount Bazelard was also released after having to pay 6 million ducats to the King… Naturally, these are debts.

In order to repay the debts of the Bazelard territory, heavy taxes, said to be as much as 80% of the territory’s income, were placed on the people of the territory. In the end it sparked the peasants’ revolt.

….and Viscount Bazelard went bankrupt.

It seems that the King’s younger brother could not abandon Viscount Bazelard, a member of his faction, and provided him with a great deal of assistance.
Because if you abandon your henchmen, you won’t be able to maintain your faction.
Meanwhile Rudolph had earned a lot of resentment from the King’s brother faction, despite them starting this whole antics first, but this can’t be helped.

Apparently my father, Rudolph, was also being forced to make an explanation in the capital for withdrawing the expeditionary force without permission.

Personally, it’s difficult.
I don’t even want to think about factions or politics.

However, what I think about is how terrifying they are.
If it wasn’t for a little luck, it’d be our Lioncoeur who’d gone bankrupt.

To begin with, this is why rebellions occur so frequently.
The Kingdom of Amoros is probably too large.
There is no proper governance.

It would probably be easier if the southern part of the country, which is responsible for the King’s younger brother, became independent… but well, I guess that’s not going to happen.

The King’s younger brother was forgiven thanks to Viscount Bazelard’s blasphemy.
This is because the armed uprising itself ended with just a mere “greeting”.

It seems that people make fun of the King who continues to forgive his brother even after being betrayed many times, calling him a “King of Kindness”.
Of course, there were also many who openly criticized him.

Thus, the rebellion continues.

『Do not forgive those who cause rebellion』

I learned that from this sibling fight that is so big in scale.

===============

The expeditionary force had pulled up.
This is a great achievement.

The march was like a parade, and the capital was in a festive mood.

Rudolph, the commander-in-chief, had left for the Royal Capital, so my older brother Robel was in charge.

There is no doubt that this is intended to give a strong impression to the people that Robel is the successor to Earl Lioncoeur.

…..It’s splendid…

I watched over Robel’s heroic parade alongside my mother and sister-in-law.
Even though I played an active role in this battle, I had no intention of fighting for the headship of the family.

After telling the army to disband, Robel left the chores to his subordinates and quickly walked toward us.

Our mother Rushieno started to fidget.
She was worried about Robel. Even from the sidelines, I could see that she wanted to hug him.

And… Robel went to hug his wife Floria first.
They looked at each other and kissed deeply.

…Well, I guess it’s only natural…Still, foreign kisses are amazing…

I was looking at Robel blankly, but suddenly I got curious and glanced at Rushieno.
She was clearly disappointed…her well-shaped eyebrows were shaped into a figure eight.

[Mother, they can’t help it. They’re still young.]

I hugged Rushieno and said, [Please be satisfied with this instead].

[Oh, Varian.]

Rushieno also hugged me back tightly.
I guess you can call this compensation?

Robel and Floria were looking at us strangely.

Yeah, I don’t really understand either.

[Hey, Varian, didn’t you go to war? Tell me the story.]

After we finished hugging, Robel happily approached me.

[Hmm… You’ve grown up again. Are you really 14 years old?]

Robel had a complicated expression when he saw me…he has a fine physique, but I’m still taller than him.

I’m about to fall into the category of what’s called a “giant”.
Moreover, I hadn’t stopped growing yet…I’m worried that I might end up like the professional wrestler known as the Giant.

[Fufu, Robel… Varian is amazing. He fought wearing his grandfather’s armor. He’s very strong.]

[Eh!? That armor!?]

When Rushieno and Robel talked happily, Floria looked a little sullen.
I thought she was a daughter-in-law who got along well with her mother-in-law, but there may be a lot going on.

…Well, we’re human after all. There are various things.

I love this family, including Floria.
That’s why I don’t wish to have any familial quarrels or conflicts.

==============

A few days after my brother’s return, two news of death arrived at the Lioncoeur mansion.

My father’s second wife Giselle, and Yannick. (TL Note: In case you forgot Yannick is Giroude’s father)

Giselle had fallen ill with the plague, and although she had recovered from the disease, she was too weakened to the point of bedridden.

As for Yannick, apparently his spear stab wound worsened.

I was quite shocked by the death of people that I had interacted with.
Giselle in particular was still young and not old enough to die.

Giselle is still our relative, so I thought of attending the funeral, but both Rushieno and Robel reacted indifferently.

[Varian, you can’t attend all the funerals everytime a citizen dies.]

I knew deep down, Robel despises Giselle and her children.
It’s also because Rushieno hates Giselle, which in turn strongly influenced Robel.

[But, isn’t she Hugh and Katia’s mother? She is the mother of our father’s children.]

When I continued to insist, Robel simply snorted back.

[You’re the only brother I have, Varian. Is a child born to a freed slave, even our siblings?]

I heard that Giselle was from a lowly background, but to hear that she was a slave… Now I kinda get it.

Slaves are considered a type of livestock that can be bought and sold.
It is me who is an oddball because I make friends with people using my modern person’s common sense.

If a nobleman lusted after livestock, he would be laughed at.
This is why no one talked about Giselle’s origins…they were hiding their shame.

However, I could clearly see the strength of Rudolph’s feelings for Giselle.
Without fear of criticism, he recognized children who normally would not be recognized. I think Rudolph has courage.

[Brother…I think Father would be sad if he heard about it…I’m sorry.]

Robel showed a slight reaction to my words, but otherwise remained silent.

I headed to Giselle’s mansion with an indescribable feeling.

The mansion where Giselle and her relatives live is sparsely populated, reminding me of her limited social relationships.

