I Was Called Incompetent ch.50

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Double chapters~

Enjoy and stay safe everyone.

Episode 50 : SS Rank

[Good job out there. Levi is strong after all… and that guy was going easy on you, wasn’t he?]

[Thank you for the compliment, Rhode-sama. Well, the other person was not really serious. Meanwhile, I was on alert. I simply made full use of that chance.]

Well there may be that, but her last opponent had too many wasteful moves too.
On the other hand, Levi had the experience accumulated over thousands of years in addition to being able to detect the ability of the opponent with appraisal magic and strengthening her own body with magic

It seemed that the eliminated competitors had left the stage, which left us with only Airy’s team on block A.
Our eyes happened to meet, so I gave her a light bow, which Airy-san responded with a wave of the hand before leaving.

All three members of her party were women.
They seemed to be mostly B rankers, but to be able to defeat an A ranker without taking any damage means that they’re quite capable in their own rights.

『Next are the representatives of the B block! Please get on the stage!』

Block B competitors started to move toward the stage. 
Wonder what kind of people are competing next…

[Y-you actually save me the trouble of searching you.]

When I turned toward the source of that voice, I saw a familiar face there.

[Flo…]

[You really got me yesterday. Unforgivable… an incompetent faking to become an adventurer. I’ll definitely reveal that sham of yours….be prepared for that.]

[Flo, I am…]

[Shut the hell up! A rank despite being an incompetent? A higher rank than us….? You gotta be kidding me, you scam… just wait for your just dessert! Watch… I’ll finish them in no time at all. Cause I’m the strongest!]

After throwing those spiteful words at me, Flo headed to the stage.
I see, so Flo and the others are also participating…

[Rhode-sama….]

[Yeah… it seems that there is no going around it.]

=====

That night… After getting our asses handed to us by him, we immediately left the spot and headed home.
In the middle of my frustration, Sky handed me a newspaper. When I read it, that guy’s name was all over it.

Moreover, an A-ranker? You gotta be kidding me!
Sky said, [he may not be the same person], but I don’t much care about that.

Super rookie, my ass! Hero, my ass!
Even I… even I can do as much if I have the help of strong allies…!
It’s not his own power to begin with!
I bet he’s just leeching off that woman.
He’s incompetent for fuck’s sake!

That scam deceived so many people… unforgivable.
I’ll definitely reveal his true face in the finals.
Don’t you dare get eliminated before that… It’ll be just like those old days…!

『Let the match begin!』

But first, I need to finish this qualifying round for block B in a jiffy.
It’ll only take a few seconds.
I’ll blow them all up. Show them who’s the real deal!

=====

『Wha, what a surprise! It was over in no time at allー! Wha, what just happened!?』

『Hoー… he really did it…』

『T-the only two that will proceed to the next round are Lebanon-san who somehow managed to survive and the person who blew everyone else off in an instant……Gladiー!』

『Well, it’s to be expected. Gladi is the only SS ranker competing in this tournament…..the difference in level might be too big. In retrospect, it’s commendable for Lebanon to be able to endure his attack!』

[Levi…]

[Yes, another ridiculously powerful person. I never thought that I would see more.]

It took but a moment.
Gladi-san was the only SS ranker competing so naturally, everyone was wary of him.
However, he deliberately walked to the center of the stage and challenged everyone to attack him all at once.
The moment the match began, everyone else except Lebanon-san was thrown out of the stage.

[He has Gravity magic… a level 100 at that too. He turned the gravity of everyone except for himself, which in turn caused everyone to fly away. With the rule of losing the fight once knocked out of the stage in effect…] 

[Now how do I counteract that…ah, by the way, Flo…]

[I believe he hit the wall and fainted. He has blood running through his face… is he alright?]

Outside of the stage, the other competitors started to gather around where their defeated comrades were piled up.
Kathy, Dan, and the others also gathered around Flo. But the guy didn’t wake up until he’s brought into the hallway with a stretcher.

