I Was Called Incompetent ch.47

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Double bonus chapters~

Enjoy~

Episode 47: Edge

Immediately after Amur-san drew us a map, we jumped out of the adventurers guild office and rushed through Nibelugh’s alleyways to the tournament avenue.
Even so, it’s still a very large city.
Probably not even the citizen who had lived here for a while knew every nook and cranny of this city.
If not for the map Amur-san drew for us… we might’ve already been lost in this maze of alleys.

[Is, is it right here!?]

[Yes, according to Amur-san’s map… ah, there it is, Rhode-sama!]

When we finally got back to the main street, we saw a circular building up in the front.
Perhaps it can fit a thousand people… it’s hard to judge from this far, but the building was certainly huge.

[But that is too…]

[Too many people… It will be impossible to enter from the main street. At this rate…]

The main street leading to the arena was overcrowded with people, to the point that walking properly will be hard. 
They’re heading to the arena and most of them are likely coming as spectators. We won’t make it if we have to go through that crowd.
I took Levi back to the alley and whipped out the black notebook.

[Brionac!]

[Wha, Rhode-sama, using that amidst that crowd is…!]

[I know. That’s why we’re going through the rooftops. Get on to me Levi.]

[I, I see… as you wish]

Carrying Levi on my back, I jumped between walls to the roof and started running.
The arena building was so huge, I could still easily see it from the rooftop.

[It’s huge… but thanks to that it’s easy to tell where I should go. Hang on, Levi.]

[Yes, Rhode-sama.]

I carefully ran through the flat rooftops with Levi on my back.
The reason why the houses here tend to have flat roofs is that it rarely snows in this area.
Either way, as long as I’m being careful, it makes it all the easier to run on. 

The closer we were, the bigger the arena became in my eyes.
It’s probably the size of a small mountain. Probably they made full use of magic to build something so colossal.

[Rhode-sama, it is time to get down!]

[Right! Hang tight, Levi!]

[Yes!]

We were now on top of the building closest to the arena. Putting Brionac back to the notebook as I jumped down, I ran at full speed toward the arena.
A huge circular arena stood majestically in front of me. When I was looking for the entrance while running along the perimeter, I saw two men standing under the sign that said reception, worriedly looking at the clock.
It’s almost up… can we still make it!?

[And thatーisーit! Reception is closed…]

[Excuse me, but I want to participate!]

Can we still make it…?

[Huaah!? U, unfortunately, the window of registration has just closed… I’m sorry, but it’s the rules….]

[I would like to allow you to register, but we were told to be punctual. If we approve your registration as an exception, there will be more asking for similar treatment… so I’m sorry]

[Oh… I see…]

Damn… I guess we’ll have to sleep outside tonight…
Moreover, I have no idea whether there will be any request tomorrow. Not to mention with the number of adventurers in this city, they’d most likely run out of requests by then…

[I’m sorry, Levi… I didn’t plan things more thoroughly…]

[No, I should have informed Rhode-sama sooner… pardon me…]

It can’t be helped. I guess we’ll just take the carriage and head to another town.
Uーn, we can probably forage for wild plants or mushrooms along the way…
Or maybe I should take a loan somewhere…  ah, I’m sorry, Levi…

[Hey, these two late registrants… can you guys approve their registration?]

=====

[It’s been a while…]

[Indeed it is…]

[What if somebody recognizes us?]

[We’ll be just fine. I even covered up my face.]

Wearing black hoods, the two of us walked through the main street of Nibelugh.
We’re going to be a little late to the arena, but it’s alright since we’re not competing.
It would cause a big fuss if anyone recognizes us. I wish we could go to the arena unnoticed.

[You know, I always look forward to this tournament every year.]

[Nnー…I was too, once. But it’s been terrible for the past couple of years. It made me realize just how low the level of adventurers nowadays is. I’m not expecting much this year either. So I can no longer say the same as you do.]

I was called every year to attend the tournament as a special guest. But I haven’t enjoyed it as I used to this past couple of years.
It’s enjoyable to see the adventurers duel each other, more so when they’re strong. But the number of strong and promising newcomers has been declining as of late. 
As a result, the high ranker guys had been occupying the winners’ bracket for several years. It’s no longer interesting for me.
Many of the citizens shared my view, but the tournament itself remained a successful event each year. But some might still yearn for something more.
And I was among those people who yearn for more.

[I hope an interesting fellow will be competing this year.]

[That’s right… Aーh, but will he compete? What was his name again… the one who slew a monster with a second name recently….?]

[Wha, Rhode-sama, using that amidst that crowd is…!]

[Right, right, his name is Rhode. Eh?]

Turning my head to the source of those voices, I saw a spear-wielding young man carrying a girl in maid uniform on his back.
It was a strange sight to behold.
Don’t tell me… that young man is THAT Rhode?
Then I saw him jumping and climbing to the rooftop by using the two adjacent walls as footholds.