The body was said to have already been buried in the church… Normally, when a person of a certain rank dies, the body will be kept for a while, but Hugh seemed to have taken it short… I guess he was concerned about his origins.

When I came to offer my condolences, Hugh looked a little surprised.

[I am sorry for your loss. My condolences.]

[This… I’m sorry for inconveniencing you.]

Hugh looked like he wanted to say something, but he swallowed and gave a normal greeting.

I observed the mansion casually.
It was my first time visiting, partly due to my reservations about Rushieno… I think it’s sad that I only visit here to pay my condolences.

It’s a simple, small mansion.
There seem to be some servants, but perhaps it’s the family style, and they seem to act inconspicuously.

[Honestly, I never thought you would come…]

[Well, it seems like a lot has happened to Giselle-san, but she’s an acquaintance…and she’s still the mother of my siblings.]

Hugh reacted strongly to my mention of “my siblings”.

[I see… Yes. Katia will be happy to hear that too.]

Hugh must’ve guessed what kind of exchanges with my own relatives that I need to go through to actually visit here.
Rushieno and Robel blatantly hated and despised Giselle after all.

I continued the small talk with Hugh, and before I knew it, Katia had also joined in.

When I thought about it, I had almost no contact with these half-siblings.

[Hugh, you see… if you don’t mind.]

I invited Hugh to join me as my retainer.
Hugh is a nice young man who gives the impression of being quiet and intelligent.
I think he is someone I can work with as long as we don’t have any major disagreements.

[No, thanks… It’ll only bring you no good words if I were to work closely with you.]

Hugh muttered in a low voice.

It’s true that there might be a problem if the younger siblings collude, leaving behind the eldest son.

[I’m thinking of going on a journey… my mother has passed away, and the Earl is currently away…in a sense, it’s an opportunity, isn’t it?]

The journey that he referred to is some sort of training as a warrior.
In this era, knights, craftsmen, merchants, and people of various professions often set out on journeys.

In particular, the term 「Journeying Knight」 is also a star figure who can become the main character of a story as they travel from place to place in search of romance and adventure.
Some people work as mercenaries in search of new honor.
If it matches the demand, you may be able to work as a government official.

On the other hand, the reality is not so kind. It is not uncommon for people to be attacked by bandits, become bandits, starve to death, or freeze to death…

[So, I want to entrust Katia in Varian’s care.]

[You want me to do what…?]

I looked at Katia.
She looks slender, similar to Gisele.
But, she has the features of a beautiful girl.
Her long black hair is easily tied up and falls down her back, giving her a neat and clean look.

[No, I mean to say that I feel like I can entrust her to you because we’re siblings. I’m not saying to make her your wife or anything like that.]

Hearing Hugh’s words, I let out a relieved sigh.
I feel like it’s a shame, but we ARE brother and sister…Maybe because we don’t spend time together that much, I don’t really think of Hugh and Katia as my actual siblings, which bothers me.

[Haha, Katia must be disappointed too.]

[Oh, brother, please stop!]

Katia, who had been silent for a long time, raised her voice and turned bright red.
Yeah, it’s just cute and annoying.

[I hope you can check on her from time to time. And if a suitable partner comes along, I’d like you to oversee the marriage.]

[Well, even if you say that… it’ll still be up to our father to decide.]

Yes, Rudolph, as the head of the family, decides where Katia would marry.

It’s not within my jurisdiction, so to speak.

[That said, if the offer is obviously bad, I’ll at least say something about it, is that alright with you?]

Hughes nodded and said, [That’s good enough].

[What will you do in return if I get involved?]

[Well, that’s… well…you take care of it.]

Hugh laughed bitterly at my vulgar joke.
Katia turned bright red and left her seat, seemingly offended by the joke.

I wonder what he would do if I sexually harassed his younger sister, but I think it would be easier for Hugh to express his true feelings when it’s just the two of us. Please forgive me.

[Hugh, please reconsider… reality out there isn’t so kind.]

[No, I know that… but even if I stay, I can’t become Robel’s subordinate either… maybe if you become the Earl.]

Hughes spoke his true feelings with difficulty.
It’s true that Robel may accept him, but at the same time, Robel will most likely get rid of him at the first sign of trouble.
Half-brothers are always at the top of the purge list.

[I see, that’s right…then I’ll write a letter of introduction to Dolerum. He’s a knight who serves the royal family. You can follow Alban’s caravan on the way.]

[I see…. I’m sorry, you’ve done a lot for me.]

After I left Hugh’ mansion, I immediately wrote a letter of introduction in my room.
This kind of thing usually attracts a lot of referrals.
I also did my best to write things like “He is both intelligent, courageous, and thoughtful”. The rest is up to Hugh and Dolerum.

What’s worrying is that Robel’s wife Floria is Dolerum’s daughter.
I feared that he would side with his daughter and make things difficult for Hughes, but…well, if you think about it normally, it wouldn’t go that far.

When I contacted Alban, unfortunately there was no suitable caravan, so he introduced me to the bodyguard of a traveling merchant that he knew instead.

After all, traveling is more reassuring if you have a companion.

==============

After Rolo’s wedding, Hugh left Lioncoeur.

When Robel and Rushieno found out about this, they didn’t even try to hide their joy. And when they learned that I had a hand in Hugh’ decision to leave, they were in a good mood.

[You did a good job, Varian, Mother will be sad if he’s around.]

Robel laughed innocently.
This situation made me unbearably angry.

I thought about punching him, but it would be really unpleasant to do that.

…I understand the situation, but whether I can accept it is another matter…Damn it!

I quickly left the area to vent.

Leave a comment