I Was Called Incompetent ch.31

Patreon Chapter
Brought to you by The Patrons
Arigatou Gozaimasu!

Double chapters!

Enjoy~

Episode 31 : Two Names

[Tenea-sama is…?]

『A, anyway please come to the guild! Quickly!』

[Understood. See you there.]

Apparently I couldn’t relax just yet. 
A guildmaster should be at least an A rank adventurer or even higher.
The fact that he was felled means that something had gone horribly wrong.

[Anyways let’s head to the guild.]

We left our room with only what we needed.

=====

Upon arriving at the guild office, Lana-san who had been expecting for our arrival immediately took us to the medical bay.
Lying on the bed was the figure of Tenea-san breathing roughly.
And… his right arm was missing from below the elbow.

[Tenea-san…!]

[Ha, Ah… it’s you guys… It’s been crazy around here… forgive me to call you over…]

[What happened to Tenea-sama…?]

[Let’s heal him before that. Excalibur!]

I materialized Excalibur, while acting like I was performing a summon.
Seeing my magic for the first time, both Lana-san and Tenea-san looked surprised.
Summon magic usually invokes beasts after all. Well, did I manage to fool them?

[Excalibur, please heal Tenea-san.]

[As thee wisheth.]

Using her magical scabbard, Excalibur rewinded Tenea-san’s condition to that of several hours ago.
The missing arm grew back at a visible rate, and the wounds on his body healed.
It’s such a great power after all.

Tenea-san, whose condition had been rewound back to when he was still healthy, got up from the bed. He was staring at his previously lost right arm in amazement.

[Thank you, Excalibur.]

[Doth not mention it. Well then, prithee recollect the magick pow’r. ‘Twill beest a wasteth oth’rwise?]

[My bad… I’ll call upon you again.]

[Umu. Until lat’r.]

After I undid the materialization and returned Excalibur to the black notebook, Tenea-san finally gathered the courage to ask me.

[Thi, this power… Just who are you really…?]

[Just a summoner mage. That aside, what actually happened?]

I changed the topic before he could dig deeper.
It’ll take a long time to explain if otherwise.

[Ah, yes… it’s a pretty bad situation. A special subjugation target, Cyclops has appeared.]

Special Subjugation target… Is it the so-called monster with two names?
There are individuals that stood out among the monsters, so powerful they’re given a second name. A nickname, so to speak.

Not only causing enormous damage, these individuals had also survived many subjugation requests. Therefore, these monsters that have gained a second name were listed on the Special Subjugation Target list.
The monsters in this list will always be in the state of active subjugation targets. Killing it will earn the adventurer a huge amount of evaluation points.

[There was a request to subjugate cyclops. I went myself because there was no other available adventurer at that time. I thought it shouldn’t be a problem since I have beaten cyclops alone many times before. But… what I found there was the “Giant”.]

[“Giant”…? Since cyclops are mostly 5 meter tall, this one much larger to have gained that nickname.]

Cyclops is a kind of one eyed monster.
As Levi said, Cyclops is a 5 meter tall humanoid monster, armed with a strong body and sharp claws.
It can move quickly despite its size, and its strength greatly surpasses regular humans.
However, since it doesn’t have any special ability, its rank wasn’t very high.

[As Levi-kun said, cyclops are originally pretty huge already. But this “Giant” is twice as large. The witnesses couldn’t tell its size because they saw it from a distance.]

I see…
Even so Tenea-san still went on to challenge it due to his sense of responsibilities as the Guild Master.
Gagan-san would probably do the same.

[A normal cyclops is usually set on a B rank request. Individuals with second names are usually set on a rank higher. But if it can defeat an A ranker like me… then it’s even stronger than expected. The story might be different if I brought more people, but I lost my arm just from being scratched by its claws… Lana, have you notified everyone?]

[I have already done so. However, I don’t know whether they’ll make it in time or not…]

[In time? What do you mean?]

[I had to challenge it because… it was heading toward this town. Once I lost my right arm, I knew that I couldn’t defeat it by myself… so I escaped back into the town. My magic is transfer magic. It allows me to instantly move to a marked place. There is a limit to the distance of course. But if it’s just a short range transfer, I could use it without marking a place first. I’ve been relying on this magic in my fights.]

