I Was Called Incompetent ch.110

Weekly chapters (2/2)

Please consider to support us on our Patreon.
All of the donation will be returned to you as Patron chapter.
Onegaishimasu.

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Chapter 110 – Scorching

[This is… the sacred mountain *cough*…]

The mountain standing in front of us was clearly something different…giving off a strange atmosphere.
Of course, I was overwhelmed by its size, but the surface of the mountain, which would normally be visible in a mountain of this height, was all hidden by black trees, making it somewhat different from other mountains.
When you enter such a sacred mountain, probably because the weather is cloudy, but even though it’s daytime, it’s almost as dark as night.

[R-Rhode-sama…]

[It’s a bad atmosphere… it’s kind of stagnant…]

[Let’s go. I’ve been here several times so I know the way.]

[Ah, Luka-san…]

[Hm? Were you scared?]

[No… I’m calling my comrades. Laevateinn!]

I summoned the red sword from my notebook and immediately cast materializing magic.
The red sword changed its appearance in an instant and, when she appeared for the first time in a while, she grinned while her cloak of flame fluttered.

[It’s been a long time, Rhode. Last time was when I drank alcohol in Nibelugh, wasn’t it…]

Right, her wish was to drink.
That has already happened.

[It’s been a long time, Laevateinn. I’m sorry for rarely calling you out, but will you please light the way? ]

[That is simple enough. Leave it to me.]

[Hmm, so is that Materialization magic…? It’s the same with the two who were with you yesterday, but how should I put it… I feel a power that is out of this world. It’s wonderful. Well then, Laevateinn-san, please.]

[Hey, let’s go.]

Laevatein’s fiery cloak lit up the dark mountain path, and thanks to that, visibility became much better than before.
However, I still feel an unpleasant atmosphere clinging to my body.
It’s like something is gripping my internal organs… it’s just a disgusting feeling.

Luka-san probably doesn’t feel that at all. Despite her small body, she climbs up the mountain road with ease.
We knew that Luka-san herself didn’t know, that it was simply because of her skills that she was easily offended.
Her skill is “Super Courage”.
According to Levi, it seems to be a skill that makes someone strong-willed, regardless of anything.
That’s why she can remain calm without being overwhelmed by the atmosphere of this sacred mountain.
Perhaps it’s a skill that Luka-san doesn’t need, but…

It takes several hours to climb the mountain road.
When I got a little tired, the sloped mountain road turned into flat ground.

[Luka-san, are we there yet?]

[Yes, this mountain is one size smaller from the middle. It means that there is. That’s how much flat land was born, and a denser black forest was born than the trees growing on the slopes. And there is a collection point in that forest.]

[I see…]

[Now then…whether demons or dragons will appear…should we brace ourselves?]

We nodded to Luka-san and followed her into the forest.
It’s even darker than before. Without Laevateinn, I wouldn’t be able to see even a few meters ahead.
As usual, the bad air clung to my body and I even felt like my body was heavy.

As we proceeded through the black forest for a while, I can see some kind of light beyond my sight.
After Luka stopped and thought for a moment, she started walking towards the light.
When we reached the place where the light was, there was a fairly large area without trees, and when I looked up, I could clearly see the gloomy cloudy sky.

[Luka-sama, this is…?]

[It’s strange. A part of the forest is gone…there wasn’t a space like this before.]

Then Laevatein touched the ground and scooped up some dirt, giving it a sniff.

[What’s wrong, Laevateinn?]

[It smells burnt… This fellow smells like flames. A breath-like weapon. What’s more, the owner of the smell is…close.]

[Gram…!]

Hearing Laevateinn’s words, I immediately summoned and materialized Gram.
When she appeared, she opened her eyes and immediately put her hand on the great sword she was carrying.

[Yo… it looks like you’ve decided to lend your strength, too.]

[Hello, Laevateinn. I would like to have en pleasant conversation viz you, however… vee are already surrounded.]

[Gram…is it a dragon?]

[Yes, there are quite a few. They are gradually koming towards us… Judging from ze schmell, they are Vyvern of ze Flying Drachen, Andragora of ze Breath Drachen, Vritra of ze Giant Arm Drachen… I vonder vhen they bekame friends.]

