Lion Coeur Senki ch.38

Weekly chapters (2/2)

Enjoy the chapter~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Mirp

Chapter 38 – The Problem of a 16-year-old

[Climb!]

[ [ Uwooooo ] ]

At my command, the Brotherhood climbed onto the earthwork for training.

Many of the members wear jinkasa and leather armor now. They’re also carrying a backpack.
It wasn’t really a uniform, but it was provided to those who couldn’t afford decent equipment on their own.
Though they still use their personal weapons.

[Ahaha, no you won’t!]

[Rolo, take the right! I’ll take this side!!]

Jean happily pushed back the climbing members with a stick.
Andre and Rolo were desperately covering a wide area.

They were in charge of defense.

Since this is a training exercise, the rule is that if you are pushed back with a stick, you are supposed to step back.

[Okay, that’s it! Next time, use tools!]

This is case practice.
Earlier, I was assuming that I would attack the castle with only weapons and no equipment.
This time the attacker will use their tools.

The group members made a foothold by combining shields and quickly climbed over the earthwork.

[Good! Finally, everyone crosses it and it’s over!]

In the end, we all climbed over several earthworks that no one was guarding.

As long as you just get through it, everyone will do it easily.

…this is enough for now.

I nodded, muttering [good, good].

More earthworks had been added for training purposes, and some are now nearly 2 meters high.

I think we can expect this to be useful in actual combat.

Everyone’s equipment had also been updated.

Rolo now wears chain mail, a drop-shaped helmet, and a disfigured face mask.
As he’s married into a rich merchant family, he’s well equipped.
He also has a magnificent shield and sword, which would be the envy of the poor knights around him.

Jean also wears a drop-shaped helmet and a mask, but with leather armor.
He uses a yew bow, but the arrows are what’s special. The arrows that he devised have long, thin arrowheads that can pierce even the chain mail.

Andre has an orthodox style, wearing a jinkasa, leather armor, a spear, and a shield.

Tanqueray also wears a jinkasa and leather armor. As for the weapon, it’s still a wood-chopping axe.
I would like to help him a little since he is coming from a poor family, but I cannot be selfish and make exceptions among the soldiers.
I’m thinking of making a personalized weapon for him if he succeeds.

Each of them has grown up, and both Rolo and Jean look like fully grown up men now.

As for me, I think I won’t be growing any taller.
About mid-190cm.
My body is also strangely muscular… I wonder if I inherited a gorilla gene?
And what an incredible strength. I once used the iron claw move on a thief just for fun. The thief actually died.
The skull was intact, so I guess he died of shock… My grip was like that of a professional wrestler known as the Iron Claw.

I turned 16 years old.

It’s been a year and a few months since I took office as castle lord, and the season is about to reach spring.

For the past year or so, I have been training with my squires while apprehending bandits and driving away mountain tribes.
Although we have achieved some results, we are still having trouble dealing with the mountain tribes.

The mountain tribe called Erwanye are troublesome people.
They usually retreat into the unexplored mountains, but occasionally come down to trade and plunder.
Since we don’t know where they will appear and where they will go, there is no way to deal with them.

They don’t know the teachings of Sacred Sky, and some villages even refuse to let them enter the village, even for trade, because they think these people are cannibals.

Even though I’ve been so busy, I also have a fulfilling private life, and last year I married Sumina.
As the son of an Earl, it was quite big for a marriage, but I was careful not to draw attention to myself as the second son.
Currently, she lives with my younger sister Katia in the castle room.
Of course, the bedroom is different.

Rolo’s family welcomed their firstborn daughter recently, making Alban happy.

I guess everything is going well.

But peace won’t last long, and I just knew something will happen this year.
Count Berger’s subjugation order has come down.

==============

Territorial capital

[Varian, how is the Bazelard doing? We can’t repeat the same mistakes as last time.]

Rudolph confirmed the current situation with me.
During his last expedition, Viscount Bazelard took us by surprise and we had to fight a tough battle.
Rudolph must be concerned about this.

[Regarding that… Bazelard probably doesn’t have much leeway. There’s no end to the bandits who come to plunder in search of food. Even if we try to keep an eye on things and try to plunder them from our place from time to time, there’s hardly anything of value. …However, since Bazelard is a loyalist to the King’s brother, it is possible that he will receive support from them and raise an army.]

Everyone present nodded at my words.

Recently, I have started to participate in these kinds of meetings as well.

The meeting was attended by about 10 people, including the relatives, uncle Rodrigue, my older brother Robel, and senior vassals such as Albert and Decos.

Rudolph and Rodrigue had a strange opinion of me and treated me like a full-fledged man… I’m happy about that, but inside I’m worried.
I don’t think it’s good for me, the second son, to stand out.

[Hmm, we should listen to Varian’s words. We should leave some forces behind.]

[That’s right… Varian-sama would be the right person to protect the fortress city of Portu while we are away.]

Albert and Decos voiced their opinions.
I also think it would be better for me to stay home.
In the first place, that’s the job of a castle lord, and I have no intention of earning any military exploits in the expeditionary force.
My father, Rudolf, is over 40 years old, and my older brother, Robel, is 21 years old… until my brother inherited the seat of the family head, it would be safe to remain low profile.

[No…I’ll leave it to Rodrigue to hold the fort. Varian will join the expeditionary force.]