Right after he finished talking, Tenea-san disappeared from the bed.

[Just like this.]

[Wow!?]

I was surprised when his voice suddenly came from behind me.
To get behind me in an instant… That’s certainly amazing magic.

[I managed to transfer back to the guild since I have marked this place in advance. It’s frustrating… but if I die there, the town will be attacked without anyone knowing…]

Is that so…? Certainly it would be a big deal if a cyclops with two names came to this town.
But it’s strange. Monsters with two names are not only larger than their normal siblings, but they’re also more intelligent.

That inferno wyvern from before would’ve been given a second name if its presence was already discovered beforehand.
Cunning and brutal… Quietly hiding as it looked for food.
That’s why it managed to survive for a long time, accumulating power in the process.

But this “Giant” acted strangely.
It should be in hiding up until now, but it’s currently heading to this town head on…
Like it’s challenging us to try to subjugate it.
Could it be… really that confident?

[I see… Understood. We’ll undertake this request.]

[Un… honestly, the only one left I can think of capable of handling this matter was you… I’ll write a special recommendation letter later. Please… protect this town.]

[I understand. I’m heading out right away.]

[I wanted to leave a mark there, but I couldn’t… however, I can tell you from which direction it will come. But of course, don’t overdo it. If you think it’s impossible, just run away. You just need to buy some time. In the meantime, I will be gathering all adventurers in town to defend the town. Oh, and there is one more thing I need to say. Thank you, for healing my right arm. Thanks to you I’m able to continue serving this town. Thank you very much.]

Tenea-san smiled and offered a handshake with his right arm, which I gladly took. Me and Levi then rushed to the scene.

=====

The ‘giant’ was first witnessed around a village 20km away from Historia.
Thinking that it will attack, the village posted an urgent request to the adventurer guild. But who knew that the “giant” swerved past the village and headed straight toward Historia instead.

Running through the plains, we marched to the expected spot the giant will pass through.

[Why didn’t it attack the village…? Normally it should’ve attacked them first to gain more magic power.]

[A whim… but that should not be it. The instinct to eat magic power is imprinted deep in every monster’s psyche, so there is no way it would not attack.]

[Yes, unless it’s aiming for Historia from the very beginning. But still, why?]

[Well, there is no use to think about that. First thing first, we need to subjugate it.]

Before this it was the flame wyvern. Now it’s a cyclops with a second name. Something smells fishy here.
Monsters also have some amount of intelligence. The weaker ones tended to avoid big towns.
They might attack a village or a small town. But attacking a big town is paramount to asking to getting subjugated.

It’s a different matter if the monster knows it can devastate a town.
And as Tenea-san said earlier, this particular monster might require several A rankers to subjugate.
But even then, it still can’t be considered a major threat yet.

While I was thinking about all that, Levi suddenly stopped running and pulled me to hide in the shrubberies nearby.
And in the direction Levi was staring at… was that thing.

[Rhode-sama… There it is.]

[Yeah, it’s certainly hard to tell the size from a distance…]

At first glance, it indeed looked like a normal cyclops pacing forward.
However, upon further inspection, there’s something wrong with the perspective.
The “giant” was walking calmly in the middle of the plains.
It was a strange sight to behold.

[Un… it’s huge after all.]

[Yes. It is about 12 meter tall. We are still 2 kilometers away from it. It has not noticed us yet.]

12 meters… That’s almost as tall as the four story Historia adventurers guild office.
Looking back, it’s really huge.

[Yosh, let’s call upon the new guys. There is a strange page that caught my attention.]

[Strange page?]

[Un. Because this particular page contains 2 weapons; a bow and a club. Well, if it’s that person, I have no doubt that he wielded these two weapons.]

[Ah, indeed they are. They belonged to a certain legendary Hero.]

[Will the two come out all at once? Well, since they belonged to that Hero, they must be very strong.]

Ten thousand years ago, during the war between demons, dragons, and humanity, there was a great hero feared by both the demons and dragons.
With his club and bow, he crushed giant monsters, and shot down gigantic dragons from the sky.
A great hero who was said to be the “Avatar of God” due to his immense strength and large frame.
His name was…..

3 thoughts on “I Was Called Incompetent ch.31

Leave a comment