I Was Called Incompetent ch.23

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Double chapters~

Enjoy.

Episode 23 : Failnaught

[Ah, this can be eaten…]

I found a half eaten bread in the trash bin.
Yosh, let’s leave before anyone catches me.
The last time I got caught was very horrible…

Passing through the alley under the cover of darkness, I went through the entrance to an underground waterway.
It’s a hideout where I could rest without being found.

The city was surrounded by high walls. A pass permit is required to get in and out.
Since I got branded an incompetent, I was restricted from getting out.
I couldn’t buy the pass permit since I don’t have any money. Even if I do have the money, they would just accuse me of stealing it since I’m an incompetent.
If that were to happen, they’d surely torture me, probably even execute me.

I also read in the newspaper I picked up the other day, that an incompetent girl was executed after being imprisoned for 2 years.
I wonder if the same thing will happen to me too…

[Don’t wanna… I don’t wanna… I don’t wanna die… I really don’t wanna die…]

I never thought that this kind of thing would happen.
Hero-sama…no, who would’ve thought that Roy was that kind of guy.
How could he do such a horrible thing so easily…?

[Haha… who am I kidding…]

Now that I’m in a similar situation, I came to realize how horrible I’ve been as well.
I did something terrible to Rhode.
And now, I’ve become an incompetent myself.

[Rhode… I’m sorry…]

Up until now, how many times have I unconsciously muttered those words?
I realized by now that it’s an attempt to keep myself sane and to diminish the sense of guilt in me.
But really, I wish that I could go meet him and apologize.

[I may have already died before that though… haha… I don’t want to die and yet at the same time I want to die… what is this?]

I want to find an easier way.
I could feel myself getting angry when I looked at others; lovers walking hand in hand, children having fun with their families, friends laughing with each other, guards walking proudly and even adventurers who seek to achieve their dreams with their companions…!

[Ah, I really shouldn’t…]

That’s why I only got out during midnight.
With such hatred within me, if I were to give in to it, only hell awaits me.
Of course, I could’ve just ended my life right here and right now.
That will make things easier.
But I don’t have the courage to do so
Thus here I am, continuing to live my hopeless life

There was not a day I spent without crying.
Cause if I don’t cry, my heart would probably break.

I still remember that day, when I became an incompetent.
It pained me whenever I recalled the event that day.
But time cannot be turned back.
On that day, I was full of high hopes….

=====

[Levi is really good at driving the carriage, isn’t she?]

The sun was already high at noon when we reached the grassland.
The grasses formed a wave-like movement whenever the wind blew. The scent of dirt and grass reached up to the carriage.
Vaendymion’s hooves caused a distinct noise with each step, and the carriage’s wheel rattled along with it.
The road continued onward along the middle of the grassland. There was nothing in sight other than plains for a while now.
We should reach Lapis mountain in 3 days with this carriage.

[It really drives well.]

[Is that so? Levi really can do anything after all.]

[Fufu, I just happen to know how.]

Both of us sat on the driver’s couch, shoulder to shoulder.
There were times when we had nothing to talk about. But it still felt comfortable.
I guess we have unconsciously accepted each other’s presence, probably because I know that we are heading toward the same goal.

[And by the way… isn’t the weather nice…?]

The sky was clear, with clouds hanging majestically above.
The world is wide and beautiful. The sight reminded me of that.

[Yes… it is very fortunate that the weather is nice today.]

[And we have a nice carriage plus Vaendymion… the future looks promising already.]

The carriage we got was the covered wagon type.
It’s a large carriage covered with cloth that is attached to semi-circular wooden bases instead of a roof and walls.
Combined with the driver’s couch, I think a total of 6 to 7 people can ride this carriage together.
The cover should be strong enough to withstand wind and rain so we can also sleep inside.
We really got a good carriage here.

Vaendymion itself was also what people call a Fresian horse. It has beautiful black fur and a long mane with a muscular body to add.
It also seemed to be particularly big for a Fresian horse, as Vaendymion could pull this large carriage on its own.
It makes me glad that the number of companions I could count on increased.

[Rhode-sama, we are heading west, are we not?]

[Yes. According to the map, there’s no village nearby. So that means we’ll have to spend the night outdoors. Anyway, let’s proceed as far as we can.]

[As you wish.]

=====

As the sun went down, the surrounding area began to be enshrouded by darkness.
Passing the plains, we’re now moving into a forested area.

[I guess that’s it for today? Let’s prepare to camp.]

[Indeed. Then… how about near that riverbank over there? That way we will have a convenient source of water.]

We swerved a bit from the forest and parked the carriage along the river.
I unbound Vaendymion from the carriage and tied its leash on a tree trunk nearby to give it some freedom.
After drinking some river water, Vaendymion started eating the grass growing nearby.

[Thanks, Vaendymion. We’ll be counting on you again tomorrow.]

I stroked its beautiful mane as I said that, and it rubbed its face against my hand in return.
How cute.

[Alright then, how about we lighten things up a bit. Let’s say hello to one of the new friends.]

[Let us. Then who shall be summoned this time?]

[Nnー… now that I think about it, we need someone to help with the night watch… how about this fellow then?]

I turned the black notebook’s pages, and stopped at the person I thought would fit the task.
The previous wielder of Excalibur had an excellent group of companions.
They were called the Knights of the Round Table. Having pledged their loyalty to Arthur, they fought side by side together through many battles.