[Hoo…]

[Wow, that’s amazing…!]

Once he reached the rooftop, he started running at full speed.
There aren’t many people who could do that.
It seemed that this Rhode was hurrying toward the tournament venue.

[Fufu, enjoying yourself?]

[Yeah… we need to hurry too!]

[Eeeー! Ah, wait for meー!]

We ran through the main street in parallel to Rhode who was running on the rooftops.
Amazing… he’s very fast.
I had to use my magic to phase through the crowd while he was running on the open rooftops albeit carrying someone else on his back, so it’s hard to say which one of us is faster…. But to be honest, it made me think that he’s a real deal. 
Someone like him… is what makes the adventurers interesting. 

Finally, the reception venue was in sight, and I saw two guys looking at the clock impatiently.
This is bad… Can they make it?
Then Rhode suddenly jumped off the rooftop, landed cleanly on the main street, and continued running toward the venue.

Wait… where did his spear go?
Besides, I feel that he’s now somewhat slower than before… I think I can catch up to them now?

[And thatーisーit! Reception is closed…]

[Excuse me, but I want to participate!]

[Huaah!? U, unfortunately, the window of registration had just closed… I’m sorry, but it’s the rules….]

[I would like to allow you to register, but we were told to be punctual. If we approve your registration as an exception, there will be more asking for similar treatment… so I’m sorry.]

[Oh… I see….]

Oy oy, are you kidding me…. Just when an interesting fellow appeared…
Nnー…..he’s late just by a fraction of a second too.
I don’t want to do this… but there’s no way I can let them not compete either.

[Hey, these two late registrants… can you guys approve their registration?]

[Eh…?]

[Wh, who are you people…? I’m sorry, but rules are rules…]

[Is that so… then since I also came late, that means I can’t go inside. Well, that’s too bad.]

[Did you want to participate either? I’m sorry but the registration time is already…]

[No, I was invited.]

[Eh? Ah… no way…]

I took off my hood and showed my face to the receptionists.
Right then, their expression instantly changed.
I don’t like to resort to this abuse of authority … but it can’t be helped.

[Y, you are….! We apologize for our rudeness…!]

[No, it’s alright. So, these two arrived just in time… don’t you think so too?]

[Ye, yes, they are! They made it just barely in time…!]

[Thanks. I will never forget this favor.]

[Ye, yes! I’m honored to help!]

I turned to the still stunned Rhode.
I can see that he has a well-built body.
But the look on his eyes was what amazed me the most.
Yeah… a promising youth indeed.

[How fortunate, boyo. I didn’t do all that for no reason, you know? Show me… show me how well you fight out there, will you?]

[Tha, thank you very much. I’ll do my best!]

[Ah, sure. I will look forward to it.]

[Ye, yes!]

[Ah, please enter through here. The entrance for competitors is different… ah, you over there. Yes, guide these two]

[Where to?]

[One more team participating. Just take them there.]

Rhode was guided to another entrance by one of the receptionists.
Before going further, he didn’t forget to turn back around and bow to me.
He seems like a polite and kind young man.

[Ha… ha…. Wait… you are going… a little too fast!]

[Sorry sorry… are you alright, Alice?]

[I’m alright… ha… ha… of course, I’m not! ….. Fuuー. So, did they make it in time?]

[Just barely. Well… let’s say I’m looking forward to the tournament now.]

[Fufu, I’m happy for you… Ban-san.]

=====

The receptionist guided us to the competitors’ waiting room.
There were many adventurers already inside, about 70 at the very least.
But since it’s a party-based fight, that means there are already 8 to 17 parties competing.
And there might be another waiting room too.

[Oh… amazing.]

[So many are participating.]

[Alright, please fill this out.]

I entered my name, age, class, and party member on the registration form.
Handing the form back to the receptionist, he then gave me another piece of paper after confirming the content.

[Okay, that’s all for the registration. The rules of the tournament are written in this paper. Please read through them carefully. The opening ceremony will start soon, so please wait here until then. Well then, good luck.]

We thanked the receptionist and took a seat on one of the vacant benches.
Anyways… I thought we wouldn’t make it, but we managed to get thanks to that man.
Who in the world was that person?

[Levi, that guy earlier, did you take a ‘look’ at him?]

[Pardon me, Rhode-sama… I am ashamed to say this, but I forgot. However, it is clear from the receptionist’s attitude that he is a well-known individual.]

[Could it be… someone from the Royal Family?]

[Certainly, there was some semblance of elegance… but I cannot be so sure]

[Well, I can’t help but keep thinking about it…. He sounded like he’s going to watch the tournament. I need to thank him again if we meet again next time]

[Certainly. Let us read through the rules for now.]

4 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.47

Leave a comment