Return of The Former Hero ch.209

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Thank you very much!

New chapter of Kaetekitta Motoyuusha is here~

Enjoy!

Translator: Raizu
Editor: Shirayuki

Chapter 209. Former Hero・Date (Day 9 – Tanya) and…

My partner on the last day of the individual date was Tanya.

[Argh, it’s burnt.]

[Hmm! …Mogumogu.]

I grilled the meat on a skewer and gave it to Tanya.

[Hmm…delicious! It’s even more delicious, because Haruto roasted it!]

Tanya was happy as she stuffed her mouth full of meat.
However, it is bad manners to talk while eating.

Today, Tanya and I were enjoying camping at a campground-like place right near Amman.

As expected of a resort area.
Amman has everything.

Actually, it would be more accurate to call it a barbecue party rather than camping.
It’s not like I’m going to sleep here tonight.

[But, this meat is delicious.]

I was impressed when I ate the meat prepared by Mina.

What did she pick up?
Apparently it’s some sort of meat called Pompa.

[Un, delicious!]

When Tanya and I eat meat, the only word that comes to mind is”delicious”.
We really have no talent in food reports.

After finishing our lunch, we laid down on the spread out sheet.

Eat and sleep.
This will make you fat.
Who cares?

[Huh…]

Tanya yawned as she surrendered to the pleasant breeze.
Then, I started yawning too.

Yawns tend to be contagious when someone does it next to you.

[Somehow…when I’m doing this, it reminds me of the village a little bit.]

Tanya said this while staring straight into the blue sky.

[Village… uuh, wait, Tanya’s hometown?]

[Un.]

Tanya doesn’t talk much about her hometown.

I’ve heard that it was unpleasant, so I guess she doesn’t have a very good impression of it.

[Does this campsite have a similar atmosphere?]

[No, this doesn’t look like it at all. It was more like a village deep in the forest.]

So, this doesn’t look alike?

[However, the blue sky is the same no matter where I go.]

Oh. That’s quite a romantic thing to say, isn’t it?

[…..]

Tanya didn’t continue speaking, so I fell silent as well.

What exactly is Tanya thinking as she stares at the sky?

[Grrr…]

She’s asleep.

[Fu…kuku…hahaha.]

It was so funny that I laughed out loud

[Nua? W, what? Did I fall asleep just now? ….what are you laughing for?]

Tanya woke up due to my loud laugh and looked at me with suspicion.

[No, I thought you said something romantic and melancholic, but the next thing I know, you’re already asleep. You’re really going at your own pace, which is typical of Tanya.]

[?]

I tried to explain why I laughed, but Tanya had a question mark on her face.

[In short, it’s cute.]

[Haruto always find cuteness in things I don’t really get]

Is that so?

Looking at the current flow of events, I think everyone would think Tanya is cute.

Eh?
You don’t think so?

I’m starting to lose a little confidence.

[But if Haruto thinks I’m cute, then that’s fine.]

Tanya smiled.

This is cute.
Absolutely cute.

[…Yawn. Haruto…I’m starting to feel really sleepy…]

Tanya said and yawned again.

[You can sleep. I’m a little sleepy too…]

[Un…I’ll do that. Arm pillow.]

While making such a request, Tanya crawled into my body.

[Alright.]

I raised my arm and put it around Tanya’s head.

[Nn…]

Tanya used my arm as a pillow, turned her body towards me, and clung flat against me.
Her legs were intertwined with mine, and it looked like she was hugging me as a pillow.

[Nfufu… comfy.]

Tanya is happy.
I’m happy too.

After just a little while in that position, Tanya began to fall asleep easily.

When I looked at that…I also…fell asleep…

My consciousness sank into a slumber as I held Tanya in my arms.

………nua?

While I was sleeping comfortably, I woke up to the feeling of someone approaching.
I thought it was another camper, but apparently they were heading straight for us.

[Tanya, wake up.]

I shook Tanya, who was still sleeping soundly.

[Unyu…? Haruto…?]

Tanya woke up, but she was still half asleep and couldn’t focus on her gaze.

[Someone’s coming here.]

[Someone…? Nn, nn….]

Tanya lifted herself up, but her head was still spinning.

This girl is no good.
I woke up feeling pretty bloated.

[Come on, wake up, wake up.]

[Nnn… nfu, ngggg.]

In order to properly wake Tanya up, I kneaded her cheeks, which are squishy like rice cakes, with both hands.

When I do it like this, it really feels like mochi itself.
It’s super soft.

[Nigigi…]

Tanya put her hands on my hands as I kneaded her cheeks.

I felt like kissing her.
No, I won’t because there are people coming.

As I was doing this, the owner of the approaching presence appeared.

[Excuse me while you’re on vacation. Are you Amagi Haruto-dono?]

What appeared was a knight wearing stiff armor.

