I Was Called Incompetent ch.104

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Double chapters!

Enjoy~

Episode 104: Offshoot

Fake tried to move, but Gleipnir would not allow it.
Rhode pushed the restricted Fake to sit down with his back on the wall of the house.
And when he stood in front of the captive, Rhode pointed the tip of Iaris toward Fake.

[It’s not that tight… well, can you listen to me?]

Rhode became more cautious when Fake laughed fearlessly.
As long as you are bound by Gleipnir, you cannot use any ability, let alone move.
Despite this, Fake’s attitude remained neutral.

[I apologize for trying to sneak in. I just wanted you to hear me. Because we are comrades.]

[…comrade?]

[Oh, that’s right. I’m the same as you… I’m a former incompetent.]

The tip of Iaris shook slightly.
The word “Former Incompetent” was rarely, if ever, heard of.
It certainly agitated Rhode.
However, Rhode replied while hiding his agitation.

[Former incompetent? Don’t incompetents stay the same  for the rest of their lives?]

[Hmm, I know you’re wary, but that kind of exchange is useless, so let’s stop. Your speech at Celt touched my heart… Rhode-kun?]

Fake said so and Rhode sighed.
Certainly, if he was there, it wouldn’t be strange to know that I was a former incompetent, and given the words “former incompetent”, it was clear that Fake was confident. Rhode thought to himself.

[It does look to be useless so what do you want from me?]

[I think you know… I was terribly persecuted because of me being an incompetent. I had a person who saved me. Now I’m working for that person… to save the world. ]

[The world…?]

[That’s right. So, my leader wants to meet you. That’s why I came to talk.]

[Leader…? I don’t know… Who are you guys?]

[We are Titanomachy. Our goal is to save the distorted world…for we are the children of God.]

[What… Titanomachy!?]

Fake grinned at Rhode’s reaction.

[I believe you know about us already.]

Rhode was confused.
He knew Fake wasn’t just a thief, but never he expected that the young man was from Titanomachy.
Moreover, this member of Titanomacy said that he was also a former incompetent.
At the same time, while various questions emerged on Rhode’s mind, Fake spoke as if he was aware of that.

[Well, do you want to know more? So come with me…]

[I decline.]

Rhode rejected the offer before Fake could even finish.
Fake’s expression changed for a short time before returning to normal without a slight crawling.

[…that’s a really quick answer.]

[Isn’t it surprising? I don’t know who you’re working for, but what you’re doing is wrong. So I’m not going to meet this leader of yours.]

[Haha… they’re right. After all, you’re just a kid. You don’t understand anything.]

[Now you should start talking. Maybe I’ll hear you out if I hear enough. I’m sorry, but I have to keep you restrained…]

[That’s not what I mean.]

Two shadows jumped out of the woods, as if the words were a signal.
Rhode, who was aware of it, immediately turned around and raised Iaris.
He knew that Fake had friends nearby because of his attitude. 
However, the appearance of the two people illuminated by the moonlight was completely unexpected for Rhode.

 [What !?]

There were two men who looked exactly like the Fake that Rhode had restrained and talked to.
The two laughed fearlessly and held their swords up. And when they approached Rhode fiercely, they swung their swords down at the same time.

[ [Gaha!?] ]

Rhode caught both swords with Iaris in his right, while his left slipped out of his pocket and instantly slammed into their lower abdomen.
The move certainly surprised Rhode, but the attack itself was not a big deal.
Rhode kicked the two in the face while they’re still in agony.
The men were knocked away a few meters, rolled on the ground and stopped moving.

[Oh, there he goes…that’s the kind of movement that cannot be done unless you expected it in advance. You caught up on us after all, huh? ]

[You can try saying anything with your mouth. First of all, I can’t trust the guy who was trying to sneak in while everyone is asleep. Didn’t you mean to take me from the beginning?]

[So it’s a fail after all… Oh, but I don’t really want to hurt you though? Well, no matter. Although It doesn’t feel good to have my ability be seen! Hahaha]

At that time, the bodies of the men who rolled on the ground moved suddenly.
The expanding body made a squeaking noise and, as Rhode’s eyes looked back at that sound, something unusual that could not be called a human being or a monster stood.

[What is this…?]

[Hahaha! It’s the second round!]

[So noisy.]

The odd-shaped life form had disappeared.
It was as if nothing had been there from the beginning. 

[…Ha?]

[Rhode…what is this guy?]

A sleepy looking girl popped out and asked Rhode.

[Oh, sorry, Tieren. Let’s just say he’s a guest.]

[Can I erase it?]

[No, you can’t. I still have a lot to ask him.]

[Ah… I’m going back to sleep.]

[Yeah, good night.]

At the same time as she disappeared, the offshoots fell from the sky and slammed into the ground  with tremendous force.
There was not even a cry of pain as the two offshoots had become a bloody heap of mess. 
It was Fake who was stunned this time, but he quickly regained his wit and asked in disbelief.

[What… what did you do!?]

[Me? I have no obligation to answer that.]

Fake still couldn’t make sense of the situation and was staring at the oddly shaped corpse again.
After thinking a little, he laughed as if convinced of something.

[I see…this is already out of my hands. Well, I’m going home for today.]

[What are you saying…]

Fake’s body began to collapse in just a moment. 
All muddy like watered clay.

[Wha…!]

[Let’s meet again… Oh, I’ll tell you… I’m not interested in anything other than you and I’m not going to do any harm… We kill…only evil…]

He couldn’t properly finish his sentence as the “Fake” dissolved into the soil.
The deformed corpse disappeared in the same way, and the silence of the night returned to Ist.

[Rhode-sama…]

Levi, who was waiting nearby, appeared and gently snuggled up to Rhode.
Rhode scanned the surroundings, but there was no sign of anything anymore.

[Ah… he escaped. I wonder if this is… it’s fine now, Fragarach.]

A name was called upon and the owner emerged from the roof, landed on the ground, and knelt to Rhode.

[Stay vigilant. Though maybe they won’t come anymore today.]

[Affirmative.]

The boy with pink hair and red clothes jumped up again and disappeared onto the roof. 
Fragarach was materialized in advance to keep watch of the surroundings.
Rhode, who heard from him about the existence of Fake, appeared in front of Fake after instructing Fragarach and Levi to keep hiding.
The two were planning to jump out when Rhode was in danger, but before they could, Tieren appeared and cleared everything up.

[It’s best to stay vigilant, but to be so quickly…and from Titanomachy to booth. It’s too unexpected.]

[Yes, why does it have to be Rhode-sama…?]

[He said he was an incompetent…if that was true…]

[…they want to recruit Rhode-sama into their ranks?]

[There is a possibility. Anyway, we just pulled through. I thought he wasn’t the only one… Well, let’s contact King Orlando tomorrow. The King of Nibelugh is also still in Celt so I can report this incident. We’ve found out something somehow. ]

The puzzle piece is the Titanomachy.
Rhode found a piece of it.

One thought on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.104

Leave a comment