I Was Called Incompetent ch.39

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

New chapter of Incompetents.

Enjoy~

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Episode 39: Hades

[H-how did you… how are you still alive…? And how come you’re here…?]

I couldn’t care less about Flo right now.
The more important thing now is to help that person.
Besides, if we continue our fight here, we’ll only end up damaging the city even more. I want to avoid that.

[Hades, I beseech you.]

A black helmet emerged from the notebook, which I immediately put on.

[Wha-!? Wh-where is he now!]

Flo looked around desperately, having lost sight of me.
Meanwhile I slowly left the place.
Perhaps we’ll cross paths again as long as I stay in this city. When that happens, maybe I can… no, it may be useless with them.
So if that happens…

=====

[Ah, Rhode-sama! A-are you alright…! I was so worried…]

[Forgive me, Levi… ah, I should’ve contacted you via the communication stone. I forgot…]

When I stroked her head as I apologized, Levi smiled with relief.
So cute.

Nibelugh’s adventurers guild office, which was even bigger than those in Historia, is situated around the center of the city.
Since I could see the Nibelugh Palace from here, I realized just how big it is.
But now’s not the time to be fascinated by the scenery.
We went behind the office to where it’s less visible to the prying eyes.

Levi was smart enough to put a cloak to disguise the girl’s appearance when they escaped.
That same cloak was now used as a makeshift mattress where the girl lied unconscious.

[How is she? Is she injured?]

[No, she just fainted, Rhode-sama.]

[Uーn, her clothing looks like a maid uniform… I wonder if she’s working for someone.]

Her shoulder-length maroon hair was badly damaged as if it hadn’t been maintained for a long time.
Her hair was decorated with a white ribbon and she’s wearing a white blouse and long black skirt.
It’s quite simple compared to what Levi usually wears, but it’s not that plain either.

[Does that mean… she manages to hide her identity as an incompetent?]

[No. One way or another, she should’ve been forced to use her magic while working. And if you look closely, she’s still quite young.]

[Probably the same age as Rhode-sama? Becoming a maid this young, just who is her employer…]

[I wonder if she no longer has parents like me… But well, we can just ask her directly later. How about we find an inn to hide in for the time being? The further away from the center of the city, the better.]

It’ll be troublesome if we were found by those people again.
Here was a little further away from the place we encountered them, but let’s be careful.

[As you wish. I will carry this person on my back.]

[We should really hide her properly. We might get in trouble if the guards find us.]

So I called upon Hades once more.
This fellow should be able to do the task of hiding the girl with flying colors.
It saved me just a while ago after all.

=====

Hades  【Helmet of the Underworld】

A legendary helmet crafted by the gods.
It changed hands many times until it finally found its way into the hand of the hero Perseus.

Not only is it an excellent piece of armor, but it can also turn its wearer invisible.
Perseus used this ability when he’s facing an opponent stronger than himself, opting to strike that enemy from behind.

However, the invisibility will be undone if the wearer runs or speaks.
Moreover, there is also the problem where you can’t see yourself while attacking.

Armor rank : 【SS】
Ability rank : 【S】

=====

[Fortunately Levi showed me this back then. I would’ve been seen if I chose to run earlier.]

[Yes. I figured that Rhode-sama will use the helmet eventually so I prepared it in advance.]

[Indeed. I only knew most of them by name after all.]

[I did not know much about them either. Crown-sama often looked through the notebook, but otherwise rarely used the contents. Rather, the legendary arms themselves were not really necessary for him. After all, he did not need to fight monsters the way adventurers do.]

I see.
With such a powerful magic like time magic, Crown-san wouldn’t need weapons that much.
Moreover, Crown-san seemed intent on keeping the legendary arms with him to his final rest, perhaps intending to seal them.
I will never forget that he trusted me to wield these legendary arms.

I soon materialized Hades.
The black open-faced helmet started floating in the air, giving off a black light.
After seeing Heracles, this light seemed rather small in comparison.
No, this is…

[So small?]

[So small indeed.]

It’s not because I’m comparing it with Heracles, it’s indeed smaller than usual.
It was, at most, the size of my head.
The black helmet, engulfed in light, soon turned into humanoid form.