I looked at Rudolph in surprise.

…you bastard. Are you trying to make me and my brother compete with each other!?

I clicked my tongue inwardly.
Rudolph is an excellent soldier who never loses, but it seems that he is not good at assessing situations as a politician.

Last time, from a military point of view, they were decisive enough to immediately withdraw the army and crush the Bazelard with their counterblow.
However, on the other hand, turning back the army without making any preparations led to this wasted expedition.

It’s no good to blame Rudolph based on results, but there is no doubt that he is weaker in politics than in the military.
And now he’s unintentionally trying to invite a succession dispute?

[Rudolph! Are you sane!? Are you trying to compare Robel and Varian!!]

Albert banged on the desk.
There was a powerful look on his face, akin to murderous intent.

[Brother, Robel already has a track record and a son. There is nothing he lacks.]

Our uncle Rodrigue also tried to cover Robel.
Robel had a son last year.

Robel and I remained silent.
I’m curious about what kind of expression Robert is making, but I couldn’t bring myself to look at him.

[No, my successor is Robel, and this won’t change no matter what.]

Rudolph simply said, [My successor is Robert], but he may not be able to sense the atmosphere in the territory…particularly the people of Lioncoeur surrounding me.
He continued speaking without noticing my subtle feelings.

[Let’s keep the expeditionary force down to 1,500 people and solidify the defending troops in our absence. Varian, gather around 500 people in Portu and lead them. It’s a bad idea to divide the army, but do you understand what we’re aiming for?]

Rudolph asked me a question.
Since it’s dividing the army, there are probably two targets, or it’s probably a decoy.

[A decoy?]

[Umu, reinforcements are supposed to come from Viscount Delaine and Knight Dolerum. I don’t want them to be destroyed individually before they can join up.]

The Viscount Delaine house is the family home of my mother, Rushieno. The Dolerum family is my big sister-in-law Floria’s family home.
The last names are strangely similar and confusing, but they are not related.

…Well, considering the loss of food, etc., it can’t be helped that we gather locally.

I nodded at Rudolph’s words.

No matter how well you plan and how careful you are, there will always be encounters.
The battlefield is always in flux, and the future is unpredictable, as if it is foggy.

In an era without fast communication, each side predicts the enemy’s movements and moves… It would be disastrous if allied forces run into the enemy’s main force before they can rendezvous.

To prevent that from happening, I will take the lead and make a visible rampage, drawing the enemy’s attention away from the friendly forces.
Once allied forces join the main forces, we’ll be relieved of our duties, and our job is to run around until then.

[Varian is a big man and has that military uniform. He will catch the enemy’s attention.]

Rudolph laughed in jest.
He is basically a childish person, and I can see that he cares for each of his three sons in his own way.

However, he doesn’t seem to have the sensitivity to understand the feelings of his children… If only he knew about Robel’s feelings, he wouldn’t be that calm.

[I admit that I can’t serve that purpose.]

Rodrigue smiled bitterly.
It’s true that this uncle is plain… he wouldn’t be suitable as a decoy.

[However, Varian-sama doesn’t have much experience leading an army. Someone needs to assist him.]

[Hmm, I think Varian could do it, but he would need some experience.]

Decos and Albert nodded to each other.
It seemed that both of them were eager to assist me.
He looks at me and grins.

These guys are basically muscle-brained thinkers…I’m sure they’re thinking that they’ll have fun if they go with me.
Of course, what they enjoy is killing and pillaging.

Albert must be close to 60 years old, but he is in good health.
It appeared that he’s still raring to go to war.

[Very well, let’s leave it to Albert. Decos will assist Robel.]

Rudolph made the decision immediately, and the meeting was dissolved after some minor exchanges.

Rudolph, who was full of determination, didn’t worry about anything. It’s a quick decision.
Regardless of the outcome, he is popular as a strong leader.

…He’s basically a good person…but he’s not perfect…well, it’s only natural…

I was looking at Rudolph with a strange feeling.

………..

After the meeting was over, I ran up to Rudolph and Robel and spoke to them.
There’s something I absolutely have to tell them.

[Father, brother, I want you to listen to me…if I do well in this upcoming battle, please give me the territory. Before the people around me start making noise.]

The two of them rolled their eyes at my suggestion.

To receive land also means to become a vassal and establish a separate family.
Which means it’s a clear sign of leaving the race of successors.

However, the two looked at each other and burst out laughing.

[Ah ha ha! Varian, is there someone who begs for a reward even before going into battle!?]

[Hmm, this is a masterpiece! Gahahaha!]

Robel and Rudolph laughed innocently.
To them, it may seem that their younger brother and son, Otomusuko* (*TL Note: the youngest boy), is doing well.

The servants who were still left were also laughing.
I thought I had declared in front of everyone that I wanted to become a vassal, but it didn’t really get across.

The only ones not smiling were Rodrigue and Albert.

…Dammit all… I don’t know what will happen…

I clicked my tongue.
That seemed to stimulate Rudolph again and he started laughing.
It looks like his cocky younger son is becoming unfaithful. No matter how big I get, I would still be a cute son to him.

…Well, that’s fine, let’s do our part and get some land. That way, my intentions will be conveyed.

I swallowed a sigh.

Leave a comment