I Was Called Incompetent ch.22

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Have a nice day and stay safe~

Enjoy the chapter.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 22 : Departure

I would leave the house where I’ve been living for the past 18 years.
The days were filled with happiness when my parents were still alive.
It was tough for the last few years, but the happiness had returned.
Removing my hand from the doorknob, I silently bid goodbye to my parents.
Honestly, I don’t really want to go.
But I was able to survive my torment because I left this house.
More than anything, I’m grateful that my parents brought me up to this world.
I truly am grateful to them.
I might’ve made them worried in the afterlife, but it’s okay now.
Finally letting the doorknob go, I let out a sigh.
My resolve has been set in stone.
All that is left is to make it come true.

[Yosh, shall we?]

[Yes, Rhode-sama.]

With all the necessities already packed in a large backpack, we left my house.
We walked along the dimly lit road as the sun was barely rising.
The day was still a bit foggy, but otherwise looked fantastic.
Before, I would sleep like mud, get up then go to work.
I couldn’t even enjoy the scenery.
Only now, as I looked around, I realized just how beautiful the town is.

I hadn’t informed the other townsmen that I would be departing today.
I asked Gagan-san to keep this under wraps.
Then again, it’s fine since I wrote it down on the door.
I won’t be returning for a while but I have the intention to return.
It’s a bit sad since we only get to understand each other recently, but I can’t afford to relax.
There are people out there who need help.

A little distance away, I saw someone standing at the town entrance.
I didn’t know that there would be someone awake this early.
Perhaps it’s the delivery man delivering the newspaper. 

I wanted to leave the town quietly if possible.
Because I’m quite sure that everyone would misunderstand why I’m leaving.
Thinking that they were the reason even when I no longer blame them.
Moreover, it’s not like I’ll be leaving forever.
One day we’ll meet again with a smile on our faces.

Well, let’s just bow lightly and greet the man.
Not stopping, we headed straight to the town entrance.
The stone pavement made our steps to leave an audible sound.
I think I’d miss this sound. 
Then suddenly, a strong wind blew, clearing away the fog.

[Eh…]

As the fog cleared up, the light from the rising sun also lit the road.
At the end of the road, many people were already waiting.
Over 1000 people stood on both sides of the road, all of them staring at me.

I felt goosebumps run through my skin as my eyes turned hot.
Even so, I didn’t stop and proceed to walk forward firmly.
Levi also loyally walked right next to me.

Right in front of the town entrance, the now-healthy looking Gagan-san awaited.
He snitched on me, didn’t he…?

[My bad, Rhode. I couldn’t keep it a secret.]

Gagan-san laughed after saying so.

[I told you… to keep it a secret, didn’t I?]

[Gahaha! I already apologized though? Anyways, everyone is not satisfied yet. We haven’t really compensated you enough. This town wouldn’t have held if the warwolves were not destroyed immediately. Honestly, the other adventurers and I here won’t be enough to protect the town from those warwolves. Not only have you rescued your former boss, but you’ve also saved this town. On the other hand, this town, including myself, had done awful things to you…] 

[No…you have compensated me enough. The last 3 years were indeed tough… but I’ve found my happiness now. I no longer hate this town anymore. In fact, I like this town enough, I think that I’ll return here one day.]

[See, you are…way too amazing of a person.]

Suddenly, someone started clapping, which also triggered everyone else to applaud. The combined sound loud enough to echo through the entire town.
There were no words. It’s as if all their gratitudes and feelings were channeled through the applauses.

Both my body and mind had suffered through many hardships, mostly the emotion that denied me everything.

But what struck me today was the feelings of gratitude.
Trembling as the feeling seeped deep into my chest, I clenched my fist.

[We would never be able to compensate you enough, especially after what we’ve done to you. So at least, I want to somehow help you in your future endeavors. Please take this.]

With a hand signal from Gagan-san, a magnificent carriage drawn by a strong looking horse appeared.
If we buy it normally, the price of the carriage and the horse would probably be no less than 6 million gold.

[Eh… this is…]

[From everyone in this town. If it can help shorten your travelling time, we’ll be more than happy. So please, use it well.]

And then, starting with Gagan-san, everyone bowed their heads to me.
I hurriedly told them to raise their heads. But nobody listened.

[I-I understand already! I understand, so please raise your heads…!]

[Yosh! We did it guys! I was originally afraid that he would decline. Right!]

Ahahaha, everyone laughed amiably.
Thank goodness. I guess this is for the best.
I’m happy to see them laughing like this.

[Good grief… You got me good.]

[Gahaha! Even so.. the feeling is real though.]

[Yes, I know that. Thanks, I’ll use it well.]

[Ah, by the way, the horse’s name is “Vaendymion”. The name was inspired by a legendary country that was said to be here once upon a time. Sounds cool, right?] 

Levi and I looked at each other.
Then we started laughing almost at the same time.

[W-what is it? Is it no good…?]

[Ahaha… no, it’s the other way around. It’s the best possible name… thank you very much.]

[Truly it is… Such a wonderful name this horse has. Thank you very much, Gagan-sama.]

[O-okay! That’s good to hear!]

Levi and I packed our luggage into the carriage and got on the driver’s seat.
The sun had fully risen now, illuminating the world with its light.
Really… it was really the best way to depart.

[Thank you, everyone. I’ll definitely return here someday. Also… I have one request.]

The townspeople listened to me intently.
Will they really listen to my request?
My hand was trembling since I still had this little doubt, but Levi gently put her hand over mine.
Her simple gesture was both reassuring and encouraging to me.
Resolving myself, I started to speak.

[If one day, an incompetent came to this town… Please treat them well. They’ve certainly suffered through a lot. So…]

[We might not be in the position to say this…but leave it to us, Rhode!]

[I’ll keep this promise at heart! I’m sorry up until now! And… thank you for everything!]

[Don’t you worry, Rhode-kun! I also don’t want to feel the same guilt again anyway!]

[Doesn’t matter if they’re incompetents! I’ll help them still!]

[If you meet some during your travelling, tell them to come here! This time around… we will not make the same mistake!]

[The kindness that you’ve taught me…..I’ll never forget it! Thank you!]

One after another, everyone responded to my response.
Thank goodness…
The world can still be changed.

[Everyone… Thank you…! Alright… I’m going now!]

The carriage started moving along with the loud cheering.
And thus, our journey to change the world has begun.

3 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.22

  1. It’s September 15! You know what happens!
    PADORU-PADORU-PADORU-PADORU
    . ∩ .∩ Thanks Nepu!
    .い_cノ / ̄>O Merry
    .c/・ ・っ (ニニニ)△△  Christmas
    .(”●” ) .(・ω・ )[∥]  And A
    O┳Oノ)=[ ̄てノ ̄ ̄]  Happy
    ◎┻し◎ ◎――◎=3   Nepu Year!
    PADORU-PADORU-PADORU-PADORU

    Like

Leave a comment