Meanwhile, Gladi-san who had won the B block approached us calmly.
His eyes were ferocious like a wild beast. Perhaps due to that, his unkempt long hair looked more like a lion’s mane.
Similarly striking in appearance was the black mouthpiece that covered his face from the nose down.
He’s dressed in multiple layers of black bandages and he had a straight sword hanging on his waist.

[Yo, sorry I blew your friend away like that. Not that I think you two get along well.]

[Ah, it’s alright… it was a fair match after all…]

[I hate those kinds of guys. Not knowing your own limit is a sin. Well, I’ll see you in the finals.] 

[Yeah, sure.]

I didn’t expect him to initiate the conversation, so I was a bit taken aback… but I don’t think he’s a bad person.
Either way, his magic is way too strong.
The B-ranked Lebanon-san is a Thorn mage. He used his thorns to secure his feet in place, which allowed him to endure Gladi-san’s attack albeit with some difficulties. 
Perhaps Lebanon-san knew beforehand about Gladi-san’s magic.
Therefore he reacted as such, expecting such an attack from Gladi-san already after observing his prior action.
But it’s just my guess though.

Anyhow, I need to find a way to counter that magic of his.
Well, I don’t know if I’ll fight Gladi-san later, but if I keep winning, we’ll surely face each other eventually.

[Levi, is there a limit to his gravity magic?]

[Yes, I will write down his magic’s features. Please give me a moment…]

As long as we know all about his magic, we can find a way to counter it.
Regardless of how strong he is, there must be some sort of a weakness.

[Wowー I thought I was going to die there…]

[Lebanon-san, are you alright!?]

[Somehow I’m fine…but hey, I get to finals!]

[Nothing less from the party leader!]

[Hahaha! Well, I just got very lucky… anyway, right now I just want to enjoy the occasion and celebrate my win!]

Enjoy the occasion…
He’s right.

『Representatives of block C, please get to the stage!』

[Levi, let’s get a good look at this one too.]

[Yes, leave it to me]

[But let’s not overdo it. It’s like a festival after all.]

[Fufu, indeed.]

=====

[Ugh…m, my head…it hurts…]

[Ah, Flo! You’re awake…?]

[Kathy…? How…where are we…]

[About that… Flo…you…]

[You’ve lost.]

Ha?
Me… losing?

[Dan!]

[What…? It’s the truth. You lost very easily. Granted, the opponent was an SS ranker. Well, let’s go home quickly. All other eliminated competitors had already gone.]

[Right, rightー. Losing against that kind of guy is a givenー. He’s strong, and we’re just unluckyー. We’ll do better next timeー]

[Pururu too…!]

Waitwaitwaitwait…
That incompetent advance to the finals, yet I got eliminated…?
Hahah… this is so wrong…

[This is ridiculous… I won’t go home yet.]

[Flo…]

[Then what are you gonna do? Don’t tell me you’re gonna cheer for that Rhode?]

[Dan… are you asking to be killed…!]

[Cut it out you two! Flo, enough, let’s go home, shall we?]

[No way! Dan… are you alright being beaten by that guy!? If we just go home… doesn’t that mean we’re beaten by an incompetent!? Are you guys alright with that?!]

[I mean… is he really incompetent?]

Ha?
Wha, what are you talking about…
Once incompetent, they’ll remain incompetent for the rest of their life…that’s how it is!

[What are you talking about now! He’s leeching off that woman’s power to become an adventurer! Is there any better reason than that? Are you saying we lost to that scammer!]

[Let’s say we stay… Then what do we do? It’s not like the tournament will allow us to rejoin?]

[I have an idea… Sky, your magic will come into play here.]

[Mine? Ah, I see. But what if…]

[Kuhaha… I don’t care about the means… I’ll crush that incompetent. You guys can understand this too, right! Can’t say you don’t like the idea, yes?]

Everyone silently nodded at me.
Good…!
You guys are just my tools.
All of you only need to be silent and follow me.

[I’ll show you… he’s nothing but incompetent. And he’s been deceiving everyone… I swear I’ll reveal his scam!]

2 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.50

Leave a comment