One of them was the Hero Tristan.
He was a hero known for his mastery of bow and equestrian.
It’s said that out of 100 shots, he “never missed” even once and “always hits the target” in one shot.
And then there is the legendary bow used by that renown Tristan.
Its name is…

[Show yourself, Failnaught.]

In response to my call, a deep blue-colored bow emerged from the black notebook’s page.
The length was about 1 meter long with a white handle that gives it a sense of purity.

=====

Failnaught the Sacred Bow

A sacred bow crafted by the Gods.

It was given to Hero Tristan, who later became known as an archer that never misses and always hits the target. This bow has the power to shoot an arrow that can reliably hit its target.

Even in a deep forest, the arrow fired from it is capable of swerving through trees to find its intended target accurately.
Although its power was a bit lacking, Tristan had used it countless times to shoot down both monsters’ and dragons’ eyes, saving his allies in the process.

Weapon rank: 【SS】
Weapon ability: 【S】

=====

[A bow that never misses… This seems like a reliable individual.]

[Yes. The legendary weapons do not really require sleep so they should make for an excellent guard.]

When Failnaught was materialized, what appeared before us from within the blue light was a petite looking girl.
She wore a blue leather suit, looking very much like an archer. And her light blue hair was trimmed so that the bangs did not hinder her eyes.
When her eyes, which were the same color as her hair opened, she murmured quietly.

[Oh… ‘Tis like Excalibur-san said… Having a body… ‘tis wond’rful.]

[Nice to meet you, Failnaught.]

[Ah…’tis nice to meet thee as well… Failnaught is thine nameth… then… so thou art our Liege… please giveth me thy command…]

Her voice was so low it’s like she was whispering to me. But I smiled back in response.

[Thank you, Failnaught. We are going to camp here tonight so can you help us? And also, can I leave the night security to you?]

[Yeーs…then I shalt wend to collect firewoods…]

After smiling at me, Failnaught disappeared into the woods.
She’s cute.

[Levi, I leave the food for you to prepare. We don’t need to build a tent because there is the carriage. I’ll go fetch some water now.]

[As you wish. I will now prepare the bonfire.]

[The firewood is h’re…!]

So fast!
Failnaught came back smiling while holding a lot of firewood in her arms.
I guess I really picked the right person for the job.

[Thank you, Failnaught-sama. Please put it in here.]

[Yesss!]

=====

The three of us sat around the bonfire while eating the stew Levi prepared.
Since it’s perishable, cow milk was added to the stew. It only made the food even more delicious.
Failnaught also seemed to enjoy it.

[‘his helishious…!] (‘tis delicious)

[It’s good that you like it, Failnaught.]

[I am also glad to hear that.]

I didn’t forget to ask Failnaught if she has something to wish for, but apparently she doesn’t have any.
The main reason she’s willing to aid me was because Excalibur often told her about me.

At first Failnaught, was a little apprehensive about me.
Because once her power is unleashed, the arrow will definitely reach its target.
Therefore, her wielder must be someone of pure heart.

[Excalibur-san hath said… thou wouldst maketh a fine Liege…. “one I wouldst fain entrust mine own soul onto” I quote….]

[I see… thank you, Excalibur.]

I thanked Excalibur inside the black notebook.
Thanks to her, I met another good companion.

[And then…aft’r I did talk to thee…I cameth to und’rstand…that our liege is a nice p’rson…]

Failnaught smiled once more.
Somehow it made me feel embarrassed…

Right then I thought I heard something rattling behind me, but Failnaught already fired an arrow.
It was a lightning fast reaction.
The smile she had shown earlier swiftly changed into a focused look as her eyes fixed on her target.

I heard a monster’s cry coming from behind. Turning around, I found a Bearcrow rolling on the ground while clutching its head.
Apparently, it was shot in the eye.

[Failnought… Just in a moment…?]

[Failnaught is thine own name…the sacr’d bow that nev’r misses… once thine arrow is releas’d… darkness shalt beest bequeath’d to those who art ‘gainst our Liege… and shineth the lighteth to the pers’n we s’rve…]

Her gaze remained sharply fixed at the bearcrow as she nocked another arrow.
The bearcrow, who intended to ambush us but was stopped preemptively, chose to escape into the darkness of the forest. But it was too late for it.
The arrow that Failnaught released disappeared into the darkness. But soon afterward, the bearcrow’s death throes could be heard from the distance, echoing throughout the quiet forest.

[I shalt wend to confirm the kill…]

Her petite figure truly belied her reliability…
We were able to sleep soundly in my first outdoor camp thanks to her watchful eyes.

=====

=====

Failnaught’s Lore (taken from Wikipedia and ext.source):

Failnaught is named after the bow wielded by Tristan, a Knight of the Round Table in Arthurian legend. Tristan’s bow was called a “bow that always hit its target”. It will always hit the target, either man or beast, whatever it aimed at.

4 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.23

  1. It’s September 15! You know what happens!
    PADORU-PADORU-PADORU-PADORU
    . ∩ .∩ Thanks Nepu!
    .い_cノ / ̄>O Merry
    .c/・ ・っ (ニニニ)△△  Christmas
    .(”●” ) .(・ω・ )[∥]  And A
    O┳Oノ)=[ ̄てノ ̄ ̄]  Happy
    ◎┻し◎ ◎――◎=3   Nepu Year!
    PADORU-PADORU-PADORU-PADORU

    Like

Leave a comment