A knight of this city’s knight order, often seen around town.

[Ah, yes. What’s the matter?]

I stood up and answered the knight.

I mean, why does a knight of the knight order specifically look for me?
I thought it was a patrol or something, but I didn’t expect him to mention my name.

What?
Scary, scary, scary.

[The Knight Commander has requested your presence. Please accompany me to the Knights’ headquarters as soon as possible!]

Hm, a summon?

I don’t remember doing anything that would warrant a citation.

If I were to nitpick, I’d say something like doing something naughty in the library, going in and out of the rest area multiple times a day, taking a woman into the restroom of the school’s laboratory, or doing something obscene in the fitting room of a clothing store. That’s about it.

…There were too many!

No, no, wait, wait.

If there were any problems with those things, wouldn’t I be taken away without any questions asked?

It’s a request.
This is just a request.
It must be something else.

It must be so.
Yep.

[Um, I don’t really understand… What do you want? Did I do something?]

[I’m sorry, but I can’t answer that.]

It appears that they won’t tell me the reason.
Or maybe he’s just following orders and didn’t know the actual reason.

It’s hard for me to refuse, but since I’m here after being invited by Shia, the local lord of the neighboring country and the princess of the empire, I can’t refuse, right?

[I-I understand. Please wait a moment.]

I said that to the knight, and I also said it to Tanya, who was still half asleep next to me.

[Tanya. Something came up, so I need to leave.]

[Hmm… eh? Huh? Why? And the date?]

Tanya, who had woken up a bit, blinked her eyes and asked.

[My bad. I’ll definitely make up for it later. So, Tanya, could you please tell everyone about this? Especially Rithina. I’m relying on Tanya right now.]

I don’t know what it’s for, but if I let Rithina know and prepare for the worst, it’ll probably work out somehow.

Maybe.

[….a, alright]

Tanya nodded obediently upon hearing that I can only rely on her.

Yosh yosh, good wife.

[Well, please wait until I clean up here.]

I told the knight.

There was still the equipment that I borrowed for camping.

It would be really bad to leave this cleaning up to Tanya.
Maybe I should take my time.

[These equipment… is something that is loaned out here, right? If so, I will notify the administrator, so there is no need to worry!]

[Aah….o,okay then…?]

It seems that he will do the cleaning up for me.
…No, he’d tell someone else, the administrator, to clean it up.
The people in power are so tyrannical.

[So, I don’t have to clean up? Lucky]

Tanya, who was listening to the story, was happy.
Really now?

[Then, shall we?]

The knight hurried to follow.

[…Then Tanya, I’ll go for a while, but please do as I say.]

[Oh, leave it to me.]

Just to be sure, I asked Tanya again, and then I was taken to the Knights’ headquarters.

I was brought to the Knights’ office and taken to the third floor.
Then, move to the door in the back.

It seemed like this was the destination.

[State your business.]

Saying that, a member of the knight order knocks on the door.

[I have brought Amagi Haruto-dono with me!]

[Get in.]

When the knight called into the door, a voice came from inside.
Well, it’s late, but why am I being summoned?

In terms of position, I’m the lord of a neighboring country, so I outranked them all, right?
I heard that the Knight Commander is coming.

No, it’s already here, so it’s too late.

[Excuse me!]

The knight opened the door.
As one would expect from a knight order in a resort area, the door to the room that was probably the leader’s room was luxurious.

Well, it doesn’t matter.

I entered the room feeling a little anxious.

[Excuse me… huh? Huh? Eh… huh…?]

I was surprised to see the person in the room.

Inside the room, a man in his 30s with a confident face was sitting on a luxurious sofa in the center.

Is this the leader who called me?
…..But, I’ll leave this aside for now.

What surprised me was the man standing next to the sofa.

Leon… no, not him.
This person looks exactly like Leon, but their hair is longer than Leon’s, and their eyes are a little worse.

This guy… is it Baurouva?

[Hello, Amagi Haruto. It’s been a while, how have you been?]

The Leon-face greeted me as if they were meeting a friend.

This frivolous and carefree feeling is definitely that of Baurouva’s.

[Ba-Baurouva… So, is that okay?]

It’s no wonder I asked that question.
I have met Baurouva twice so far, and both times he was wearing a helmet that blocks magic.

On Mt. Paburu, he took off his helmet and exposed his face, so I could see his face.

However, the Baurouva in front of me is not equipped with that armor.

[Why are you here…? And you, looking like that…]

Unable to accept the situation, I ask this question.

[What? If I dress the way I usually do, I’ll stand out a lot in this city, won’t I?]

Baurouva smiled as he revealed his true face.
Even though he has the same face as Leon, he doesn’t have the freshness that Leon has.
It’s a nice smile though…

Well, I guess that’s true, but is this fine?

One thought on “Return of The Former Hero ch.209

Leave a comment