That many types of dragons here?
No way…

[This place is right in front of Artoria’s nose…could it be the dragon tribe’s advance party?]

[It’s possible. Viper-sama said that dragons are becoming more active. Since not many people come here, it’s a perfect place to hide. In other words, the lost adventurers, they are all…]

[It looks like we’re already late…]

The five of us stood back to back in the center of the open space.
I summoned Balmung from my notebook and held her up with both hands.
The ground shook with the sound of footsteps approaching, and the sound of something flapping its wings could be heard.
As Gram said, there are quite a few.
As if to prove it, the overlapping sounds could be heard from all directions.

[…they are here.]

The moment Gram muttered that, the forest trees danced in the air with a deafening roar.
The dragons appeared as they mowed down the trees and let out their breath weapons all at once.
However, the breath didn’t reach us.
The fire breath was sucked into Laevatein’s hand, the ice breath was blocked by Luka’s magic, and the lightning breath was repelled by Gram.

[All flames are under my control…they are still as clever as in the past.]

[Fufu, to think zat ze day vill kome when I kan hunt drachen by myself…]

[You guys…are you prepared?!]

[Let’s go Levi!]

[Yes!]

The dragon in front of us was a species of dragon called Vritra with unusually large arms.
He mowed down the ground with his giant arm to prevent me and Levi from getting close.

[Giga!?]

However, no matter how big they are, they are powerless against Balmung’s edge.
The gigantic arm flew into the air then I beheaded it before it could recover. 1 down.
It’s only for a short time and the other dragons are closing in on me.

[Levi!]

[Haaa!]

Levi kicked up the chin of the wyvern that was about to exhale its breath weapon, preventing the attack.

[The Wandering Spear of the Storm God, Gungnir!]

I fired Gungnir at the Vritra approaching from the right, and immediately turned to face the Andragora approaching from the front, but the thunder breath was already launched.

[Aigiiiiiooo!?]

There’s a stray bullet in my back!?

[Damn… Gaha!]

[Rhode-sama!]

Th-there’s thunder…
My whole body is… numb…!

[Oh!]

The head of the Andragora, which was closing into crush me, disappeared.
Has it burnt down…? Instantaneously…
Luka’s magic is “Scorching Magic”.
Boasting the highest level of fire magic, her magic seems to have burned down even dragons with high resistance to fire in an instant.

[Yo, are you okay?]

[Ye-yeah…somehow… Levi, I’m fine. I’ll summon more help!]

[Yes!]

Balmung is…useless.
She is weak against lightning. She’ll just lose her strength.
When I returned Balmung to my notebook, Gungnir returned to my grasp as I used her to stand up. But, Luka stopped me with a gesture of her hand.

[Just take a rest. I’ll finish it soon.]

[No, I can still do it…!]

[You can’t move properly, can you? Well, it’s fine, just watch.]

It’s frustrating, but… it’s true that my body still couldn’t move well.

The power of Excalibur is strong enough to restore the original shape of things, but it is not suitable for restoring physical strength, magic, or damage to the body.
When I had my left arm healed, I was warned about various things…
While I was thinking about such things, dragons kept appearing one after another.
Just how many…?

[In the case of a large number of people, you have to understand not only the situation around you, but also how your actions affect your opponent. If you attack blindly, there will be openings.]

Four dragons approached Luka-san, who was protecting me.

[The important thing is the flow. That’s why we do it this way.]

Saying that, she jumped in the middle of the four.
It must have been unexpected for the dragons as their formation collapsed after they followed Luka-san with their eyes.
Before the Andragora could turn around, its head was blown off. The Vritra approaching from the left and right at the same time were burned down.
The wyvern was about to leap at her from the sky but as it approached her, its body started to burn up.

[Do you want to hug me? That’s impossible.]

By the time it realized it, it was already too late and the wyvern had turned to ashes just a few meters away from Luka-san.
Perhaps something like an invisible barrier had already been put up.
This is…the SSS rank…

One thought on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.110

Leave a comment