With the black armor and cloak, as well as the helmet form of Hades.
This fellow is probably only as tall as my head…anyways he’s small.
As he floated in the air, the fellow slowly opened his eyes.

[Hoho… not half bad! Exactly as Aegis said! O’ Rhode! This Me has to compliment you for this handiwork!]

Oho… I see, so that’s how it is…
It’s the first pattern.
Apparently, Aegis spoke to Hades about her experience while being materialized.
These two used to belong to Perseus, so I guess it’s normal that they interact often.

[I’m glad if you’re pleased. And thank you for helping me earlier. I’m needing your help again now.]

[We will be in your care, Hades-sama.]

[Umu umu. Everything will be solved if it is left to this Me! So, this Me should hide this little one?]

He looks like a cute little boy, but the way he speaks is anything but.
That gap makes him cute in his own way.

[Yes, can I leave that to you?]

[This One’s name is Hades. Helmet crafted by the God of Underworld! Bear witness to my power!]

When Hades snapped his fingers, the young girl’s body that Levi is carrying instantly turned invisible.

[Amazing… I really can’t see her now. Hades is really reliable.]

[Hades-sama is wonderful.]

[Of course, of course! Just leave it to this Me! Nyahahaha!]

Good boy… But I can’t really say that, not even if I got my mouth torn open. Though it’s true that he’s dependable.
So cute.

[Yosh, let’s go.]

=====

Nn…eh… I…
Where is this… why does everything around me feel fluffy?
Ah, I’m on a bed… when was the last time I slept on an actual bed like this…?

I got up and looked around to find that I was in a room that I didn’t recognize.
I wonder why I’m here…my memory was a bit hazy.
Mom…

[Ah…]

I remember.
I was sold off then rescued…then once more…

[Mom!]

[Wha!?]

[Waa!?]

Someone is sleeping next to me!?

[Wh-whatisit…. I was sleeping comfortably just now…ah, you have woken up.]

[Wh-what in the world are you…?]

[Ah, of course. Hmm…please wait a moment.]

Having said that, the woman who was sleeping next to me just now fled out of the room. Still half naked…
I wonder who she is… and she’s extremely beautiful too…
And then, I heard a fairly loud [Uwaaaah!?] coming from the next room.
After that, I heard some commotion before finally, the woman returned, now dressed properly, along with a man I never saw before.

[Are you okay? Does it hurt anywhere?]

The man had a very gentle voice.
Moreover, it’s probably been years since anyone talked to me this way.

[Ah, I’m alright…but… What in the world is going on here…?]

[Ah, I’ll explain it shortly. But now that I think about it… it feels nostalgic somehow. Although back then I was on the receiving end.]

[Indeed it is, Rhode-sama. Although it is the second time for me… fufu]

Apparently, the man’s name is Rhode.
Ah, more importantly…!

[Ah! What time is it now!? I need to get back home shortly!]

[Eh? It’s 1 hour after midnight…]

This is bad… What should I do now… Mom!
Horus-san must be very angry since I haven’t returned yet.

[I-I have to go now… Thank you for your help! I will definitely repay this debt of gratitude!]

[Now now, calm down… why don’t we talk things through for the time being? Perhaps there is something I can do to help.]

[B-but…]

[Then let me get to the point. You are NOT an incompetent.]

[Eh…?]

Am I hearing correctly…?
But I’m an incompetent… right?

[Actually… I was once an incompetent as well.]

=====

=====

Hades (Helmet of the Underworld)’s Lore (taken from Wikipedia and ext.source):

In classical mythology, the Cap of Invisibility (Ἅϊδος κυνέην (H)aïdos kuneēn in Greek, lit. dog-skin of Hades) is a helmet or cap that can turn the wearer invisible. It is also known as the Cap of Hades or Helm of Hades. Wearers of the cap in Greek myths include Athena, the goddess of wisdom, the messenger god Hermes, and the hero Perseus. The Cap of Invisibility enables the user to become invisible to other supernatural entities, functioning much like the cloud of mist that the gods surround themselves in to become undetectable.

One ancient source that attributes a special helmet to the ruler of the underworld is the Bibliotheca (2nd/1st century BC), in which the Uranian Cyclops give Zeus the lightning bolt, Poseidon the trident, and a helmet (kyneê) to Hades in their war against the Titans.

3 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.39

Leave a comment